how to use UMTS/HSDPA IN USA


Last Updated:

  1. riding123

    riding123 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, i would like to buy a Hero or Magic, but live on th fu... Island USA and there is no freedom of choice for your Phone.
    I had in the past a HTC cruise what allowed me to use the UMTS 850, 900, 1900, 2100 mhz and other than T.mobile USA it worked fine.

    Is such a Hero or MAgic available too, or is the Hardware good to use either 850/1900 ATT, 1700/2100 T.Mobile USA or 900/2100 for the rest of the World (exept some US Sattelites)

    Means like the Radio can be modified or changed to use it. On the Cruise it is officialy also with2100 only but has all the other frequency.

    Thanks in hope to get a freedom of choice for my phone
     

    Advertisement
  2. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    As it stands, only the Sprint Hero will work on 3G in the USA, and only on Sprint's network.

    As for the Magic and the Dream, you can get Tmobile's version that will work with Tmobile's 3G network only. Or you can get the Canadian Roger's versions and unlock them to work on AT&T's 3G network.
     
  3. riding123

    riding123 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    THanks for this answer.
    I have acces to some german phones, and wonder if a updated ROM will allow the 1700/2100 or 850/1900 UMTS Network.
    I know HTC TOuch cruise was sold as a uMTS 2100 only and had the chip(hardware to work great with ATT (850/1900)
    Was hoping this could open me in POOR USA :mad: the world of cellphones too.

    THanks
     
  4. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    The European Hero only has the 900/2100 chip as far as I know. Now if that will work on the few networks that AT&T has that use the 2100MHz band, I really dont know. I doubt it though. The way HSPA works is by dynamically adjusting the frequency band, optimizing for either upload or download, so I suppose it MAY be possible to adapt it to somehow use only the 2100MHz band. But again, I doubt it.

    Edit: I just want to clearify that IF it is possible to get a European Hero to work on the US 3G network, it would take an aweful lot of work, including altering the core programming.
     
  5. riding123

    riding123 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the answer, work and money is Ok as long is get the freedom to buy ones where i want and choose in a free market, not like the USA (it is like communist system we had in Eastern Europe)
    To get around this new communist system i like to pay (money and time) and therefore get the choice
     

Share This Page

Loading...