How To Tell If You've Gotten The Update


Last Updated:

  1. NowVoyager

    NowVoyager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    599
    (According to Tmobile Tech Support -Cheers to them!)

    The version of the software that is most current is version 6 (the phone shipped with version 3).

    To ascertain version: Go to Dialer/Hit Star/#9999#

    You will see the PDA; Phone; and Software Version numbers in this section
    The T939xxxx6 for PDA AND PHONE and then
    Software Version - ending in .006 on the last line.

    I was told that the reason that I keep seeing the "No update file exists" message when I check "update firmware" is because I have the latest version.

    At some point my phone was updated without giving me a message. I did notice the red and blue arrows yesterday. But there was no message. My SD card mounted and dismounted on its own and gave an error message, and then all references to the error and SD card disappeared.

    If your phone is/has exhibited this sort of behavior, you may already have the update.

    Hope this helps someone!
     

    Advertisement
    ScrumHalf likes this.
  2. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    I have an even easier way to tell if you got the update:


    Open the app tab
    Look for Where's Waldo
     
  3. paul89

    paul89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    84
    this cant possibly be true because mine has the 6th version, and I have all the ******ed bugs! this is a software update! it is not the same as the bug fix update.
     
  4. nomadrider123

    nomadrider123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    8
    Software Version - ending in .006 on the last line.




    I have that but don't have the update
     
  5. tritran18518

    tritran18518 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    32
    mine ends with .006, So how can i get update while i do not use EDGE or 3G ?
     
  6. brmayhem

    brmayhem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    19
    Same here. I have .006 but no Where's Waldo.
     
  7. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    Officially, you can't. Unofficially hopefully we can pull it off someone's phone soon.
     
  8. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    You'll know when you get the update via message. You'd be surprised at how many TMobile Techs and Reps have no idea regarding this update.
     
  9. NowVoyager

    NowVoyager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    599
    The Tmobile Rep was certain that version .006 is the latest version of the software. He was not aware of any update beyond that.

    My phone has been exhibiting very strange behavior - Spontaneous reboots, SD card mount and dismounting on it's own, the red and blue arrows appearing in my notification bar without a message. So, there is no telling what has been going on. I have never experienced anything like this in all the years of having a Smartphone and I am livid :mad:

    On my support call, I was speaking with a PDA/Blackberry/Behold2 Support Rep so, he *should* have known what he was talking about (This was not the Tier 1 Customer Service Rep).

    And no, I don't have Waldo either, in case you are wondering.

    This entire thing is baffling. The only thing that I can surmise is that perhaps the update did not fully complete due to EDGE rather than 3G. In which case, I was told that my phone may be incapable of receiving the update. (It depends upon where I am located in my house as to whether or not I get 3G) :rolleyes:

    I don't know about the rest of you but, I have just about *had* it! - I'm going to watch a movie and relax. Voyager out... I will deal with this NeverEndingStory another time.
     
  10. paul89

    paul89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    84
    haha ya I've had it too. Apart from asking the rep I called he was mumbling on about making sure I had the latest software too! This software thing is not part of the update for bug fixes.
     
  11. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    Yea we all have the latest software. It has nothing to do with this update/fix. You'll get it when you get it, just be patient. If you're having that many problems, replace it.
     
  12. NowVoyager

    NowVoyager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    599

    spiz...the POINT is that the Tmobile Rep should have known this and not kept me on the phone for an HOUR jerking me around. If there is an update, plainly say so. What he told me was that I *have* the update and went so far as to show me how to tell that I had it. Now either that is an intentional lie or he was mistaken. He knew nothing about a patch. Either way, after wiping my phone and card, I have no update according to the Waldo scenario.

    This is a forum....where discussions are held and we are free to discuss Behold 2 issues. We all know that we can replace our phones without your direction tyvm:rolleyes: (I'm too P.O'd for this mayhem)

    B-R-E-A-T-H-E
    Gang, I was trying to be helpful with the software version update information that I was given. Some of you, like me are weary and just want our great phones to *work* as designed. That being said, when we call our Tech Support (The highest level of Tech Support at that) we expect to receive truthful answers. We are trying to help each other through an anxious time. That was my reason for sharing what the Tmo Rep told me. But it only served to highlight the depth of the frustration that surrounds this phone.
     
  13. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    I know what your point is. My point was that by now, we should all know that not all TMo reps really know what they're doing. The same goes for any of the major carriers.

    And I mentioned replacing the phone because it shouldn't have that many problems. It was a suggestion, you are free to take it or leave it. After all, this is a forum... but you already mentioned that.
     
  14. NowVoyager

    NowVoyager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    599
    I have never had this problem with another carrier... or phone for that matter. This is my first time with Tmo. So, I don't have your foresight regarding their level of service or lack thereof.

    In all things I realize my options to take or leave a suggestion when it *is* a suggestion and not an edict.

    Truthfully speaking, I am disappointed regarding this entire experience of owning this phone only since December. I had high expectations because I am an owner of many Samsung products and am very happy with them. Granted, the hardware is just fine. But without the OS, it doesn't mean much.

