• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help HTC Desire Z (G2) 2.2.1

Hi all,

I am not very technical and my knowledge of updates and common bugs is lacking so I was wondering if I could get some help.

I am from the UK. My HTC Desire Z (G2 in the US) received an update on xmas day. Below is some current phone info:

Android Version: 2.2.1
Software Number: 1.72.405.2

I have experienced some slow down and crashing of apps but mainly the following problem...

When receiving text messages, around 50% of the time, my phone does not tell me I have a new message unless I physically go into my messages folder.

On other instances if I have received a message, going into the messages folder does not delete the message icon from the top notifications bar. I then have to physically drag down the notifications bar and select to read the message again from here in order to get rid of the message icon.

Does any know any fixes?
Or am I able to revert back to before this update was installed?

Thanks for any help that anyone may be able to provide.

Hi there, got the exact same phone and problem. The text message won't make a notification unless the person texts twice, or i have to go in my inbox to check, annoying since the update.

Trying to see if its possible to restore the phone to its default state since this update seems to have a bug. :(

Upvote 0
I'm not experiencing all your problems. But I have had the problem of when reading a SMS from the messages folder, the notification stays int he notification bar. This isnt ALL the time. But it's happened enough to make me realise.
I'm not experiencing any issues with crashing apps.