How to set the default email app ?


Last Updated:

  1. FlightTribe

    FlightTribe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    Just got a new HTC Desire. Loving it and having a tinker but I have a question I can't seem to find the answer to.

    I have set up the gmail app(when I first got the phone) and I have a couple of issues with it. Namely not sending mails with attachments until you actually go to the sent folder and refresh. But anyway, I digress...

    I want to use K9 as my default, but even when I have NO email apps running and the Desire does a data sync and sees I have a new email, it chooses to tell me this through the gmail app.

    How can I set the Desire to tell me this through K9 ?
    I see under settings>applications>manage applications, that each of the mail programes has a section called "Launch by default" and a button to clear defaults, but this section is greyed out for me on all 3 of my mail apps (gmail, mail and K9)

    Any help would be fab.
     

    Advertisement
  2. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    The notifications are separate for each app so you can have one or both. I use K-9 as well as gmail and I get notifications from both.

    On the settings page you mentioned there is a hidden section at the bottom of the screen. When expanded this will show that the K-9 app has the power to automatically start at boot up. It should do this as mine does.

    You can check in your running services settings to make sure that the K-9 PushService is actually running. If not could it have been killed by a task killer?

    I hope this helps.
     
  3. FlightTribe

    FlightTribe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm..... well, after a restart, I can't see K9 in the running services section, but if I click the Advanced Task Killer app, then K9 DOES appear as one of the apps that has started and can be stopped if I so wish.

    I guess I should just stop killing ALL apps and accept the fact that the gmail app is here to stay :(
     
  4. FlightTribe

    FlightTribe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a little confused as to the differences between POP and IMAP.

    After researching, it sounds like IMAP is a faster more instant way of delivery/sending where as POP has to poll at agreed intervals ?
    Am I right ?

    But the odd thing is that my gmail app gets a new mail notification a LOT faster than K9, but they must both be POP.... I think ?

    So if I go onto my gmail webpage, enable IMAP, then go to my K9 settings and use the IMAP settings, then I should get pretty fast new mail message from that too ?

    Or have I completely got the wrong end of the stick with that ? :)
     
  5. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    as far as i know, gmail is imap.

    you could just enter your gmail settings into the standard htc email app and get it that way, and not use the gmail app at all.

    I havent used K9 though.
     
  6. FlightTribe

    FlightTribe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed it is as I have descovered looking on the settings on the webpage.

    I'll have a wangle and see what I can come up with.

    Was I right about what I thought the difference between POP and IMAP was tho ?
     
  7. Si Pie

    Si Pie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    23
    I get my gmail through the HTC mail app. If you set it up right you get push email
     
  8. FlightTribe

    FlightTribe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, SORTED !!!

    I enabled IMAP on my googlemail account (web based) and then deleted my POP K9 account an re-set it up as IMAP.

    Now whenever I get an email, it comes through in K9 first.
    No idea why the gmail app has been pushed into 2nd place, but I'm not complaining :D
     
  9. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    IMAP was developed for web access and when you need to get your email on more than one device as it maintains BOTH the messages on your email server so you can access through the web and a local cached copy on your device. Any changes you make on on are automatically made on any other device that accesses it i.e. reading a message or deleting it.

    POP3 email was really for back when email wasnt usually kept on your email server and usually you only had a single device that downloaded you email and then deleted it from the server unless you chose the correct settings to leave a copy on the server.. This would mean that when you read your email on one device the other would still show it as a new message and also led to your email account with your ISP filling up and sometime s going over the limit so you weren't able to recieve any more until you had downloaded\deleted some.

    Boring for most people I know..... But I'm a geek :cool:
     
    Miss K likes this.
  10. FlightTribe

    FlightTribe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    A bit nerdy.... but good to know :D
     
  11. carolinedhaens

    carolinedhaens New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ooooh my! I NEED HELP!
    Yesterday I made a new Google account, and deleted my previous one... Today, I can't get any acces to my Android market app, because my damn phone seems to be stuck on my previous Google account! I managed to add my new Google account to my phone, but every time I try to connect, my phone automatically chooses my non-existing Google account!
    I can erase the primar account, only by setting my phone back to standard settings, and that's something I'd rather avoid... ANYONE?
     
  12. ianb11

    ianb11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm reasonably sure you can only do this by factory reset :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...