how to set up Apps2SD


Last Updated:

  1. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to set up SD card
    1. backup your sd card(copy all your files on to pc)
    2. boot into recovery
    3. select Partition sd card
    4. select Partition sd
    5. when that is done select SD:ext2 to ext3 you can use the default values when it asks
    6. Flash rom then you can copy all your files back to your sd card.

    To see if A2SD is working
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb shell
    3. a2sd check
    4.  
    if you get something like

    Code (Text):
    1. drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-24 10:26 dalvik-cache
    2. drwxr-xr-x system system 2010-05-24 09:28 tombstones
    3. drwxrwx--x shell shell 2010-05-23 13:59 local
    4. drwxrwxr-x system system 2010-05-24 10:58 system
    5. drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-23 13:59 app-private
    6. drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-23 13:55 app
    7. drwxrwxrwx root root 2010-05-23 13:59 DxDrm
    8. drwxr-x--- root log 2010-05-23 13:59 dontpanic
    9. drwxrwxrwx bluetooth bluetooth 2010-05-24 10:27 btips
    10. drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-23 14:00 anr
    11. drwx------ root root 2010-05-24 10:22 property
    12. lrwxrwxrwx root root 2010-05-23 16:39 drm -> /data/local
    13. drwxrwx--t system misc 2010-05-23 13:59 misc
    14. drwxr-xr-x root root 2008-08-01 05:00 data
    15. -rw-r--r-- root root 11936 2008-08-01 05:00 firstboot.sh
    16. drwx------ system system 2010-05-24 10:26 backup
    17. -rw-rw-rw- media system 2 2010-05-24 10:58 pvcodec.txt
    18. drwxrwx--- root root 2010-05-23 13:59 lost+found
    19. drwxrwxrwx wimax wimax 2010-05-23 13:59 wimax
    run

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell
    2. a2sd repair
    and if you get something like
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. Starting Apps2SD script for DConfig at 05-24-2010 17:04:21
    3. setting variables from default dc.conf in /system/etc/
    4. : not found
    5. : not found
    6. : not found
    7. : not found
    8. : not found
    9. : not found
    10. : not found
    11. : not found
    12. : not found
    13. : not found
    14. : not found
    15. : not found
    16. : not found
    17. [ ] checking variables
    18. [ ] Searching for Mount Point...
    19. [ ] Mount point found..no further action required.
    20. [!] Setting Dalvik VM Heapsize to 16mb.
    21. [ ] Checking for ext partition
    22. [!] Ext partition found.
    23. [ ] Checking Ext partition...
    24. e2fsck 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
    25. /system/bin/e2fsck: Device or resource busy while trying to open /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    26. Filesystem mounted or opened exclusively by another program?
    27. 8
    28. [ ] Mounting ext partitions as ext3.
    29. mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: Device or resource busy
    30. [X] Mounting ext partition as ext3 failed.
    31. [ ] Mounting ext partition as ext2.
    32. mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: Device or resource busy
    33. [X] Mounting ext partition as ext2 failed.
    34. [X] Can't continue script...aborting.

    you forgot to update ext2 to ext3(refer to step 5)

    Code (Text):
    1. [ ] Mounting ext partitions as ext3.
    2. mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: Device or resource busy
    3. [X] Mounting ext partition as ext3 failed.
    4. [ ] Mounting ext partition as ext2.
    5. mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: Device or resource busy
    6. [X] Mounting ext partition as ext2 failed.
    7. [X] Can't continue script...aborting
    you forgot to upgrade your ext, see where its ssys it didnt find ext3(which most roms run)
    so it tries to load up ext2 which is incompatible, which in the end causes the dailure where it csnt continue the script
    :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    ive posted like 5 :/

    what exactly are you trying to do?


    your on the leak though arent you?
     
  3. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i am but willl (hopefully) be on root soon, and i want to start from begining. so that when/if i get root im ready and can get everything over with ASAP. so from the very first step
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    all you need to do is partition the sd card. if a ROM has a2sd enabled then it does all the work for u
     
  5. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i partion it?
    1. backup your sd card(copy all your files on to pc)
    2. boot into recovery
    3. select Partition sd card
    4. select Partition sd
    5. when that is done select SD:ext2 to ext3 you can use the default values when it asks
    6. Flash rom then you can copy all your files back to your sd card.
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    exactly.
     
