[HOWTO] Root your Vibrant


Last Updated:

  1. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    I don't see this posted in this section of the forums yet, so I thought I'd place it here.

    If you are interested in rooting your phone, please research and read as much information as possible. The more you know, the less chance you have of ruining your phone. Rooting is very simple and for the most part, risk-free. But there is always a chance for user error, so educate yourselves!

    You are responsible for anything that happens to your phone!

    This is just a collection of links and quotes from various people over at XDA. I only place this information here for those who have A) Never even heard of XDA or B) Would rather get their information from here.

    ------------------------------------------------------

    How to Root your Samsung Vibrant:
    Credit the original author and more information found here: xda-developers - View Single Post - Root your Vibrant

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Already have Root? Recovery, Nandroid Backup, reverting to stock, etc..

    Credit the original author and more information found here: *** Tips & Tricks! *** (RBA: Read Before Asking) - xda-developers (Lots of tips & tricks)

    ------------------------------------------------------


    For more information, such as what you can and can't do with a rooted phone, please visit the above links. Remember, read read read and when you're done with that, do some more reading! You owe it to yourself if you want to keep this awesome phone working properly!

    I would link everything, but this was just to get people started on rooting the Vibrant in case they couldn't find the information themselves. Hope this helps!


    Thanks,
    Spiz
     

    Advertisement
  2. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    haha, I posted the same info in the regular vibrant section like a week ago right on dude good post!
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  3. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    Haha oops :p

    Well hopefully this will help some people. :D
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    different section no harm no foul it belongs here and I posted it before this section even existed so you can have the credit man no worries... just good to see im not the only one following up on what this phone can really do...
     
    ADTdeveloper and justjimjpc like this.
  5. BH_MAN

    BH_MAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Awe spiz, Didn't know you had the Vibrant... I'm $70 away from getting mine so I'm hoping I can add to the community shortly, nice guide btw :)
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    You are always on the cutting edge ... and a great asset to the AF community.
     
    ADTdeveloper and noonehereyet like this.
  7. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    YAY!!! Well I can't take credit for the guide.. I just linked what the good folks over at XDA posted. :p

    So glad you're going to be a Vibrant owner... you know I love your work! Is that baby here yet?!
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  8. WANdroid

    WANdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Big thanks for posting this. I'm slowly learning more and more about getting in there and messing with the guts of my android :D

    I have a question though, after I rooted I installed Titanium backup. But as soon as I try to launch it I get a force close, it allows me to give superuser permissions but then instantly force close every time. I've tried fresh reinstall and no luck. Any ideas?

    EDIT - the developer just posted an update that fixed the problem. Rock on!
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  9. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    Posted this in the regular vibrant section to in the old root thread... so anyhow I take no credit for this but if anyone is looking to root heres the one click root app... just install run the app and your rooted enjoy: http://www.mrcellphoneunlocker.com/GalaxySrooter_V3.apk
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  10. pbutterreese

    pbutterreese New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay so I definitaly did this method and its not working for me at all! WHY?????????
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  11. fencepost

    fencepost Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    There's a simpler way for the Vibrant and at least some other Galaxy S models - go to the Market and download RyanZA's One Click Lag Fix. When you run the application it'll show you the things you can do in green (including rooting the phone), and if you tap on a red item it'll show you why you can't do that.

    You don't have to actually install the lag fix - you can stop after rooting the phone with no problems.

    There's also a difficulty with the more recent batch(es) of Vibrants at least, the ones delivered starting sometime in August have the volume key combination for recovery mode disabled. If you're not able to get into recovery mode with the Vol+&Vol- keys during power-on, you may need to do it with ADB. You should be able to find more information on that on XDA, but people are still ironing out the best way to do it.
     
    ADTdeveloper and bwilliams1216 like this.
  12. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    DO NOT USE ROM MANAGER!

    Right now it's about as broken as it can possibly get, and no one is working on it to fix the bugs.

    Also, the update.zip root method seems to work for 2.1 only.
     
    cleopattra_rom and ADTdeveloper like this.
  13. fencepost

    fencepost Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can you provide a little more information on ROM Manager's broken status? Is this a new thing?
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  14. PrettiestZombie

    PrettiestZombie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    dumb question but why would you root? what does it do? not understanding the concept I guess
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  15. MalikBear

    MalikBear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    My wife has come to the decision that she would like her Vibrant rooted since i did this for my Droid X. I'm just wondering if the z4root app will work for the Vibrant as well?
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  16. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    I supposed this reply is a little late, but still..... it's broken because no one can say for certain whether a backup rom will work or not. Some people says it does, while the rest says it doesn't. So don't rely on it.

    As for Z4Root, yes it will work on Vibrant.
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  17. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Just used it..worked great
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  18. sonal2612

    sonal2612 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    hey the same thing happened to me.i rooted my phone and did one click lag fix .i also installed ext2.i wanted to upgrade to froyo .it is essential that there is no lag fix on the phone in order to update.so i undid lag fix....and i uninstalled ext2.naturally the phone became really slow.but i didnt unroot.for soem reason i had to switch off my phone.when i tried switching it back on .thats all it showed me.a blac screen and glowing buttons.i finally took it to the service centre and got it reformatted. i am stupid enough to go through the whole process again.you know unroot and OCLF.i just wanna know if this sort of thing happens again.is there some way i can reformat the phone myself without having to go to the service centre?...and why did this happen in the first place.lag fix and ext2 seems to be working perfectly for other users.is there something that im doing wrong?.please help.i have a samsung galaxy s
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  19. jgreetham

    jgreetham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    19
    I just got a new update from T-Mo. It now says 2.1-update 1. I'm still learning all the ramifications of rooting and this OCLF. Anyone know if those will work on my firmware version?
    And just for my understanding: I need to root before OCLF because it needs admin privilege to install the OCLF, right? My only other current reason to root would be to get a full backup. I don't forsee installing custom ROMs.
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  20. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    I said the same thing to myself and now look where it took me lol. I said to myself that I didnt want to install any custom roms and just wanted to root so I could do full backups and take screenshots a lot easier and now that I figured out how easy it is to install a custom rom I will never want to go back to stock again.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  21. IceAg08

    IceAg08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    I cant get to the recovery menu...Holding the volume buttons during start up just doesnt seem to work for me :(
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  22. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    You have to hold the volume buttons down before you turn it on then while doing that you hold the power button down till you see the vibrant logo then release but still holding the volume buttons down.
     
    ADTdeveloper and IceAg08 like this.
  23. IceAg08

    IceAg08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    omg I feel stupid. I've literally been trying this all day without holding down the power button too. I got this to work right after reading your post. Thank you!!:)
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  24. DrSparkey

    DrSparkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does this method of rooting work if you have the J16 update? I just got my Vibrant a few days ago and the J16 update came already installed...

    I just want to check before I root.

    Thanks,
    -Trey :)
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.
  25. dsanchez1208

    dsanchez1208 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    what does "root" suppose to do to the phone? whats "root" for? sorry, im pretty new to the vibrant ! :)
     
    ADTdeveloper likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...