HTC Being replace tomorrow - NEED URGENT HELP!


Last Updated:

  1. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys,

    i'm getting my HTC Hero replaced by orange due to poor reception problems. The handset delivery will be tomorrow morning and i need to have this handset ready for the courier to pick up.

    Now since i've had this handset, i've been adding all sorts of music, apps and games and most importantly my calendar and contacts. I've also been altering my contacts and calendar adding/deleting stuff.

    I don't want to have to do everything again and want to backup as much stuff as i can.

    My question is that i know how to transfer from outlook to hero, but how do i transfer/backup the calendar and contacts on htc to my computer?

    thanks again
     

    Advertisement
  2. ken-doh

    ken-doh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    sync with outlook to backup your contacts.

    kiss the rest of it good bye. dont forget to copy everything off your SD Card then format it, then copy 2gb of junk onto it, then format it again if its private stuff. then factory reset the phone.
     
  3. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    what about the calendar mate? can i sync that too with outlook?
     
  4. ken-doh

    ken-doh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep
     
  5. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank u ken. FYI I'm using my 7 day guarantee to send HTC back as it has serious signal issues. I don't know if this will fix the problem, but from looking at many posts, it most likely won't. If thats the case, i may have to change the phone as i need it to make calls and signal quality is a necessity for me.

    Ok here is the issue...As already mentioned, orange are sending me a replacement which comes tomorrow. I'm wondering if i can update the radio on my orange firmware (without rooting or changing firmware) on the current hero i have, so that i can test in theory if i will have improved signal. If this is possible, then pls tell me ASAP:-

    1. How to do this, preferably without damaging the phone
    2. What is the latest firmware

    Here are details of the hero..pls let me know if u need any other info:-

    firmware version: 1.5
    Baseband version: 63.18.55.06EU_6.36.06.18
    kernel version: 2.6.27-8dd6deee
    Build version: 2.73.61.5 146733
    Software version: 1.0.0.A6288
    Signal strength: -109dBm 9asu

    thank you very much
     
  6. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    You have the latest version of the firmware already
     
  7. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahh hello again video mate...i've read on other forums that there are radio rom updates which improve the reception and i thought that if i'm gonna give this phone back tomorrow and get a replacement, i might as well give it a shot to see if i can improve the reception by updating radio rom.
     
  8. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    As far as I know, you can't do anything firmware or radio wise without rooting the phone, and the official update contains the latest radio from Orange.
     
  9. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone posted this:-

    from the above, i'm not sure if that procedure involves rooting.
     
  10. Julian_Sprite

    Julian_Sprite Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi HTCHero123,

    Try Sprite Backup, it backs up and restores your Contacts, Calendar and a whole lot more, it also won't break your sync connections

    A shameless plug from one of the Sprite Team,

    Many thanks

    Julian
     
  11. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks julian, but its sorted as i backed up everything manually before ur reply.
     

Share This Page

Loading...