How to...?Tips


Last Updated:

  1. wildkitten

    wildkitten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    75
    I have finished with the ICS install, FDR and reinstalling my apps, but there are a couple of things I am not certain of.

    1) How do I set tactile feedback to the keyboard to off? I have looked everywhere under settings and especially the Input settings and can not find it?

    2) Word is some bloat can be uninstalled and/or frozen through ICS itself. How does one do this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. DanDroide

    DanDroide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    126
    I can answer #2. Go to "Manage Apps" > open app > "Disable"

    Most let you...some don't. Also, disabled apps will show up at the end of the list after disabling.
     
    wildkitten likes this.
  3. SirEagle

    SirEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Some apps (Let's Golf 2) will give you the option to uninstall.
     
  4. SirEagle

    SirEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    As for #1
    Settings/Language and Input, then hit the settings icon for Motorola Input, uncheck vibrate on keypress.
     
    wildkitten likes this.
  5. Satires

    Satires Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    123
    For answer number one. I purchased gingerbread keyboard from the market because you can make your keys bigger or smaller and it has all kinds of settings. haven't even played with stock keyboard settings when AI have a purchased one sitting in the play store. Try the demo version, you might like it. :)
     
  6. wildkitten

    wildkitten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yeah, I use the Swiftkey keyboard, but the instructions of Motorola were very similar to how to disable tactile feedback.

    I notice none of the Verizon apps show as apps that can be disabled, unless you have to click on something other than Apps in settings.

    I also notice there is no Task Manager in ICS either, unless that's apps.
     
  7. SirEagle

    SirEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    The top bar scrolls left and right, you can then click on Downloaded, Internal Storage, Running, or All. They should be in All.
     
    wildkitten likes this.
  8. dautley

    dautley VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    502
    Are you surprised? :O
     
  9. wildkitten

    wildkitten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    75
    well, I remember some saying they could be frozen when people were testing the leaks.

    Honestly, I haven't found anything that lets me Disable any apps, and under Apps in Settings all I'm seeing is Apps I myself have installed.
     
  10. DanDroide

    DanDroide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    126
    Follow SirEagle's advice to see ALL apps.

     
    wildkitten likes this.
  11. wildkitten

    wildkitten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yeah, I was scrolling in the wrong place apparently. Taking some getting used to in this UI.
     
  12. dautley

    dautley VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    502
    Some apps, not all & glad you found it! :)
     
  13. wildkitten

    wildkitten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yeah I'm actually surprised I was able to delete some of the apps I was, like Verizon Ringtones, their app store, etc. I'm going to root this weekend when I have time to sit and carefully read how to do it, and freeze some others such as the remote diagnostics.
     
  14. TexasBadger

    TexasBadger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    109
    As much as I am loving ICS on my Bionic, I am starting to find minor issues here and there. For example, my FM Radio app no longer runs. If I recall correctly, it was actually a Verizon Radio app for the Droid X but it ran just fine on my Bionic with GB.

    Does anyone have a link to a FM Radio app that will run on a Bionic with ICS?
     
  15. sinned6915

    sinned6915 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    there was another thread about this. thom little posted a link to a working radio app. i can not find right now (tapatalk search sucks)
     
  16. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,690
    Likes Received:
    4,224
  17. droidman40

    droidman40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    How do you change the choices on the lock screen so you can swipe to a different app?

    Is there a way to change back to 3g. 4g eats up my battery.

    TIA
     
  18. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    I scanned through this tread pretty fast, so I may have missed this, but...

    If you want to disable a preloaded app and it has received updates, you have to uninstall the updates before it will allow you to disable it.

    BigRedGonzo
     
    Paraflier and DanDroide like this.
  19. TexasBadger

    TexasBadger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    109
  20. wildkitten

    wildkitten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    75
    There is a way to do this, but involves dialing a special code into the dialer to access the menu. I know it's posted in one of these other 246 threads and I'll edit this post to show it if I can find it again.

    Also, supposedly there is an app that can do this as well on the Play store.
     
  21. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,690
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    I think if you check the sizes of the two files you will find they are different. The user interface appears to be the same as an older version. The "guts" have been updated.

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...