how to use nandroid/recovery?


Last Updated:

  1. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've flashed my phone more times than I have fingers, and each time I end up doing a clean wipe. It's come to my attention that I can avoid the hassle of reinstalling all my apps and syncing my contacts with Google if I do something with nandroid and recovery.

    How do I go about it? I can't find anything on the forums here.

    Intent:
    I have galaxo 1.6.3.3 with darksense 1.5 now and am thinking of trying out a GAOSP nightly.

    feeling dumb today,
    chronodekar
     

    Advertisement
  2. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    To the best of my knowledge, you can only reliably use nandroid to go back to how your phone was before if you don't flash a new firmware in between. It doesn't seem to backup and restore your radio, only the android part of your phone, if I'm right

    The way I see it:
    - flash the official firmware you want to base GAOSP on
    - configure it the way you like
    - do a nandroid backup in slot A
    - install GAOSP and play with it until you're sick of it
    - do a nandroid backup in slot B
    - restore nandroid backup from slot A, should work fine
    - decide to try a different official firmware
    - (here's the potential problem) a nandroid restore of a previous installation will probably fail or create a horrible Frankenstein monster mixing the two firmwares until you re-flash the previous firmware

    Please correct me if I'm wrong :) but this is what I experienced doing a nandroid restore after flashing new firmware.

    However, just using nandroid to switch between GAOSP and Galaxo should work fine as long as you don't install a new firmware in between.
     
    chronodekar likes this.
  3. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thank you for that dryhte.

    One more thing - how does one copy over the nandroid backup to a PC ? Is it possible or am I missing something?

    -chronodekar
     
  4. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    I also copied Nandroid backup on my PC. :p

    I think that, I just mounted SD card in Recovery and copied files from nandroid folder on my internal SD card to my selected folder on PC. So i guess it works. Didn't try to resend the files to nandroid folder on internal SD card and trying to do a Nandroid restore from it. So sue me, I'm a playing it safe. :p
     
  5. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I'm pretty sure backing up Nandroid backups work. ;)
     
  6. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks guys! :) The next free weekend I get, I'm doing this.

    -chronodekar
     
  7. sgx100

    sgx100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    14
    What ! Kya ho gaya bhai aaj ?
    That came as a surprise.
    Anyways.... reminds that my nandroid backups started to run into gbs.... had to finally relocate them to my pc.
    Just install recovery 6.3 as that's the universal recovery for galaxo and gaosp.
    Then make a nandroid backup of galaxo on any one of 4 slots. Remember that slot number :)

    Then update to gaosp. Play, fiddle or kick around with it and when you are satisfied make another nandroid backup on a different slot.

    that's it..... now you can shuttle between the two states.... Reminds me of a time machine movie :p

    also the Android system on your phone would appreciate you if you installed Titanium Backup and My Backup Pro. They restore every data under the Galaxy :)
     
  8. Bomberman

    Bomberman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'd go with AppBrain to restore apps :) Plus all the other benefits it has :)
     
  9. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    14
    Can you elaborate on this ? All I know is that AppBrain is just another android market. They have some app-backup features ?

    -chronodekar
     
  10. Bomberman

    Bomberman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    10
    You sync your apps with AppBrain so it knows what you have installed. Wipe the phone, then resync with AppBrain to reload 'em all. You have to d/l them again but I just find that pretty handy for weeding out stuff I didn't really need :)
     
    chronodekar likes this.
  11. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    14
    Think I'll give AppBrain a shot...

    -chronodekar
     
  12. sgx100

    sgx100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    14
    I use and would recommend Titanium Backup to everyone.
    It restores all your apps, with data and market links
    What else can u ask

    For SMS Contacts Calender etc you can use My Backup Pro

    Only issue is that any stock or modded ROM lacks a file manager. How can google goof this up :-O. That needs the phone to be connected to the market once and rest is taken care by the two apps ( TB n MY backup Pro )

    I will try App Brain with a couple of my apps to see how it fares.
     

Share This Page

Loading...