How to tether phone internet connection to computer


Last Updated:

  1. Northumbrian

    Northumbrian New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope this a sensible place to ask this question: I am going away for one week. There'll be no access to wireless hotspots etc, but I hope I'll have a phone signal most of the time. I will need to access the internet with my computer (rather than just the phone) whilst I am away.

    I was thinking of getting one of those usb dongle things to connect the computer, but then got to thinking that I have an unlimited data plan on my phone - and so I wonder if there is a way to use this connection for my laptop.

    If anyone can give me any step-by-step instructions on how to do it, I'd be very grateful (either that, or tell me it just won't work!)
    Thanks for being here.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jammy

    Jammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    174
    Just connect your Desire to your computer using the USB cable.

    When you connect it, change the connection type to USB tethering.
     
  3. Northumbrian

    Northumbrian New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for this. It all started so well... I connected the phone, and chose the option to share the phone's internet connection. Windows 'found new hardware ' called 'Android phone' (that seemed full of promise) but failed to find anything it needed. Eventually I got a 'your new hardware might not work correctly' message, and I can't get any further.

    I realise this is beyond the scope of the android forum, but if anyone knows what I could do before giving up, I'd be grateful.

    If Bill G had a dollar for every time someone's Windows installation didn't work properly... oh wait - he does.
     
  4. Jammy

    Jammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    174
    Try installing HTC Sync.
     
  5. JasonC

    JasonC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yea I think you need to install HTC sync software so your PC has all the drivers. Be warned though, using data abroad costs a fortune! I used mine for a week on and off and my bill rose to
     
  6. donjazzy

    donjazzy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...