How to upgrade sd card


Last Updated: 2012-10-07 01:44:05
  1. brianvillage5

    brianvillage5 Well-Known Member

    Shouldn't he just try "su" enter, then "a2sd install" and that will tell him if mik has dt baked in if it works right?

    Advertisement
  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Yes but the possible problem being is, he already used some option in Mik to physically move his apps to sd card, which used in conjunction with DT is not a good thing. Whether DT has already done this or not, I am not sure.
    So at this moment, he moved his apps to sd. If he issues that command, I think he will lose apps or something will go wonky (according to the link I provided for him to read).
    I just wanted to know if DT is currently linking his apps to his sd-ext or not:)
    Robobob1221 likes this.
  3. Robobob1221

    Robobob1221 Well-Known Member

    Yeah just run a2sd check first.
    If you got it installed but not running it will say that a2sd is flagged or something like that. If that's the case move the apps back to internal storage then execute the a2sd reinstall command I think would be better.

    If it tells you its installed and running its probably best to uninstall the apps that have been moved, clear cache and dalvik and reinstall them. If you've used TiB this shouldn't be much of a problem.
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    As I stated in another thread Mik3D, MikG do not use Darktremors as the a2sd it's more a variation of cm a2sd where, if the sdcard is partitioned, the rom will automatically recognize the sdext if you're not partitioned, you will not see the sdext.

    More times than not if anyone is familiar with DT's a2sd, your phone reboots 3 times before going to the splash screen. Mik3D and MikG does/will not do this even if your sdcard is partitioned;)
    Mikestony likes this.
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    I then respectfully ask you this question, if he is on Mik3D, then why, when he runs the a2sd check in TE, does it come up DT a2sd as he posted?:) if, as you say, Mik run a cm variation of DT.

    ocnbrze and andygu3 like this.
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    I guess the simplest way to check the differences between the 2 is go ahead and unpartition your sdcard. Flash Mik3D or MikG and see if the phone boots and it obviously will. Then try the rom you're on, reloaded, and at the end of aroma check a2sd(DT) and see where you get. I'll bet you'll be on the white htc evo4g screen forever because you're not partitioned and to run DT, you have to have a partitioned sdcard.

    I guess my point is just because you're running a2sd check in TE doesn't mean that you're running DT. The cm a2sd variation allows any rom flasher the ability to boot the rom whether you're partitioned or not, but again, if you're sdcard is partitioned then you'll reap the benefits of the sdext.
    Mikestony likes this.
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    So just to get it clear in my head...
    Hypothetical scenario...
    I have an unpartitioned sd card.
    I flash Mikg which has the DT variation, cm, baked into it.
    It will boot fine but will not send apps to ext (obviously.)
    I say to myself, "I'm gonna flash Reloaded now"
    I flash reloaded, and due to the fact my card is unpartitioned and Reloaded has DT baked in, it will take forever to boot.?

    And why did his a2sd check command, spit out the DT screen if he's on MikG.

    I'm not trying to argue with ya here;) just trying to learn a little more.
  8. Robobob1221

    Robobob1221 Well-Known Member

    I run a version of dta2sd that doesn't reboot at all, just boots once and apps are moved but not dalvik cache, that's flagged.
    Its likely Mik is running an older version of dta2sd like that in dsixda's kitchen, unless he flashed DT's after flashing the ROM.
    Ekring67 and Mikestony like this.
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    @op i know this may not sound like this is something you want to do. but just to make it easier i would do a full wipe and start over. so basically:
    1.nandroid, wipe and flash mik3d.
    2.boot up and sign in.
    3.download titanium backup and restore your apps w/ tb
    4.check the main menu in tb, you should see sd-ext listed with how much is being used and how much free space you have left. if you do not see this then a2sd is not running, especially if you see that none of the apps that you restored were moved. it should show it being used. this is the easiest way in determining what is going on with a2sd. sure getting the a2sd check will also report it, but it is hard to read unless you know what you are looking for.

    and since you are partitioned now, you should never use the apps2sd feature that is built into sense. it only moves part of the app and not the whole app. and like you have found out it will break a2sd.

    mik3d has a2sd built in so it should move your apps automatically to the card without you having to do anything. just check tb's main screen.
    Ekring67 and Mikestony like this.
  10. Ekring67

    Ekring67 Well-Known Member

    Ya, I'll have to give that some thought before I decide if all this is worth a missing link to an app icon....LOL. However, I did create a nice little stream of comments in this thread.

