How to take screenshot of text messages?Support


Last Updated:

  1. demented

    demented Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good day,

    When I try taking a screenshot of a text message, the Task Manager keeps popping up, and when i touch 'back' whilst still pressing the 'home' button and then retry again, the 'back' buton works independently despite the holding in of the 'home' button. The image captures the message list screen and not the message itself.

    Any solutions???????
     

    Advertisement
  2. pixaro

    pixaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    19
    I am also looking for a way to take the screenshot of a text message. I tried a lot. But I could not. It captures only the message list.
     
  3. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    47
    Hi there,
    It is possible, although you have to be kinda lucky. I tried it out. Open your text message. Push the home buttom + on/off button about at the same time. Don't hold the home button too long, because it will vibrate and then you're too late. Then release both buttons at the same time. If you're lucky, the Task Manager screen won't pop up (unfortunately most of the time it does). Once every now and then the screen shot will be made before the Task Manager screen will show. It takes several trials though.
     
  4. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    47
    Hi again,
    I've just answered this in another post, something I just found on the internet (additional to my earlier post). It's much easier this way: first press home button until Task Manager appears, then push back button (keep holding the home button). Task Manager will disappear again. Only then press on/off button (still with home button pressed).
     
  5. demented

    demented Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    on/off button locks the screen
     
  6. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    47
    It won't if you let go of the on/off button before releasing the home button.
     
  7. demented

    demented Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    power button still locks the screen. i believe its home+back button to take screen shot on the Ace.
     
  8. rcheung28

    rcheung28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    8
    Actually, even the capture animation and the vibration occurs at the message list screen, if you go into gallery, it actually took a screenshot of the text message conversation. I guess the animation was just a bit late.
     
  9. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    47
    Hi Demented,
    It seems like your phone is working differently than mine. With me it works perfectly. Good luck with it.
     
    demented likes this.
  10. starsky101

    starsky101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    To get a screen shot of text messages in particular open up whichever text message you want hold down the back and home key and when it goes back to your list of messages use another finger to re-open the text message (while still holding down the back and home key), release the home key, continue to hold the back key down and it should work fine
     
    demented likes this.
  11. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    47
    It seems like different Aces have different methods for taking a screenshot. I've tried all kinds, including your way. With me back + home won't work, no matter in what order or in combination with whatever other buttons. I guess everyone should try for themselves which method will be effective for their phones.
     
  12. demented

    demented Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    YAY, your method worked..lol :)

    thanks a bunch
     
  13. ajeetsingh272

    ajeetsingh272 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya we can take screenshot in ace by pressing two key
    Back key than home key quickly
     
  14. jagankumar

    jagankumar Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,

    Press Home+Power buttons to take screenshot for messages. This works for me and it is 2.3.4 Gingerbread DDKQ6.
     
  15. jagankumar

    jagankumar Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,

    Press Home+Power to take screenshot for messages. It works for me and it is 2.3.4 Gingerbread.DDKQ6. I think, it varies for Countries.
     
  16. gandaran

    gandaran Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    for 2.3.6
    1
     
  17. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    47
    This last post is exactly the same method as I've described before in this thread. I have 2.3.5 Gingerbread.XWKS9, but obviously others with the same version need to use the back- and power button method. Maybe there's also a difference in what country you're in or other factors may make the difference.
    Let's come to the conclusion that is either back- and home button or home- and power button.
     
  18. druidd

    druidd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if this will be of any use any more, but to anyone who found this thread through googling this problem, it might help.

    When I hold the back button and tap the power button, the screen switches back to the message board. I found a work-around. First, go to the message thread. Hold the back button, which will take you to the message board. (If you try to navigate back to the message thread while holding the back button, the screen will flicker back to the message board before a capture can take place.) You must first do a screen capture of the message board. Then, while still holding the back button, you should be able to navigate to the message thread and do a screen capture.
     
  19. diamelles

    diamelles New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    While holding the home button the back button wont work..any other ideas?
     
  20. socrates0

    socrates0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    81
    Up to android 2.3.4 it was home + back button. 2.3.5 onwards its power + home
     
  21. pm5544

    pm5544 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    23
  22. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    47
    When making your first screenshot a map called "Screencapture" will automatically be created on your SD-card, so no special action is required. :)
     
  23. pm5544

    pm5544 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    23
    Is it ok to delete all screenshots from the gallery?
     
  24. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,760
    Likes Received:
    3,716
    As long as you don't need those screenies, yeah.
     

Share This Page

Loading...