How to set the lock screen?Support


Last Updated:

  1. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ok, so I had an Eris before this, loaded with the 2.1v2 leak. I had some pics that I set aside as lock screens, and used them w/o a problem on the Eris. I put them on the Inc. today, went to "Photos", viewed them, hit menu and selected Share, then went to Set As, but Lock Screen wasn't an option...

    So does anyone know how to set the lock screen on the Inc?

    Seems like a silly question, but I haven't found it yet.

    Thanks,
    Doc
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    158
    What happens if you quick press Menu and select Wallpaper > Lock Screen?
     
  3. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    ^^what he said^^ It's sense so it should be the same (pretty much) as the 2.1 eris leaks
     
  4. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yea, that's what I thought... My options are the same
    HTC wallpapers
    Live wallpapers
    Photos

    No mas.

    I agree, it should pretty much be the same as the Eris 2.1v2, yet things have been renamed, some new things exist, and, like this, some things are gone.

    Odd.
     
  5. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    What the crap is this!? I found this in the manual:

     
  6. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    You may have to used a 3rd party app to set the lock screen wall paper. Try Mabilio Wallpapers and see if it gives you the option to set it as the lock screen.

    I think you can also use Astro File Manager to set it.
     
  7. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    See, I don't get this. 2.1 feels different on an Eris (pre-release I realize), on an Inc, and on a Droid. Now, I understand some of that is Sense, but the ability to change the lock screen independent of the wallpaper? Eris can do it, Droid and Inc can't. The "Albums" app on the Eris is called Photos on the Inc, and Gallery on the Droid. Actually, they are different apps, but those are the ones that are included on each respective platform for the same function.

    So much for unification.
     
  8. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    The only Set As options in Astro are "Contact Icon" and "Wallpaper", and Mabilio doesn't show up in the market :-(

    Thanks,
    Doc
     
  9. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    158
    You may be able to put the photo you want to use in the Wallpapers folder on your SD card (sdcard/albums/wallpapers). I wonder if the reason it's different has to do with live backgrounds... I'll have to take a look when I get the phone tomorrow.
     
  10. Stevo_Cali

    Stevo_Cali Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    185
    Can't you just right-click and select Lock Screen?
    :p



    .
     
  11. Scarps

    Scarps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too want to know how to do this on 2.1 on Desire
    On 1.5 on the Hero it was pretty simple to set a separate lock screen background. I had one displaying an emergency number.
    On 2.1 I can't see an option.
     
  12. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    Can't set it stock. You have to use a 3rd party app. Lockbot works well.



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  13. ezegm

    ezegm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    dude i found it...go to menu-settings-security....theres the option there
     
  14. pirohick

    pirohick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm, there's what option where? Under Security, I have the following options:
    Change Unlock pattern
    Require pattern
    Use visible pattern
    use tactile feedback
    visible passwords
    set password
    Use secure credentials
    Install from SD card
    Clear storage

    So... Which of these, precisely, allows me to set a different lock screen background than my wallpaper?

    I use OI file manager, and I can tap and hold the file, then have an option to set as lock screen wallpaper, but it doesn't work.

    I should perhaps note: IO File Manager states that it set it as my lock screen, but my lock screen does not change.
     

Share This Page

Loading...