HTC Desire Network Branding


Last Updated:

  1. Scotty229

    Scotty229 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    i wasn't too sure where to post this, (in here or in the t-mobile thread) i'm looking at setting up a contract with t-mobile to get a HTC desire, i was just wondering if the UK t-mobile phones have a lot of branding built into the software, i know that there will be some t-mobile wallpapers and ringtones, but does the phone lose any functions because of any branding? i don't know how to describe what i mean, they might use a special t-mobile internet browser or a t-mobile e-mail app and get rid of the normal HTC apps? i hope you know what i mean because i'm sort of confusing myself right now!! :confused:

    Scotty
     

    Advertisement
  2. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    57
    Nah, everything is done by HTC/Android. Phone companies don't do that sort of thing.
     
  3. lukeyboymac

    lukeyboymac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well they used to but yeah, the T-mobile version has a start up splash screen and that is pretty much that...
     
  4. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    57
    Yeah, a startup screen has been standard for years on almost all phones.
     
  5. Scotty229

    Scotty229 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    good good!! i wasn't sure if any phone network would rip the phone to shreds and fill it with their own software and stuff!! anyway, i'm off to order my Desire right now!! :D
     
  6. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    57
    It's only Apple who are planning to do that. They patented an idea for adverts that force you to notice them and if you don't they lock up the phone. Fun times.

    Excellent choice of phone by the way. Mine should come tomorrow I hope.
     
  7. twist123

    twist123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Actually the G2 Touch (aka Hero) has a custom T-mobile FW.
     
  8. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    57
    What sort of FW? Does it interfere with the Sense UI?
     
  9. twist123

    twist123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    No Sense is normal but I think it messes with the radio signal (3G etc). on a large portion of the phones. As people that were installing HTCs own FW were having better results.
     
  10. rhodzy

    rhodzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm hoping that mine doesnt come with any sort of branding on, getting the HTC Desire delivered today on Vodafone UK.

    I know there is no branding on the case its self but unsure about the firmware.

    I have had quite a few phones from Tmobile UK and none of them have ever had any branding on them, not even in the firmware.
     
  11. Lukehluke

    Lukehluke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    24
    Its pretty much just a splash screen that is branded.
     
  12. Jack10

    Jack10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    *cough* Orange
     
  13. petergriffin

    petergriffin Guest

    Do Orange still do that stupid sidebar that they used to stick on phones like the Treo and the D500?
     

Share This Page

Loading...