How to unlock the Nexus 10's bootloader


Last Updated:

  1. adi19956

    adi19956 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    69
    No, I didn't do this one, but Andrew Martonik from Android Central did!

    You can find the guide here
     

    Advertisement
    Atma likes this.
  2. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Sames as the Nexus 7 if I remember right. This will be fun. :)
     
  3. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm having alot of trouble with this, though I feel it should be easy. Can anyone help?
     
  4. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    What kind of problem are you having?
     
  5. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    19
    The problem of having no idea what I was doing haha. I figured it out using a few different sites tho. I didnt find the Android Central process very enlightening.

    I used these:

    How to Unlock and Re-lock Bootloader on Nexus 10 [Guide] - IBTimes UK - For overall directions

    How to Set Up ADB / Fastboot with Android SDK for Any Andorid Device | Team Android - to set up drivers and fastboot

    Once I found these two sites (and looked up how to navigate in the command prompt. it's been awhile since I did that lol), I had NO problem. Was super easy then! I've got "UNLOCKED!"
     
    Atma likes this.
  6. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Great! I'll probably be doing mine this evening. :)

    I hope Wugfresh has his toolkit compatible with it soon.
     
  7. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    19
    hmmm i hope i didnt screw it up....it gave me the prompt to unlock bootloader and everything. and in the bootloader it showed as unlocked.

    when i restart the tablet, it shows "GOOGLE" as usual, with a little unlocked padlock at the bottom. then goes to the Nexus "X" and the X lights up with the colors moving around.....for a while....and doesnt do anything else....

    I can reset it to the bootloader, but not sure what to do from there...
     
  8. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    I was reading through one of those threads, try this:

     
    idic likes this.
  9. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    19
    I did all of that up to holding Power and Volume Up. At that point I have the openchested Android guy and it says "Downloading... Do not turn off target !!"

    Not sure what it would be downloading or from where... Kind of afraid to reset it while it says that though
     
  10. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    It always says that in that screen. Its won't be downloading anything unless you tell it to accept an OTA update or your loading one from your computer.

    I'm getting ready to leave work. I'll be back on later if you still need help.
     
    The_Superhoo likes this.
  11. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    19
    There's no menu choices after I press Power/Volume Up from the red triangle. No way to choose Wipe Data/Factory...
     
  12. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ok so I figured out what to do since I couldnt get the wipe data/factory choice from the bootloader/recovery

    I used the steps linked below for the N7 (minus the last couple that are for re-locking the bootloader), replacing the filenames for the N10 where needed. Worked pretty quick and I'm for sure back up and running as I'm re-setting up my N10 now! Pretty tense hour or so for me! haha


    How to Hard Reset a Bricked Nexus 7 With Your PC
     
  13. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    I figured it out after I got mine. When your in the bootloader screen, use the volume buttons to cycle through options and select recovery. You see it changing in the top left corner. Use the power button to select recovery. At the next screen where it says 'no command' I think, hold down the power button and push the right volume button. That will take you to the stock recovery.
     
  14. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Finally got mine unlocked. It was driving me crazy trying to find developer options and usb debugging. I finally found the 'easter egg'.
     
  15. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    85
    Is everyone just using the su.zip from rooting the Nexus 7?
     
  16. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    I haven't rooted mine yet. I was waiting on WugFresh to update his Nexus Root Toolkit. You would need to install a recovery first and then flash SU.

    Here is a thread explaining and another with a video.
     
  17. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    85
    I just have not seen a su.zip put out for the Nexus 10 yet. I saw that CWM has a working recovery out there as of last night. I have rooted all of my devices in the past except for my Note 10.1 and Google TVs. I love the ease of the Nexus devices...no hoops to jump through.
     
  18. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    I haven't either, but it looks like its included in the zip file. I just downloaded it and it looks like its SuperSU-v0.98.
     
  19. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    85
    I guess that might be my deeper question...are the binaries installed automatically if I pull the app directly out and push with ADB?
     
  20. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    It looks that's the way it works. I think I'll hold off for a few days. There is a new CWM and TWRP recoveries out, but it looks like both is causing random reboots.
     
    chiph411 and Caveman419 like this.
  21. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    85
    I had seen that the "unofficial" CWM was causing there reboots but did not see the official on was. I will wait till they get the TWRP one working....starting to like that one better.
     
  22. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Me too. I love TWRP! :D
     
  23. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    85
    I just when back to try it again when I put 4.2 on my GNex. Has some great features over CWM.
     
  24. idic

    idic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    42

    I had this exact issue, and flashing the factory image through fastboot didn't help, only a factory reset through recovery worked.

    (Hold all 3 buttons to get to bootloader, then use volume keys to get to recovery mode, power button to select. When you see android on his back hold power button and tap volume button briefly to get the recovery menu up - a few people, myself included, had trouble getting this to work first time!)

    Did you get yours unlocked in the end? Nervous about trying again until there's more in stock in case anything goes wrong again...

    Anyone else have this problem? I've had many Nexus devices and never run into this problem before...
     
  25. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    I had no problem unlocking but had the boot problem. A factory reset fixed it no problem. I've seen many others have the same issue but a factory reset has fixed all the ones I have seen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...