    Ok so I will run the command and try to post the results and report what what TB says
    ocnbrze and Mikestony like this.
  11. Ekring67

    Ekring67 Well-Known Member

    Here is TB screenshot:

    2012-10-05_23-39-00.jpg 2012-10-05_23-56-38.jpg
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    oh yeah you will need tohe pro key to see your sd ext. the free version is very limted. and to me it is money well spent. the devs for tb are awesome and i always like to support these guys. so if you do not go that route then you will need to do the a2sd check in TE.
    Ekring67 likes this.
  13. Ekring67

    Ekring67 Well-Known Member

    # export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
    # su
    # a2sd check
    [ ] Apps2SD is launching...
    __ _____
    | \ |
    | | |
    |__/ | Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.2 (2010-09-30)

    [ ] GetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox getprop
    [ ] SetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox setprop
    [ ] Mount Point = /system/sd
    [ ] Symlinking /cache/dalvik-cache to /data/dalvik-cache
    [ ] Starting Apps2SD Check Program.
    [ ] Checking for ext partition

    Darktremor 2.7.5.2 Apps2SD Status Report
    ===================================================================================
    Legend: []=Setting is correct
    []=Setting is correct, but not optimal.
    []=Setting is incorrect and needs to be fixed or option is not available.
    ===================================================================================
    Block Device - [] Found
    - [] /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    EXT Partition - [] Mounted
    Mount Point - [ ] /system/sd
    Partition Type - [] EXT3
    Support EXT2? - [] Yes
    Support EXT3? - [] Yes
    Support EXT4? - [] No

    Apps - [ ] Regular directory.
    [ ] No Apps2SD Flag File found.
    [] Programs run from Int. Storage.
    To run from SD card, type a2sd reinstall.

    Private Apps - [ ] Regular directory.
    [ ] No Apps2SD Flag File found.
    [] Private Programs run from Int. Storage.
    To run from SD card, type a2sd reinstall

    Dalvik Cache - [ ] Regular directory.
    [ ] Bound to /data/dalvik-cache via mount.
    [ ] Dalvik to /cache flag file found.
    [] Dalvik runs from /cache partition
    To run from SD card, type a2sd cachesd.
    To run from internal storage, type a2sd nocache.

    Swap - [ ] Partition not present or no swap support.
    [] Swap does not start.

    ZipAlign - [] Not running at boot.
    To activate it, type a2sd zipalign

    Dalvik Heap(MB) - [] 48m

    Low Memory
    Killer Settings - [] 2560,4096,5632,10240,11776,14848
    Note: Values are in pages.
    1 page = 4KB memory.

    Values represent the following:
    1st number = Foreground App
    2nd number = Visible App
    3rd number = Secondary Server
    4th number = Hidden App
    5th number = Content Provider
    6th number = Empty App

    [] For a list of commands that you can use with Apps2SD
    Type: a2sd help
    #
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    ok so going by what you just posted you are partitioned and that a2sd is working. if you want a detailed explanation then check this post by one of AF's walking Android Bible akazabam:http://androidforums.com/3649827-post32.html
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    ooops sorry i missed read your output. the part where it says "No Apps2sd flag file found". this means that you do not have the sym links for you apps.

    so to move the apps to the sd card you will need to run a2sd reinstall. this will move your apps to the card fully. but before you do that i would move all of your apps back to the phone first using the built in apps2sd(if that makes sense).
  16. Ekring67

    Ekring67 Well-Known Member

    ok, will try
  17. Ekring67

    Ekring67 Well-Known Member

    Me thinks this is not right?