  7. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    how do i tell if my apps are on my sdcard? i just followed your instructions and i don't know if they are on my sdcard or not... after i finished moving my files back to my phone i just did a nandroid restore... was that stupid? should i just start over?
     
  8. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357

    the nand backup was stupid xD

    ok so im not sure where you are in the setup and what rom your using etc.
    first. what rom are you using?
    second. go to terminal and run these commands
    adb shell
    cd data
    ls -l
    copy paste what comes out and let me see it.
     
  9. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    i am using the ic3 rom



    drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-24 10:26 dalvik-cache
    drwxr-xr-x system system 2010-05-24 09:28 tombstones
    drwxrwx--x shell shell 2010-05-23 13:59 local
    drwxrwxr-x system system 2010-05-24 10:58 system
    drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-23 13:59 app-private
    drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-23 13:55 app
    drwxrwxrwx root root 2010-05-23 13:59 DxDrm
    drwxr-x--- root log 2010-05-23 13:59 dontpanic
    drwxrwxrwx bluetooth bluetooth 2010-05-24 10:27 btips
    drwxrwx--x system system 2010-05-23 14:00 anr
    drwx------ root root 2010-05-24 10:22 property
    lrwxrwxrwx root root 2010-05-23 16:39 drm -> /data/local
    drwxrwx--t system misc 2010-05-23 13:59 misc
    drwxr-xr-x root root 2008-08-01 05:00 data
    -rw-r--r-- root root 11936 2008-08-01 05:00 firstboot.sh
    drwx------ system system 2010-05-24 10:26 backup
    -rw-rw-rw- media system 2 2010-05-24 10:58 pvcodec.txt
    drwxrwx--- root root 2010-05-23 13:59 lost+found
    drwxrwxrwx wimax wimax 2010-05-23 13:59 wimax
    that is what happens when i run the adb shell. but i started the instructions over again from the begining before i did this and like i said in another post all of the apps (including my stock apps) are now in my internal memory so i only have 49.65mb of space left in the internal memory
     
  10. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    adb shell
    a2sd check
    a2sd repair
    reboot

    first reboot will take a while
     
    ljbaumer likes this.
  11. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    the first 2 commands worked but when i entered the third command this came up:

    # a2sd repair
    Starting Apps2SD script for DConfig at 05-24-2010 17:04:21
    setting variables from default dc.conf in /system/etc/
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    : not found
    [ ] checking variables
    [ ] Searching for Mount Point...
    [ ] Mount point found..no further action required.
    [!] Setting Dalvik VM Heapsize to 16mb.
    [ ] Checking for ext partition
    [!] Ext partition found.
    [ ] Checking Ext partition...
    e2fsck 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
    /system/bin/e2fsck: Device or resource busy while trying to open /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    Filesystem mounted or opened exclusively by another program?
    8
    [ ] Mounting ext partitions as ext3.
    mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: Device or resource busy
    [X] Mounting ext partition as ext3 failed.
    [ ] Mounting ext partition as ext2.
    mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: Device or resource busy
    [X] Mounting ext partition as ext2 failed.
    [X] Can't continue script...aborting.



    what should i do to fix this?
     
  12. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    what the hell version of a2sd are you using?
     
  13. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    what do you mean? i am just using the Ic3 rom and following the instructions... did i do something horribly wrong?
     
  14. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    i just started all over right now and deleted all of the files from my phone's sdcard and now i flashed my ROM back after doing the partition sdcard thing and right now am copying all of my files back over to the phone.

    i'll tell you how it goes after that transfers over


    ok here is what happened after i started over... it said the same thing lol, so should i just reboot and see if it works?
     
  15. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    you should use a different rom. i have no idea what version of a2sd that is so i cant help.
     
  16. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    my recovery joeys 3.0.8 does not have the partition sd card option?
     
  17. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    i dont know anything about that recovery image. i recommend amon_ras
     
  18. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    I admit I'm stupid can someone guide me through storing to SD, in the most noon terms? I have aloysious v12 if it matters
     
  19. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Tried setting this up last night, doesnt look like its working right on aloysius.
     
  20. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
  21. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    I don't think their is one for our model.
     
  22. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
  23. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need to upgrade your partion from ext2 to ext3
     
  24. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    how do you UNinstall aps2sd???

    i did it, worked fine, but my apps seem to be lagging because of it.
     
  25. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm i would guess that if its a ROM that has a option to check just uncheck
    or maybe adb uninstall. or format your mem card and if the partion isnt on their, apps will install to internal mem and a2sd will still be there if you ever want it again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...