    It is because of my love of my SB2 that I have held onto it this long without returning it, hoping that Samsung/Tmo will eventually right the wrongs. But my patience amid the constant malfunctions and the now elusive update, is wearing thin.

    Can anyone answer for me: What would any company hope to gain by having it's Highest Tier Support lie about an update? If this is the case (and I don't believe that it is) What is their point given that we are told that .006 is the latest version of the software and that there is no other known update or patch? - How is it that one can get a phone from them now, which has the patch (And Waldo) on it? Is it that they CANNOT do it OTA and won't admit it? Since the 26th has come and gone, clearly *something* is the matter...
     
  15. mikenick42

    mikenick42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have .006 and don't see Where's Waldo anywhere.
     
  16. kkarlin

    kkarlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    20
    I don't think the Agents lied in the sense that they knowingly told you something wrong. I DO think you met up with a Tech Support agent who actually wanted to help but didn't have the tools (including information) needed to get you to a resolution. I work for a company that develops software to aid call centers in overcoming this exact issue so I can say with a fair degree of confidence that this is not a case of the Agent intentionally mis-directing you. Another thing worth noting is that nearly all call centers rate their agents based on call metrics that include average resolution time - the longer they spend on the phone with you, the worse their score. While Tier 2 and 3 Agents are MORE likely to have different metrics driving their ratings (First Call Resolution), it would NOT be out of the ordinary if they were being assessed by the same metrics as their Tier 1 counterparts. So the bottom line is that we are all on the front line experiencing what is becoming more and more prevalent in an interconnected world. The "stuff" doesn't work the way it was touted to, and the people responsible for providing answers don't have the tools or resources to really help customers - which by the way is usually just as frustrating for the Agent as it is for the Customer (not always though:) ).

    Having said all that, I'm just as pissed off and frustrated and the hobbled technology sitting on my desk (and on my wife's desk) as everyone else. Here's to hoping someone figures out how to extract the update for the rest of us.

    :)

    K
     
  17. nogdolan

    nogdolan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Has anyone who knows they have received the update tried this to see what version they have?
     
  18. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    Here are ratings of customer support. I had an tmo rep last night, give me all correct info, and even helped me with a separate issue. Don't judge a whole company by 1 employee.

    Ratings | J.D. Power
     
  19. Exaqtion

    Exaqtion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    6
    I thought that was a smart comment, lol. Is there really a Where's Waldo app in the latest version?
     
  20. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    .006 is what comes in the ODIN download package.
     
  21. NowVoyager

    NowVoyager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    599
    @KKarlin - I agree with you. Well said! No one who is conscientious about their job wants to mislead or misdirect customers. That is why I posed the question, "What would be the point of that?"

    @ChadMD First of all, this rep was as kind as he could be. He gave me the information to the best of his knowledge. As upset as I am about the outcome, that guy tried to help. Still, Tier 3 Reps are more senior and supposedly trained to handle escalations. I don't expect "Nicole" in Customer Service to do anything but ask me questions to "sort me" and move me forward. I don't believe it is that Tier 3 Rep's fault, but it absolutely is the fault of the company that sends him out ill prepared to do his job properly. Not making that Rep aware that there is an update/patch for the phone or that the most current version has "X" content is more than an oversight, this is crucial information (No Waldo, no update irrespective of .006).

    While this is my first time with Tmo, I have heard it suggested in this forum and elsewhere online that Tmo reps are not "in the loop." Even in this very thread it was said as if it should have been common knowledge to me. So, ole "J.D." didn't tally the users in various online communities.

    Given the fiasco of the supposed update between February 18th and 26th, I am convinced now that perhaps they cannot perform this update (patch) for every user OTA. It is just a theory, but it makes the most sense to me at this point. I would actually prefer it if they told me that truth. I wouldn't necessarily LIKE it, but at least I would not waste time trying to do something that cannot be done.
     
  22. Vic321

    Vic321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think they play dumb:confused:
     
  23. Vic321

    Vic321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is this update suppose to fix??
     
  24. paul89

    paul89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    84
    I thought people said that we could steal the update from the next person who got the update, and now someone has it and we can't do it???
     
  25. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    While I do have the update, I dont know if .006 is the right way to check. But here is what shows up in About Phone for me(I got notice of the update)

    Baseband: T939UVJA3
    Kernel: 2.6.27 root@sep-26 #1 Sat Jan 16 21:15:14 KST 2010
    Build Number: 76XXCSDCBALUM6375

    After reading around somethings to check are:
    1) Update will not happen on wifi, only while on Tmo network(3g/edge)
    2) IMEI must be correct. Have to call Tmo to check it.
    3) Just to be on the safe side, check if your sim card isnt an old one. Might have to go to the store to check that. When I got this phone(In store), they checked my sim card and found I needed a new one. This was at a T-Mobile store, not some reseller/kiosk. So it is possible this may be a cause for some issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...