    # export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
    # su
    # a2sd reinstall
    [ ] Apps2SD is launching...
    __ _____
    | \ |
    | | |
    |__/ | Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.2 (2010-09-30)

    [ ] GetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox getprop
    [ ] SetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox setprop
    [ ] Mount Point = /system/sd
    [ ] Starting Darktremor Apps2SD Version 2.7.5.2
    [ ] Launching Apps2SD Start Program with reinstall
    /system/bin/bash: /system/bin/starta2sd: No such file or directory
    #
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    hmmmmmmm let me sleep on this. that is an odd output for a reinstall command
    Ekring67 likes this.
  19. Robobob1221

    Robobob1221 Well-Known Member

    If you got a root explorer, like es explorer, go to system/bin and check for that starta2sd file. If it's not there then let us know.
    Mikestony likes this.
  20. Ekring67

    Ekring67 Well-Known Member

    i have system/bin/a2sd, and system/bin/bash, but no system/bin/starta2sd
  21. Robobob1221

    Robobob1221 Well-Known Member

    That's why it's not working. I'm running the same version as you so I will try and post a copy of the file for you. Give me a few.

    edit: for some reason I couldn't add this as an attachment in doc or zip form.

    starta2sd download here. Put on your sd card and move to the /system/bin/ directory.

    change permission to 755 (owner = read, write, execute all checked. group and others = read and execute checked)

    reboot to recovery clear cache and dalvik. then reboot phone.
    make sure all apps are internal and then try the a2sd reinstall command.

    If this doesn't work could have been a bad d/l of the Mik ROM so you'll have to download again and re-flash the rom most likely.

    This version is DT, but its based off CM a2sd method so that's most likely why there is only a single boot.
    ocnbrze and Mikestony like this.
  22. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    I stand corrected but there's the reason, I've used beta 4 all this time
    Mikestony likes this.
  23. Ekring67

    Ekring67 Well-Known Member

    well, I was able to get the file added to the directory, run the reinstall command and it said moving aps to sd. I had a bunch of force closes, but eventually it said rebooting....
    THis is the TE now:

    # export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
    # su
    # a2sd check
    [ ] Apps2SD is launching...
    __ _____
    | \ |
    | | |
    |__/ | Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.2 (2010-09-30)

    [ ] GetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox getprop
    [ ] SetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox setprop
    [ ] Mount Point = /system/sd
    [ ] Symlinking /cache/dalvik-cache to /data/dalvik-cache
    [ ] Starting Apps2SD Check Program.
    [ ] Checking for ext partition

    Darktremor 2.7.5.2 Apps2SD Status Report
    ===================================================================================
    Legend: []=Setting is correct
    []=Setting is correct, but not optimal.
    []=Setting is incorrect and needs to be fixed or option is not available.
    ===================================================================================
    Block Device - [] Found
    - [] /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    EXT Partition - [] Mounted
    Mount Point - [ ] /system/sd
    Partition Type - [] EXT3
    Support EXT2? - [] Yes
    Support EXT3? - [] Yes
    Support EXT4? - [] No

    Apps - [ ] Linked to SD Card.
    [ ] No Apps2SD Flag File not found.
    [] Programs run from SD card
    To run from internal storage, type a2sd remove

    Private Apps - [ ] Linked to SD Card.
    [ ] No Apps2SD Flag File not found.
    [] Private Programs run from SD card
    To run from internal storage, type a2sd remove

    Dalvik Cache - [ ] Regular directory.
    [ ] Bound to /data/dalvik-cache via mount.
    [ ] Dalvik to /cache flag file found.
    [] Dalvik runs from /cache partition
    To run from SD card, type a2sd cachesd.
    To run from internal storage, type a2sd nocache.

    Swap - [ ] Partition not present or no swap support.
    [] Swap does not start.

    ZipAlign - [] Not running at boot.
    To activate it, type a2sd zipalign

    Dalvik Heap(MB) - [] 48m

    Low Memory
    Killer Settings - [] 2560,4096,5632,10240,11776,14848
    Note: Values are in pages.
    1 page = 4KB memory.

    Values represent the following:
    1st number = Foreground App
    2nd number = Visible App
    3rd number = Secondary Server
    4th number = Hidden App
    5th number = Content Provider
    6th number = Empty App

    [] For a list of commands that you can use with Apps2SD
    Type: a2sd help
    #
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    ok well that is good. so does it work now?
    Mikestony likes this.
  25. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Nice! You should see your internal memory free up alot more, and in TE you should see the a2sd storage.:)

Share This Page