1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

how to sync Outlook (not Outlook Exchange)

Last Updated:

1. loki16

loki16 Member This Topic's Starter

newbie here, please be nice.

i had been recommended Active Sync to sync with Outlook but now i find that it's for syncing with Outlook Exchange. (i'm using plain vanilla Outlook, no Exchange).

i happen to run all email via a gmail account for backup, spam filtering, emergencies when I don't have my laptop) so syncing email is not an issue.

but... how do i sync tasks, calender and contacts?

thx.

Advertisement
  2. haddock

haddock Well-Known Member

3. takeshi

takeshi Well-Known Member

There are a lot of sync apps out there. Many relied on wired sync. If you want wireless sync with a Google account (which will, in turn, sync with your device) you can try gsyncit but I'm not sure if it supports tasks.

Exchange is just Exchange. Exchange is the server, Outlook is the client.

4. loki16

Attached Files:

• mpe.gif
      mpe.gif
      File size:
      15.2 KB
      Views:
  5. loki16

6. haddock

haddock Well-Known Member

Hmm... Dunno. I don't remember that option when I installed mine. I think you should just click "next" without checking the portable box, since it seems to be asking you if you want to install the portable version (whatever that is) or the full version. I think if you install the full version by just clicking next you shouldn't have a problem.

They are usually pretty quick answering mails at their support, so give them a try maybe. Hope it works!

loki16 likes this.
  7. loki16

thanks haddock.

i've moved past that issue and now am trying to get MPE to recognise the USB connection (attached gif). have emailed gmx.at

8. zillertaler

zillertaler Member

@loki: You have mailed a screenshot with the error to me. In the errormessage you see the button "Help" -> this will open some useful tipps. To solve your problem: