HTC CEO InterviewGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. vjetti

    vjetti Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    So there's an interview with the HTC CEO Peter Chou during the All Things Digital Conference.. D8 Liveblog: Peter Chou, HTC CEO | D8 Conference | AllThingsD

    One thing he said is just not true (yet) and made me :mad:.

    Chou: Well, what we do is try to add value on top of Android and Windows. HTC Sense focuses on things like the social networking experience. Our philosophy is that we don
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ovy

    Ovy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    19
     
  3. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    wait what? you can turn off sense? do tell my friend do tell
     
  4. milnivlek

    milnivlek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, the question to him was "So you can take HTC software off these phones?" So maybe the CEO meant that, yes, HTC can take the software off when they want to. But of course the average consumer doesn't have that option yet (without root access).
     
  5. sheepforwheat

    sheepforwheat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    17
    on droid incredible you can't turn off sense.

    I think what the CEO meant was that you don't have to use the HTC widgets if you don't want.

    His ignorance of the fact that HTC Sense is contributing to fragmentation is frustrating to me.
     
  6. pardonmyfreedom

    pardonmyfreedom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    99
    I really wish people would stop saying this, because it's not true. There are many of us who turned off Sense long ago. Now, the rumor was started because the Incredible does not include the default Android Launcher. However, you can manually install it (or any other launcher, I recommend LauncherPro) and disable Sense as your default launcher.
     
  7. ttamnedlog

    ttamnedlog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    55
    Well you can use a home launcher replacement that effectively disables Sense on the phone. UI, widgets, the whole 9 yards.
     
  8. Bing

    Bing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    25
    If you disable the Sense UI in this way, is that enough to get a Wiimote to connect? I know the CCP Wiimote app says it doesn't work with the Sense UI.
     
  9. vjetti

    vjetti Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Woah no idea I could disable Sense like that. I guess it isn't a route that many HTC users have taken? Might try it out just to see..
     
  10. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    144
    We cannot turn off HTC Sense on Incredible, but EVO can.
     
  11. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    HTC didn't take that off, VZW did.

    VZW decided to take off the default launcher AND a few Sense apps and widgets, i.e. news.

    Sorry :( One we have root we can push it right to the phone.
     
  12. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Yeah Verizon pretty much always has to add there touch to phones .
    I can't wait to dump sense, although I notice running LauncherPro that Sense isn't running in the background like it use to when I was running diffrent UIs with my Eris. But still there are so many useless programs I want to take off and some that I've replaced so noneed for two apps that do the same thing
     
  13. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    OH yeah ? How about some links that tells us how? :confused:
     
  14. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    85
    1. Market
    2. Install launcher pro, gde, or adw.launcher (my pref)
    3. Go to applications > manage > htc sense
    4. Clear defaults
    5. Press home button
    6. select installed launcher
    7. Open desired app killer and kill htc sense
    8. Celebrate, you now have choice unlike other market leaders in phones

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
    Fatso Jetson likes this.
  15. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    save some steps by installing home switcher
     
  16. Mudavo

    Mudavo Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried home switcher. Wouldn't let me change the default home app.
     
  17. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    it has never failed me...try a reboot

    o...and make sure you have another home replacement installed...
     
  18. DirtDiver

    DirtDiver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is anybody else unable to find ADW.Launcher on the app store?
     
  19. patkicks10

    patkicks10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    9
  20. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    I'll check it out thanks:)
     
  21. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    I'll check that out also. Thanks

    I get the feeling I'm going to have a new hobby/addiction

    I get the phone Monday and I'm stepping up from an old LG vx8600 flip phone.:eek: Oh what a phone! It had a 1 sq in screen, Great for surfing porn....(and it wasn't even an Android phone) It played music but requried a jack no one in the world sold but Verizon for about a million $$$. Oh and special software to transfer the music. #$%#@

    Any way do you think I'll notice a difference?:rolleyes:

    I love to monkey with my PC constantly and I have a feeling I'm getting a new PC. :D
     
  22. Outatime

    Outatime Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    651
    This is the first person that understands how this works. The CARRIER approves and controls what software is on your phone.
     
  23. j-money

    j-money Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    So i downloaded the adw launcher from the above link. How do i install it? tried and tried but im missing somthing lol.

    I have it on sd card in both .zip and extracted but cannot work out how to install.

    It looks awesome tho and id love to get it goin.

    Help a brother out anyone????
     
  24. dB Zac

    dB Zac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    10
    none of this would work for the vanilla android launcher
     
  25. dB Zac

    dB Zac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    10
    the bottom line is you can NOT "remove" any of the HTC software as of yet and you most likely will never officially be able to. So what he said with the words he chose is wrong. You can read into it but the fact is he miss spoke. Now He vary well may have meant you don't have to use the software but we will never know because that's not what he said.
     

Share This Page

Loading...