HTC Browser Closing w/ .6 FroYo


Last Updated:

  1. jdjmad

    jdjmad Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is anyone having issues loading web pages with the default evo browser? Since the FroYo update, I can only use dolphin hd. Is anyone else having this problem?
     

    Advertisement
  2. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28
    hold on i got a fix for you to try let me get the site
     
  3. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28
    jdjmad likes this.
  4. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    Maybe you should have updated the .3 build? I haven't had this issue......lol

    You new adopters need to thank us as this is the same build with the same issues but we already found the fixes for you!
     
    GaryColeman likes this.
  5. ed33433

    ed33433 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    No.
     
  6. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    103
    Also do this:

    Menu -> Settings -> Enable Plug-ins -> Switch to On Demand.

    Should make it faster, smoother, less problems.
     
  7. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28
    i had teh problem on the "unoffical" .3 my browser kept crashing/closing.... it was a flash issue that file fixed it though
     
  8. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    that turns off flash so if it is the flash problem it might still happen if they try to load the flash
     
  9. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    What it does is let you load the flash item you want instead of throwing everything at it at once.
     
  10. VGPOP

    VGPOP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    64
    For me that's not a solution because it takes away flash content, unless you explicitly click on it. Also, you get those green upside down arrows in place for flash content. (ugly for me)

    What I did was a hard reset and that fixed problem for me.

    I now can go to any website, have the plug-in ALWAYS ON, and when I visit a website with flash content I view the way it was intended for the user.

    Why remove this feature if this takes away what flash 10.1 can do? Flash light can do it as well.

    I love those flashy content on my phone and it STILL runs smooth and fast.

    Just my .02 cents
     
  11. jdjmad

    jdjmad Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
  12. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28
  13. Lorak

    Lorak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    62
    Its just preference. I'd rather load the web page a lot faster and click on what I want to view.
     
  14. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    i tried out stub hub and the flash was painfully slow
     
  15. mak916

    mak916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    291
    This worked for me after I installed the Adobe apk.
     
  16. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    is that from the market?

    now try running some of the flash and see if it crashes
     
  17. mrrob

    mrrob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    the HTC browser was crashing whenever I would visit a page with Flash. I reinstalled the Flash player from the XDA dudes and all is well again.
     
  18. mak916

    mak916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    291
    I used the app from the link above. The XDA link.
     
  19. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28
    ah.... kool, so that got you all stright too?
     
  20. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    glad to hear
     
  21. kingtheproducer

    kingtheproducer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have the same problem and it wont let me uninstall the flash. Help?
     
  22. stonemsmj23

    stonemsmj23 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    adode worked for me, thanks man!
     
  23. x081967

    x081967 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same problem for me. My browser was crashing after Froyo and I downloaded the suggested apk (above) but when I go to install it, it looks like it's already installed. and when I click to uninstall, it says it's unable.
     
  24. vblick

    vblick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    7
    Had the same problem. I just gave up and did a hard reset. All is well now. Appbrain has all my apps and gmail has all my contacts. SD card is not erased during this process. Really just had to download task manager and startup cleaner 2.0 and reset my progs.

    Honestly - i downloaded a bunch of stuff when i first got the phone. Needed to clean house.
     

Share This Page

Loading...