HTC conflicts with network drives


Last Updated:

  1. smelly

    smelly New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do... Hope this isn't too much of a newb question, I've searched around the first few pages of the forum and can't spot an answer; the search facility seems reluctant also, either way here goes...

    I'm trying to sync my HTC G2 Touch at work however if I switch it on while tethered it grabs the F:/ which is somewhat inconvenient at that's our main data drive on the network.

    If I try to get into control panel to hunt for a drive allocation and check the I/O etc it just hangs.

    We're running a fully updated XP pro.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Merago

    Merago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you right-click on My Computer and choose Manage, you'll enter the Computer Management console. From there, there should be a Disk Management section. If you open it, you'll see a list of drives and their relevant drive letters. Right click on the drive you want to change and choose Change Drive Letter and Paths... and you should be able to change the drive letter.
    Let me know if that helps.
     
  3. smelly

    smelly New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The first time I attempt to tether it with a plan of action it just works... Hows that for a "taking it to the shop" fix...

    i suspect Norton may be half the problem so I'll have to wait until a convenient re-start, maybe tomorrow. Watch this space.

    Cheers again.
     
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    It usually is - that's why i got rid of it years ago
     
  5. sirencio

    sirencio Guest

    I'm having a similar problem, running an HTC Incredible. When I mount it as a disk drive at home, I can see the phone memory and the SD card as removable drives. At work, I can only see the phone memory UNLESS I disconnect from the G drive on our network.

    Is there a way to get my phone to give the SD memory a different drive letter, or am I going to have to disconnect the G drive every time?
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    It's the host OS that assigns the drive letter not the handset, and for some reason your work PC isn't doing what it should and assigning the mounted drive the next available letter. This may be locked down in Group Policies by your sysadmins; if you insert a USB memory stick is it correctly mounted with a usable drive letter?
     
  7. sirencio

    sirencio Guest

    Yeah, it shows up as E or F, which are the next available. The problem is that with the Incredible, there's actually three drives that mount when you plug it in as a disk drive. Some Verizon drive, the phone storage... and the SD card would be G, which is where the network drives are blocking the mount.
     
  8. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    You can change the drive letter manually, e.g. in windows XP:

    control panel -> aministrative tools -> computer management -> storage -> disk management

    Right click on the device and choose 'change drive letters and paths'

    Windows should recognise the device each time you plug it in and assign it the same drive letter. Also, you can use A: and B: if you dont have any floppy disk drives (remember them?) in your PC.

    Edit: in other words, what merago already said :)
     
    sirencio likes this.
  9. sirencio

    sirencio Guest

    Great! I changed the letter of the SD storage, and it came back up as that new letter after a disconnect/reconnect.
     

Share This Page

Loading...