How to turn off 3G ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi,

    Probably a silly question, but anybody here able to tell me how to turn off 3G on this phone?

    I just want to see what impact it has on battery life.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. JPBrowne

    JPBrowne Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    Settings/wireless controls/mobile networks/ network mode
    Then select gsm only.

    You can put it into flight mode by holding the powe key and selecting flight mode. This turns off all the radios.
     
  3. Clash

    Clash Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    The above will switch off all data. To only switch off 3G got to Settings - Wireless controls - mobile networks - then untick MMS & Data. This will only allow calls and Sms messages.
     
  4. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks guys, but I was hoping to leave GPRS running (so I could still access internet services), but switch off 3G. In other words, still have all functionality, but slower and hopefully using less juice.

    Or have I totally misunderstood how phones work? :smile:

    Thanks!
     
  5. JPBrowne

    JPBrowne Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    The gsm radio uses less power than the 3g but if you're using it for data then it's going to take way longer to downoad stuff over GPRS/Edge than on 3G/hsdpa so you'll use more power because it will be transmitting and receiving for longer. For a voice call the gsm will use less power than the 3G.
     
  6. wooks63

    wooks63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    19
    If you're just worried about saving battery power, install something like JuiceDefender. You can set it so that when the phone is locked, 3G is turned off. As soon as you then unlock the phone it automatically comes back on ready for when you need it. There are other settings such as turn it on a specified intervals so that Timescape stays updated, but I don't personally bother with that.

    If you're browsing, 3G knocks spots off of standard GPRS and I wouldn't even bother trying to use just GPRS!
     
  7. sexperiax10

    sexperiax10 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Dem, did you manage to have GPRS working? I have tried endless attempts to connect to GPRS/Edge on GSM network mode only but without success. Is this result intended on the x10? I cross checked with my friend's Nexus and he was able to connect so definitely not an android or my cellular network's problem. Anyone can help?
     
  8. yeenster

    yeenster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there,

    Just wanted to get some help from all of you, once we disable the 3G connection which following the steps given, we still can surf the net using wireless right?

    thanks
     
  9. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes you can still surf wireless I use APN to turn off my 3g connection, nice little widget on my home screen, I press my wireless widget when I get home and use APN to turn 3g off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...