1. Welcome to the newer, better version of Android Forums! Be sure to see the announcement and enjoy checking it out!

Some of you have been having login issues. - Please try now. Sorry for the trouble!
  2. All attachments uploaded on the first day of this new look need to be re-uploaded, or will appear broken. All prior to that, and all going forward, should work fine. We apologize for the inconvenience!

How to tether tablet to phone?

1. OK, so I'm a total beginner at this kind of thing and find the internet solutions too complicated.

So could someone tell me in layman's terms how to tether my Archos & home to my android phone? The tablet doesn't have Bluetooth, spo that's totally out and I only have the AppsLib market place (the hacks to get the full market place just don't work) So, how could I tether the two to get 3G?

Advertisement
  2. chanchan05

chanchan05 The Doctor Guide

Do you mean from the tablet to the phone or from the phone to tablet? Either way, you should be able to turn your device into a wireless hotspot by going to Menu>Settings>Wireless>Mobile AP.
  3. I'm confused, what would be the difference between the two?

And I have nothing in Wireless apart from Wi-Fi.
  4. chanchan05

The difference is that, where is your SIM where you will get the 3G signal located, in the phone or the tablet? Of course 3G internet is available only on where the SIM is inserted. And you will tether from that device.

Nothing in wireless apart from WiFi? That's almost not possible, unless you are referring to your tablet. You Menu>Settings>wireless and network option should contain the options for "flight mode", "bluetooth settings", "USB settings", "Mobile Networks" and "Mobile AP" (mobile AP is available on Android 2.1 and higher).

5. From my mobile? Ah right. I'm on 2.1 here but there is no mobile AP Airplane mode, Wifi, WiFi settings, Bluetooth, Bluetooth settings, VPN settings and Mobile Networks. That's it.
  6. chanchan05