How to update Milestone to android 2.3.3 (Instruction)


Last Updated:

  1. rootrol

    rootrol New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    8
    In archive CM7_20110309_Milestone.zip:

    Update to CyanogenMod 7.1.0 RC8

    - RSD Lite 4.9.msi
    - GOT_OR.zip
    ---- OpenRecovery
    ---- vulnerable_recovery_only_RAMDLD90_78.sbf <vulnerable &#1088;&#1077;&#1082;&#1072;&#1074;&#1077;&#1088;&#1080;>
    ---- update.zip
    - GOT_RTEU_2_2_1FULL.zip

    Let's start.

    1. Unpack archive CM7_20110309_Milestone.zip .
    2. OpenRecovery and the file update.zip from archive GOT_OR.zip is written down in root SDcard.
    3. Establish RSD Lite.
    4. Start RSD Lite and we wait when the device by it it will be identified or pressed the button "Show Device".
    5. Choose vulnerable recovery vulnerable_recovery_only_RAMDLD90_78.sbf , unpacked of archive GOT_OR.zip .
    6. When phone will be defined we press the button "Start". The reinsertion will begin.
    7. Wait for the operation termination. Attention: in the course of an insertion a body will reboot so be not frightened.
    The Following point is especially important!!!
    8. Now we include phone with the holded button "X" on the keyboard and when on the screen there will be a yellow triangle (Pic1), hold "loudness upwards " and holding it we press the button "the chamber". In the bootloader menu choose point "apply sdcard: update.zip" (Pic2). I congratulate, you have got in G.O.T. OR which have established at the very beginning of this description. Choose point "nandroid " (Pic3), then "backup " (Pic4), we choose all sections of memory and we start archiving (Pic5). I advise always to do full backup, in avoidance of conflicts of sections. If something goes not so to restore system it will be possible through point "restore".
    Reboot Milestone.

    [​IMG]
    Pic1.

    [​IMG]
    Pic2.

    [​IMG]
    Pic3.

    [​IMG]
    Pic4.

    [​IMG]
    Pic5.

    9. Start RSD Lite and wait when the device by it it will be identified or pressed the button "Show Device".
    10. Choose GOT_RTEU_2_2_1FULL.sbf , unpacked of archive GOT_RTEU_2_2_1FULL.zip.
    11. When phone will be defined press the button "Start". The reinsertion will begin.
    12. After an insertion phone will be loaded, but it not is CyanoGen Mod7. Switch off the Milestone.
    13. Now include phone with the holded button "X" on the keyboard and when on the screen there will be a yellow triangle (Pic1), we hold "loudness upwards" and holding it we press the button "the chamber". In the bootloader menu choose point "apply sdcard: update.zip" (Pic2).
    14. Choose menu point Run Script (Pic6) and trace wipe_system.sh (Pic7)

    [​IMG]
    Pic6.

    [​IMG]
    Pic7.

    15. From the main menu choose Apply update (Pic8)
    16. Choose update-cm-7.0.0-RC3-0.07-11.03.09-Milestone-signed (Pic9)
    17. In the same menu (Pic9) choose gapps-gb-20110307-signed
    18. Reboot device.
    19. In case of lag of the device expressed in animation loaded CyanoGen Mod7 during well of very long time, be loaded in OpenRecovery and execute wipe - they there should be made all 3 pieces.

    [​IMG]
    Pic8.

    [​IMG]
    Pic9.

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
    sankarxt, Schooner, arth8059 and 4 others like this.
  2. runner2k

    runner2k Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    First!!

    thanks for sharing!
     
  3. rootrol

    rootrol New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    8
    Always please)
     
  4. aby_987

    aby_987 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi rootrol,

    I m already using milestone 2.2.1. Do I need to follow all steps to install 2.3.3 or can I skip all steps till step#14 and directly apply the update?
     
  5. rootrol

    rootrol New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes, certainly can.
     
  6. thafz

    thafz New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, am new ish here...I need to know, does my milestone need to be rooted for me to update it? and what do you mean by " clamping the volume. button"?

    thanx
     
  7. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    19
    No, you don't need to be rooted before you start. You will be rooted after you have followed all the steps though.

    "clamping the volume button" = holding the volume (up) button down, just press and keep it pressed, ...
     
