HTC Desire - Orange branded, need to unroot?


Last Updated:

  1. Dezzer

    Dezzer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    I've been looking through this forum for a while now as i wanted to find a way of getting rid of the bloatware on my Orange Desire.

    I decided to try "Rooting" and used the Unrevoked 3.1 method which seemd to work as i have a new "app" called "Superuser".

    However, i have now developed cold feet as i don't understand what a nandroid backup is and i can't find a definitive answer on whether i need to:

    A) Unlock the phone first cos it's Orange?
    B) Create a 'Goldcard'?
    C) Simply flash a custom ROM like the stock Froyo 2.2 or something from MoCado?
    D) or leave well alone cos it's way too risky of becoming an Orange brick.

    Therefore i'd like to know if i can return the phone to it's original pre rooted state?

    Is there a way that was as simple as rooting it using Unrevoked?

    Many thanks for your help!

    Dezzer :confused:

    HTC Desire
     

    Advertisement
  2. Caspa

    Caspa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    No need to unlock unless you wish to use a non Orange sim card...

    Yes, you will need to create a Goldcard if you wish to put another ROM on the handset - this goes for the generic HTC ROM as well as all the custom ROM's out there...

    You can do that or just flash the generic HTC ROM so you simply get rid of all the Orange crap...

    Chances of bricking it are pretty low now as rooting has matured on the Desire now, I bricked my Orange one when it was first release but got a replacement from them...

    Havent bothered rooting as yet as there isnt the same need as there was with the Hero (in terms of actual performance), not that bothered about the other benefits such as A2SD so have just debranded and am running the generic HTC ROM...

    You can debrand using this guide;

    Updating to 1.15.405.4 / Generic'ifying your T-Mo handset - Android @ MoDaCo

    One thing to note, if you do the above then make sure you dont accept the OTA firmware update from HTC once completed - it updates the radio image which causes the Orange handsets to lock and require an unlock code from one of the various websites that offer the service...

    I'm now patiently waiting for the release of Froyo, and again it will be the generic version I use - not the Orange bloatware!
     
    Dezzer likes this.
  3. Dezzer

    Dezzer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Caspa

    Caspa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    As far as I am aware, that method simply gives you root access. The Goldcard is required on our handsets if you wish to put another ROM on - it basically tricks the software into thinking you have a different CID - i.e. a generic one that allows the ROM you are trying to install to actually install!

    In terms of risk free, the guide I posted to debrand is fool proof. You just need to create the Goldcard and then you are using the standard RUU from HTC which cant go wrong unlike flashing an update.zip from the recovery menu...

    But if its Froyo you want, then you definately need to go head strong into rooting - I would recommend all of Paul's work over at Modaco, cant be beat to be honest...
     
  5. laney88

    laney88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive tried about 3 times now and each time it starts the de-branding after about 2 minutes or so I get an error saying that my phone is not connected via USB. I can get onto the phone using the usb cable so I know it is still working.

    Any thoughts?
     
  6. azz

    azz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    20
    have you got debugging ticked mate? that might work. check usb data settings there will be an option to tick for debugging. also you might need to install htc synch drivers from their website.
     
  7. laney88

    laney88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep debugging is ticked and I've tried Installing HTC sync multiple times now as the adb driver doesn't install properly with windows 7. I finally got the driver installed yesterday when I installed sync from my SD card but seems its stopped working again and now wont install :/
     
  8. azz

    azz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    20
    uninstall it mate, then go to htc website and install this: HTC Desire - Software Download . then try it. i had problems with connections until i got this. :)
     
  9. laney88

    laney88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers azz, il try that later when I get up :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...