How to turn on/off GPS manually after rooting?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Acheron

    Acheron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys. As soon I rooted my phone both with and without Kitchen my GPS is automatically activated when a tool that use it needs it. Well that is good but sometimes NOT good. Say I run on Copilot on the street. Close the program and the reopen it, then it takes like 1-3 minutes to find my GPS position again!
    Where? And how can I turn on and off the GPS manually after rooting? I have searched everywhere in the forum and in the phone but nothing =/
    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. dwh_72

    dwh_72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you tried EXTENDED CONTROLS widget or POWER CONTROL widget. I use Extended and is a little more configurable
     
    Acheron likes this.
  3. Acheron

    Acheron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will try that. Thanks
     
  4. Acheron

    Acheron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried it out but still same issue. The GPS icon only activates when I start Copilot, Google maps etc... It is not active unless a utility that use the GPS even that I have it activated in the settings.....
     
  5. dwh_72

    dwh_72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    I noticed yesterday that if I had my data (& wifi) off but still had gps enabled, i couldnt get a satellite reading. Could this be your problem? Does this also mean that gps feature isnt a true gps and that it is based on cell tower triangulation. shouldnt gps work if outside cell coverage or if data is off? hmmmm!
     
  6. Acheron

    Acheron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm... don't get exactly what you mean? Do you mean it first locate where you are by data and then when the GPS have located it takes over ? If that is what you mean my phone works like that right now and have always done!

    I talked to a friend yesterday that run on a 9000 phone and he was confused cause this GPS thing I talk about was built in already in his phone but he never thought about it as a "problem" as he can multitask anyway.... For me it sucks turning of Copilot in the car to do something and then turn it on back and it takes 1-5 minutes locate my spot again =/
     
  7. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    What version of Co-Pilot are you using?

    On mine, there's an option on the Menu called Hide Co-Pilot.

    From within CoPilot
    Menu
    Hide Co-Pilot

    This Minimizes Co-Pilot and returns you to your Home screen.

    However, this also works, and for most Android Apps too.

    If you Press & Hold Down Home button, while within the App. This minimizes the current App and returns you to the Home Screen.

    To return to Co-Pilot, Press & Hold Down Home button and choose Co-Pilot Icon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...