HSPA 7.2 and HSPA+ planned


Last Updated:

  1. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    Didnt look like anyone else posted this news but the folks over at Tmonews have this juicy tidbit.

    T-Mobile Rolling Out HSPA 7.2 Before Years End | TmoNews - Unofficial T-Mobile Blog - News, Videos, Articles and more
    Word is HSPA 7.2 well berolled out at all 3g sites by the end of the year(Christmas present from Tmo?). Supported phones are:T-Mobile G1, T-Mobile myTouch 3G, Motorola CLIQ, Samsung Behold II, HTC Touch Pro 2, T-Mobile Dash 3G

    Hands-On With T-Mobile’s HSPA+ 21Mbps Network | TmoNews - Unofficial T-Mobile Blog - News, Videos, Articles and more
    And then HSPA+ sometime mid 2010, unless you are in one of their test sites as in the article.
     

    Advertisement
  2. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    yea this has been posted several times.. it is good news indeed!
     
  3. Markdental

    Markdental Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's hard to believe, but how will we know if this has happened?

    I am guessing a huge announcement and then a quick lawsuit against ATT for their then false "Fastest 3G network" claim.
     
  4. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm pretty sure T-Mobile as of now HAS the fastest 3G network so at&t can suck on their stubs...
     
  5. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    but less of a coverae area
     
  6. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    True but I'd say a much higher quality coverage area.
     
  7. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    is this supposed to be tmobiles answer to 4g? why dont they concentrate on expanding 3g instead
     
  8. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    Technically HSPA anything is 3G so I don't understand what you mean with that post. There only going to increase 3G with HSPA 7.2. Instead of uprgrading towers to raw UMTS they will just go straight to HSPA 7.2.
     
  9. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    ok, im lost...lmao
     
  10. realsickclown

    realsickclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    What he is saying is the new network will lay on top of old it should just mesh right in and boost eveybodys signal and become stable network, somebody correct me if I am wrong.
     
  11. realsickclown

    realsickclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I can say this morning christmas day I do have a full 3G signal and never have till today
     
  12. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    They are expanding on 3g. As for 4g, I hear Tmo does have plans but are farther out. Also besides the usb dongles, no phone has LTE(4g) support, and I havent heard of any in the pipeline.

    And yes HSPA 7.2 is just an upgrade that they will turn on and all 3g sites will get a boost in download speed.
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    this is supposed to take plac e before the 1st of the year. anyone see any differences yet? how would you be able to tell, just by a speed difference?
     
  14. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I finally got my Nokia N900 (supports up to 10Mb download on HSPA/HSPA+), and got a chance to get up to Philly's 7Mb network. In one area of the city, I was able to get 2.9Mb down and 1.8Mb up, vs. the 600Kb - 900Kb here outside of Baltimore. This was on the $10/mo "Shadow/web2go" plan (I think they are pretty much all the same), via the Internet2.voicestream.com APN. Unfortunately, speedtest.net reports me/my gateway as being in "Kansas". :mad:

    I just switched to the $24/mo. "Smartphone plan", and while now all (3) APNs work (epc.tmobile.com, Internet2.voicestream.com, and wap.voicestream.com), I see no performance gain in my area.

    FWIW, I was looking at getting a Milestone but no US 3G support supposedly...maybe on Canadian version.
     
  15. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    You should see even faster data rates than that!. Also canadian version of the milestone will support 1900/850 UMTS so it will work on at&t but as for t mobile I don't see 1700mhz support in the future....
     
  16. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    We get screwed all kinds of ways up here but we do get one thing, speed. I haven't quite managed the theoretical 7.2 but I can get >5 on a regular basis depending on location.

    [​IMG]

    :p
     
  17. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Yeah, I was just driving "at night" thru the city to get to my dad's...kinda hard to drive in Philly and kick off speed tests. :p I didn't spend much time there, but from what I understand, its not the whole city that has the 7Mb upgrade yet, only sections. Its still higher than what I was able to pull anywhere in Maryland/VA yet.

    I'm kinda torn about going to AT&T, service has been good though, with my Motorola Q...I just really want to cut back on costs right now. I have way to many communication/media accounts.
     
  18. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    im in kissimee florida and i am getting 949 kbps upload and 396 download.. not bad i guess.
     
  19. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    That's what I'm getting in Maryland via www.speakeasy.net/speedtest

    I get between 550Kb - 900Kb via speedtest.net, which has my traffic as coming out of New Jersey somewhere.
     
  20. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    Man I wish I could get those great speeds. My area is "supposedly" 3G (while I still only get GPRS in some of the areas their map shows should be 3G). The best I pulled down was around 680kbps once.

    Anyone know if T-mobile supports GPRS Class A at least? Getting my N900 tomorrow and that would allow voice/data simultaneously still if T-mobile's network supported it.
     
  21. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    wow, after being spoiled with 5-10 times the averages I'm seeing here it would be hard to get used to those "3G" speeds. Granted that 1+M is decent for a phone but 5+ is even better. :)
     
  22. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    I'm doing 3G voice and 3.5G data, at the same time, on my 900, w/T-Mo's $10/mo. "web2go" plan.
     
  23. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    ^that would be VoIP. :) yeah, no reason to wait for super speeds to do VoIP. 3G is more than enough for an 80kbs signal. latency and stability well that's another question.
     
  24. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    I'm jealous. We don't have 3G coverage all over my city yet...Even when I put in specific addresses on T-mobile's coverage map it shows that is in the center of 3G and there isn't actually 3G service there. Guessing the map shows "soon to be live" coverage instead.
     
  25. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Especially since VoIP calls can be made at less than "30kbs"...but I've been seeing latency as high as 140ms at minimum. Skype "PSTN" calls have been working ok though. $3/mo for integrated Skype "Unlimited Minutes" beats the extra $20/mo I'd have to pay T-Mo. I just wish I could get my Vonage or Vonage Companion account to work via the SIP client, instead of just my Vonage Softphone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...