How to set Youtube high quality(perm)?


Last Updated:

  1. josh0875

    josh0875 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know how to set youtube to always run in "high-quality mode"? It will be more confortable to set it once and forget it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mxrider821

    mxrider821 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    13
    i dont think there is a way but if there was i would also like to know
     
  3. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    i thought mine always did.
     
  4. Golden Falcon

    Golden Falcon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    At the moment the native youtube app that ships with Android 2.0 doesn't allow you to do that.

    When you are using 3G, the youtube app will stream in normal quality.
    When you are using WiFi, the youtube app however will switch to High Quality by default.

    If you want this kind of option you have to download some kind of 3rd party youtube app from the market :)
     
  5. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    ah...i guess i've only used it with wifi.
     
  6. Mapex

    Mapex Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think if we can trick the device, or at least the YT app, into thinking you are running Wi-Fi, you can achieve the same effect without actually having to turn on your Wi-Fi.
     
  7. jeepguy_1980

    jeepguy_1980 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please use better thread titles in the future.
     
  8. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41

    Funny how a simple question mark can make all the difference huh? ;)
     
  9. bluenik25

    bluenik25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    12
    Any progress on keeping YouTube high quality using 3g?
     
  10. MysteryloverAnne

    MysteryloverAnne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried any 3rd party YT apps? Which ones? Do you like?
     
  11. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    Was about to post a thread on this then saw this thread. I hate bragging about my $600 phones HHHYYYUUUUUUGGGGGEEEE Screen but not having wifi to really show it off in youtube.....grrr...some videos flat out blow when streaming over 3G....
     
  12. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thread titile got me again with the bump :(

    You can manually set it to high quality on 3G, you know?
     
  13. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    how?
     
  14. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Ive never had a problem streaming 3G on my phone for youtube.
     
  15. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    its not the streaming, its the quality of the streaming over 3G
     
  16. mrthundercleese

    mrthundercleese Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
  17. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    hah, im sure that wasnt there last time i looked :/

    To clarify for others.

    Start Video > menu > more > watch in high quality

    Cheers mrthundercleese!
     
  18. marvinrock

    marvinrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    After a few searches on the forum couldn't find any other big threads on this. It's now a few months later (sorry bump), has anyone found an app that would just automatically do this? I do a search for YouTube on the market and I get a million different lyric apps. Is this something that's being addressed? I imagine it isn't as it would cost verizon more bandwidth and more money, so they probably don't mind that it's a HUGE hassle to put videos in high quality, after pressing the three different buttons per video, I then have to wait for the video to now reload.
     
  19. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    I don't think its possible :(
     
  20. jzsean

    jzsean Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. marvinrock

    marvinrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah, I know it's possible to do with rooting, I just have no desire to root, I'll hold out for another option. Even just an app that mimics the youtube app with just that one setting an option.
     

Share This Page

Loading...