  8. fuzzuy

    fuzzuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1


    Hello,

    I was able to do all the above procedure with out a hitch but at the end i don't have service from my service provider and just for FY! I am from Canada and a Telus customer so is there any other sbf or canada or i am missing something thanks:confused:
     
    arth8059 likes this.
  9. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    19
    Use Androidiani Open Recovery as Open Recovery instead of the one advised by the OP.
    androidiani-openrecovery - Androidiani OpenRecovery for Milestone, modded for eclair and froyo - Google Project Hosting

    You will have a 'Basebands menu'. There you can apply the Canadian baseband.
     
    Schooner, monsterduc1000 and fuzzuy like this.
  10. fuzzuy

    fuzzuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
  11. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    19
    You're welcome.
     
    fuzzuy likes this.
  12. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Can you just use the Rom Manager App for this instead of going through all the steps? The instructions are not very coherent or as in depth as they should be for a non-programmer like myself.
     
  13. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    19
    Unfortunately no, you can't use ROM Manager for this.
    What part of the instructions don't you get?

    You can refer to this guide (for the first part anyway) to have it more detailed (don't use the download links in there though): http://androidforums.com/milestone-all-things-root/75460-milestone-2-1-update-root-guide.html
     
  14. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Maybe it is the broken english in the instructions (such as, what is "the chamber button" in step 13?), but it makes it hard to follow. I found these instructions and it looks like an easier process (less steps) than the one here.

    http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile...gerbread-cyanogenmod-7-on-motorola-milestone/

    I have rooted with Universal Androot, so will this process be possible with this type of root application?

    My apologies for all the questions. I am just a little nervous about bricking my phone trying to do this.
     
  15. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yeah, true, he could have used some other words. The ''chamber'' button should be the camera button.

    The guide you found is not bad, though it only explains you the steps when there is already a 2.2 sbf flashed on your phone. So if you're not on 2.2 (Froyo) yet you should first flash this.

    You can skip a few steps in the link you posted though. As soon as you press volume up and camera you can immediately select 'Apply update.zip'. You can clearcache and data in the Openrecovery menu as well, and the dalvik-cache too. But before you do that i would do a Nandroid Backup (better to do that before you wipe your data).

    You also better download Androidiani as Openrecovery (recommended). See one of my posts here above for the link.

    Don't be nervous about it, there is nothing much you can do wrong. Most important is to wipe dalvik-cache, cache and data and install CM7 and ggaps (first CM7).

    Later when an updated version of CM7 comes out you don't need to wipe data anymore, only dalvik-cache and cache and flash the CM7 rom (ggaps not needed anymore either unless there's a new version).
     
    monsterduc1000 likes this.
  16. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Cool thanks. I will be trying this from the official 2.2.1 from telus (via the moto software update program). Is nandroid backup something you need to install? Or is it just in the phone already.

    Edit: Before I go through all this sometime this weekend or early next week when I have time, is it really that much better than the official 2.2.1?
     
  17. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    19
    You will find that option in 'Openrecovery'. Pretty useful feature as it backs up your whole system (about 400Mb free needed on your sd card though). So even if you would have a problem after flashing a new rom or something, you can just restore your nandroid back up and your phone will be exactly the same as before you flashed.
    So a good thing to do every time you plan to try something on your phone is to have a nandroid backup you can revert to when things go wrong.

    Telus? That is Canada, no? If yes, you will need to apply the Canadian basebands as well after flashing the CM7. You will find that option in the Androidiani Openrecovery as well.
     
  18. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yep Canada. Very Nice! Saves me the hassle of tracking something else down...

    Thanks for all your help Alta1r.
     
  19. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    OK. When I extract the files from CM7 on my computer, it says there are 3 files in there, META-INF, system and boot. Do I copy all these over? Same for gapps. It says META-INF, and system. Copy these as well?

    I have the Androidiani on there already.
     
  20. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Does not work with universal androot and I can't find a version of vulnerable recovery that works with rsd lite to root fully. Please help.

    EDIT: Re-Rooted with Super One Click and it still is not working.
     
  21. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    When i try the above, i get the following error
    E:EOCD marker occurs after start of EOCD
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation Aborted.
     
  22. arth8059

    arth8059 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed his instruction even though having dificulty in understanding his english, I installed cm7 2.3.3 on my milestone without any problem, now its working like a charm

    thanks rootrol
     
  23. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Stuck at cm7 boot screen. Now what?
     
  24. arth8059

    arth8059 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    the same thing happened to me,stuck in cm7 boot screen, i removed the battery and re installed, reload in open recovery, wipe dalvik/data and cache and reboot, and it works
     
  25. monsterduc1000

    monsterduc1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yep. Did that and it worked, but I don't know how much better it really is. I am having issues with some games and titanium backup restores.
     

Share This Page

Loading...