How To Spoof MAC AddressTips


Last Updated:

  1. dgourd

    dgourd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    10
    This is a HOW TO about how to spoof your MAC address. A MAC address is a combination of numbers and letters that are unique to your own wifi card. I am not responsible for how you use this, I am just putting it out here. Don't flood this thread with how it is illegal because there are legal uses for this (such as pen testing).

    First, you need to download a free app called Android Terminal Emulator. It is free and works on the Incredible. You do not need root for this to work. To change back to your normal MAC Address, just follow these steps to change it back or restart your phone.

    It makes this easier if you already know your real MAC Address which can be found at:
    All Programs > Settings > Wireless & Networks > WiFi Settings > Menu button > Advanced

    Keep this in mind

    Then, open the Terminal Emulator previously installed. You need to run a few linux commands to get the change. You need to find the name of your card. To do this type this without the quotes (''):
    'ip link show'

    This will provide a list of a bunch of different interfaces. Find the one that has the same MAC address as the one found above. On the Incredible, it is the last one called eth0. I will use eth0 in the examples, but if it is different, then change eth0 to your own one in the following commands.

    To change the MAC Address, type this without the quotes (''):
    'ip link set eth0 address XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX'
    'ip link set eth0 broadcast XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX'

    XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX is the new MAC Address you want where each X is a letter A-F or number.

    Finally, to check if the MAC Address has changed, type this without the quotes (''):
    'ip link show eth0'

    It should now show the new MAC Address. I haven't checked if it sends this MAC address to the router, but I think it will. I will update once I check it.

     

    Advertisement
    ut0311, mrlanrat, Kulaa and 2 others like this.
  2. rcicu

    rcicu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    24
    i was not able to get this to work. I can change the MAC but when I connect to a wireless network it reverts back to the original MAC...
     
  3. kayst

    kayst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    63
    I bet you know how to change / set the computer name / wireless ID too. The one that shows up in your computer's connected devices list. Can you help me with this?
     
  4. rcicu

    rcicu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    24
    I don't believe we can change the Hostname until we get Root
     
  5. Mughato

    Mughato Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't think you can get there from here....
     
  6. FireDroid0

    FireDroid0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did have WiFi, then for whatever reason my HTC Incredible shows MAC & IP Unavailable, and I configured a Static IP 192.168.1.112, Gateway 192.168.1.1, Netmask 255.255.255.0, DNS1 75.75.76.76, DNS2 75.75.75.75 and I receive Wi-Fi Error, I cannot un-check Network Notifications either.

    Under Options I select Scan and nothing, Advance allows me to select the above.

    Any suggestions...I notice I have no App for Google Play Services, and as far as I know there is no way to manually download apps to my PC, then to my HTC by way of cable.

    Any suggestions ?
     
  7. Asharf

    Asharf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    it shows operation not permited
     
  8. ut0311

    ut0311 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I a getting error message "Operation not permitted".

    Please help me out of this
     
  9. sureshreddyrcr

    sureshreddyrcr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I a getting error message "Operation not permitted".
     
  10. Rune Fore

    Rune Fore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have tried but it is showing a error while set up address: RTNETLINK answers: Operation not permitted.

    IMG_20150721_230633.JPG
     
  11. Trishant Pahwa

    Trishant Pahwa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answer
    Try entering "SU" first.
    This will allow you to enter the super user mode. It's like getting the administrative rights in your windows pc. :)
     
  12. ARC_117

    ARC_117 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's not helping... That's Root Access and This is NOT what we are here for.
     
  13. ARC_117

    ARC_117 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't work
     

    Attached Files:

  14. srreeram

    srreeram New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also tried but it showing operation not supported on endpoint
     
  15. Bob733

    Bob733 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing happens when I type in 'ip link show' someone help
     

    Attached Files:

  16. HacKingAtlaS

    HacKingAtlaS New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    First of all, you DO need root to spoof your MAC address, always. Idk why this tutorial says otherwise, but you need root privileges, and most likely also need your bootloader to be unlocked. It's the same reason you can't spoof your MAC on a computer unless you're under the root account (or Admin account for people who use Windows ). Once you've actually rooted your phone, you then need to install BusyBox to use certain Linux commands in the Terminal app. Like rather than typing >ip link show eth0, you would have to type >busybox ip link show eth0, instead. Just a word of warning though, to any user who successfully roots their device; Having root means you are now basically God to your phone. Make sure you know exactly what you're doing, because your phone won't try to stop you now if you try anything dangerous (for the most part). Fooling around inside the Terminal can be extremely dangerous when you're talking directly to your device.. MAKE SURE you know and understand each command you enter, because you can straight up brick the shit out of your phone by typing literally just 4 characters ('rm -fr' if you feel like nuking your system for example). So be careful and read up on Linux commands before doing anything like changing your MAC
     
    xenus2079 likes this.
  17. varunch

    varunch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone been able to make this technique work?
     
  18. Shah Basharat

    Shah Basharat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Showing not permitted and tried to "su" too ...but can't enter through it




    Plz reply
     
  19. CutterSpaulding

    CutterSpaulding New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    First you needs to su busybox and its not eth0 its wlan0 for wireless su, busybox, wlan0, mac addy
    blah blah blah
     
  20. arthur42

    arthur42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I rooted my wiko lenny 2 (dual sim) without problems. I can read my MAC address with :
    busybox iplink show wlan0
    but I cannot change the MAC address with:
    busybox ifconfig wlan0 hw ether XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    I've ever 'SIOCSIFHWADDR operation not supported on transport endpoint', can you help me? thx
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
    #20

Share This Page

Loading...