How's a non-techie to choose?

Last Updated:

1. Zilly13

Zilly13 New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi everyone,

I'm in the market for a new phone, and am feeling pretty lost based on the research I've done. I am a complete non-techie, so I'm having a hard time understanding the terminology of operating systems and updates.

Essentially, I'm looking to upgrade to either the iPhone, Droid 2, HTC Incredible or Droid X. I currently have an LG Envy (personal) and blackberry (business) so I feel like any of these options would be a huge leap for me.

My criteria for a phone are:
    - Good sound quality/good speakerphone
    - Easy to use internet for email, FB, etc
    - User-friendly keyboard (virtual or physical) for typing and txt
    - A somewhat quality camera

Since I'm a low tech user, I'm a bit nervous about getting in over my head with any of these phones that could require updates/resets, etc. I also know its a matter of personal preference on phones, and I've toyed around with all the models. I guess I feel like I need smartphones for dummies.

Any suggestions are appreciated! :)

Advertisement
  2. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

Being a technophile and IT admin, it's hard to judge what is and is not easy or obvious. Many people looking for a user-friendly experience prefer the iPhone, but I find it a bit rigid and Draconian. Android for all its advantages still is advancing incrementally at the expense of usability in some cases. Tweaking will be necessary if advanced functionality is desired.

Now to your requirements ...

The sound quality and speaker are hardware specific, so each phone will be different. And, it will depend on whether you use wired headphones or bluetooth. I've always found LG phones to excel in this area, but they lag behind the curve with keyboards.