HSPA 7.2 Now Offical


Last Updated:

  1. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43

    Advertisement
  2. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    Ok just ran a test from mobilespeedtest.com(NOTE: I was outside to ensure I had full bars).

    The basic test that first runs I get about 800kbps, not bad really, but the high speed kicks in on the 7mb test.

    [​IMG]
    San Antonio, TX

    So I would have to say this only benefits things like YouTube or Pandora and other data intensive activities. Dont expect your web browsing to be come instantaneous.

    Ran the 7mb test again from inside my office where bars vary(one or two, three if i'm good), I got an avg of 3212kbps, still not bad.
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Washington DC upgraded...I'm not seeing an improvement, further north along I-95, despite full bars 3.5G coverage. Sunday's "carrier update" for WAP settings did not help. Using the newly installed proxy addres did not help either, though speedtest.net shows my location and test server being correct, instead of being in New Jersey (epc APN) or Kansas (Internet2 APN).

    The wait continues.
     
  4. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I dont trust speedtest as I dont know what size of data they are using. And I doubt any change in your apn settings is going to do anything, HSPA deals with the wireless signal tech, not what server things are routed through.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    APN has a lot to do with it if its routing your data halfway accross country, through a proxy/firewall/gateways/etc., and your latency goes from 150ms to 290ms.

    When in Philadelphia, I got 2.9Mb (known 7Mb area for T-Mo) via speedtest.net and www.speakeasy.net/speedtest. When connected to my FIOS and Comcast circuits via WiFi, data speeds are accurate as well. Doing a 5MB test on mobilespeedtest.com I do get 2.7Mb, though much less on smaller files.
     
  6. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    There is some truth to that but as far as I know all smartphones go to the same apn(epc.tmobile.com). So unless they do some routing in the region to a local server instead of everything to homebase(I dont know if they do, anyone with a rooted android phone wanna run nslookup epc.tmobile.com?), switching network settings as you've said isnt going to get you much. Also who knows what different things go on for each anp(smartphone vs tzones apn). So if you have a smartphone I'd say stick with the apn tmobile gave you. And dont forget to reboot.
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Fair enough, but my SIM came from T-Mobile with Internet2.voicestream.com APN, $10/mo on T-Mo Shadow "web2go" plan. I started with T-Mo last month with "Standalone SIM card" order. That APN was good for 3Mb in Philly, but I may have not been in the 7Mb area. A few miles further north, near city limits, I was only getting 1Mb. Data was routing through somewhere in midwest.

    I called T-Mo about APN routing issue, was told I should be using epc.tmobile.com (they bumped me to smartphone plan @ $25/mo). But when the account was changed, I was able to access all (3) APNs, though epc still had me as being in "New Jersey"? I was also told that the Internet2 APN was "newer" and "less used", FWIW, but again, tech said that I "should be using epc". Prior to tech switching my plan, I was not able to even connect to epc.

    Sunday's OTA update still had me on epc, but now I'm being shown as being in Maryland, and test server in Washington DC, vs. Philadelphia the day before.

    Someone's test for DC area:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    One thing I noticed with using speedtest's app on my android phone is that even though it may select the "closest" server, i've found not all servers are created equal. So I'd say try out mobilespeedtest.com(2mb test or higher)

    As for the apn fun you've been having, if tmobile doesnt give you access, you cant get to epc, thats why it didnt work until the tech set it up and pushed the settings to you. And I suppose the old ones still work either because are are in a higher tier or whatever provisioning system they use doesnt take you out of the old apns, simply adds to the list you can use. But yes I would probably believe the tech on this and use the epc apn
     
  9. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Right...numerous factors will affect results on different server, as well as the spotty performance of running Flash on my phone. But by continuing to use speedtest's sites (both web pages), I can evaluate against an established baseline.
     
  10. Mastermind278

    Mastermind278 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    97
    It seems that there has been an upgrade. Not sure about the accuracy though.
    Here are a few screenshots from the speedtests I did.
    [​IMG]
    The above test I chose 3G from the iphone dslr.net test.


    [​IMG]
    This speedtest was done with the speedtest.net app from the AppMarket. This App gives close to accurate speeds when on Wifi. If this is the new speed with the HSPDA 7.2 then it hasn't been much of an upgrade.


    [​IMG]
    This one is from Wifi test on dslr.net iphone test. (This is accurate when I am connected via Wifi, however it is giving a nicer faster result than the others, that speed is recorded via 3G though).


    Edit: Just tried with mobilespeedtest.com with the 2MB file.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    If you were getting 2.xMb a month ago with T-Mo, and still getting the same, you may be like me and just not getting the speeds yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...