How to you use custom icons?


Last Updated:

  1. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm looking at the "let us peek at you screens" thread/sticky. It looks like a lot of people are using custom icons for stock apps. How do you do that? I'm clueless and a noob.

    Any help is appreciated! Happy 4th weekend.

    EDIT: Like this one:

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Get the folder organizer app. Then go in the app and change the icon in the program then long press a blank spot on the homescreen, then shortcuts -> folder organizer item -> pick the one you changed the icon for
     
  3. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ok, I just bought that app, but cannot get the labels to go away! Are you sure that this app will allow me to add a "label-less" shortcut??
     
  4. vicshalls

    vicshalls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have been playing with that all day and I think I am gonna do away with it unless some one can tell how to get it to work right. I can make the icons but when I get them on the home screen and try to open them it tells me it has lost the connection to the app. Any ideas?
     
  5. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    I think that's done via a custom launcher...
     
  6. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    X2 Launcher Pro has that option.
     
  7. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    99

    You have to ADW Launcher or Launcher Pro to remove the labels from the icons. I think both are free, but you will lose access to HTC widgets (I think).

    As far as changing icons there is something called Bettercut/Anycut that allows custom icons as well (but I never tried using it).
     
  8. backdown

    backdown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    41
    I just downloaded launcher pro, and am using my icons on a small scrolling dock down at the bottom of the screen for my apps now. If you need icons, use Iconfinder | Search and download free icons that's where i got all mine from. Its really neat to have all my own custom stuff now :D
     
    DirtyDozen and sweteg like this.
  9. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    if you use folder organizer, when you add the item widget>app> make sure you uncheck the box to show the label at the top of the list. viola
     
    kopkiwi likes this.
  10. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm still not seeing what you are. I have all of my Folder Label "groups" configured, and all of my Apps configured just the way I want them in Folder Organizer. Nowhere within the setup pages of folder organizer is an option to hide labels.

    So if I long-press on the home screen and select FolderOrganizer Item and then hit Apps, and then hit Internet - all that happens is that the icon with the label is added to the screen.

    If there is no way to do it via folder organizer I will move on. But is sounds like there is and I'm just missing it? Please help a brother out!

    Thanks for the reply, by the way.
     
  11. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    [​IMG]








    if you dont see that then you need to update the app
     
  12. itsme1

    itsme1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you use sense with changing the icons?
     
  13. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    yes. using folder organizer they are just widgets really
     
  14. icebergslim3000

    icebergslim3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    24
    You know I will never understand some people on this forum. You were in a thread where people were posting photos with custom icons yet instead of asking your question there you made a whole new thread. SMH.
     
  15. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    if you dont see that then you need to update the app[/QUOTE]


    Thank you so much! I apparently need to update my app, since it does not show this. I would have never known! Appreciate it.
     
  16. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    How the heck do you update the app? We apparently have different versions, yet there is no update button??
     
  17. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    Nevermind, you have to hit "Widget" instead of hitting "Label." It does the same thing, but gives you the extra option. Thanks to all (well... most) for the help!
     
  18. PuRock

    PuRock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'm struggling with this as well. I use LauncherPro w/ BetterCut. I create custom shortcuts for let's say the "Camera". Pick an icon etc. But when I press the button on my homescreen it says "Appliication is not installed".

    But when I hit the camera app in the drawer it works fine. Same thing occurs for my people icon.
     
  19. hammondfra

    hammondfra VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    isn't it better than clogging up the other thread with a ton of Q&A that has been apparently going on in here?

    random though...
     
  20. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134

    you cant create shortcuts from bettercut, they wont work right. You have to make them from the default android launcher and then EDIT with bettercut. Its too complicated for me to explain right now. Just use folder organizer lite
     

Share This Page

Loading...