htc droid eris music skipsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. rawrdinosaur18

    rawrdinosaur18 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone having this issue? i'll put on my earphones, turn on the music and lock the screen, put the phone in my pocket and start walking to class. next thing you know the music starts skipping and fast forwarding, so i'll grab out my phone to unlock the screen and see that my music playlist is changing songs by itself. i really have no idea why it does this...it's so annoying.
     

    Advertisement
  2. DigitalMD

    DigitalMD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    I;ve had the Eris for 3 months. Never have any problems with the music.
    Are you using a headphone with a switch? Which media player are you using?
    Are you listening to Pandora or mp3?
     
  3. textstev

    textstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had this happen when I had it plugged in my computer playing directly from my phone while also directly downloading stuff onto the phone. The song would skip. When the download finished, it played fine. If it is a big song or a badly formated (iTunes?!), that might cause it as well. Really I have no idea.
     
  4. alexv

    alexv Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive had this same problem.... unfortunately i haven't figured it out yet. i've been half-heartedly looking for a new music player app or something like that. if i come across something i will let you know
     
  5. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    tunewiki FTW!! :)
     
  6. cmccmc

    cmccmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this happen in the stock music player and Meridian. I suspect one of the MP3's caused them to go haywire. Don't really know though, just a feeling...
     
  7. Timber

    Timber New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    it seems that it puts music controls on the lock screen, which sucks bad. You "lock" the screen and put it in your pocket and the controls activate randomly. Any way to really lock the screen so this doesn't happen?

    Tim
     
  8. refthemc

    refthemc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    It happened to me, I got irritated, then I just installed the Default Android 2.1 Music app. Haven't had problems since, but now I don't have my lockscreen music controls :( lol
     
  9. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think you are just really ,REALLY happy to be going to school . np
     
  10. Ricogrande

    Ricogrande New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this problem for the first time today and figured out that when i twisted the headphone connector while it was in the phone. Still don't know what the exact cause of it is but it is really annoying.
     
  11. n2imagination

    n2imagination Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hey all... This issue was discussed in a thread a while back. Not really sure where but I remember seeing it after I had the same problem. It has to do with the mini jack. Some mini jacks (supposedly the cheaper ones) are not spaced exactly perfect and thus cause the playback functions to go crazy. To test it out replace the headphones, extension, etc that is going haywire with one you know to work properly then continue the same song. Problem should not repeat itself if this is the case. I have I have had the problem mostly with the m/m extensions and not so much with headphones. I did have one real cheap backup set of coby headphones do it though when I forgot my primary soniks and those where in the glove box.
     
  12. gsnider

    gsnider Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    This happens to me all the time with my headphones and my patch cord to my car. The headphones are sennheisers so I would think that they don't use a cheap jack. Just upgraded to 2.1 root today so I'm crossing my fingers that this won't happen anymore.
     
  13. bowerman

    bowerman Guest

    I've had this issue also.
     
  14. blaqkdiamond

    blaqkdiamond New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    THis actually has nothing to do with the headphones/music controls if I'm having the same problem. MIne does it on loud speaker while sitting on the counter. ANd it does it on stock music player and others I have dl. Not sure as to why. Yet though.:confused:
     
  15. 0wrx2

    0wrx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    i too have the same problem. i know its not because the lock screen controls are getting hit in my pocket because it will do it sitting on a table. i noticed that when i use a cheap patch cord to run audio to mixer it will skip, fast forward, change songs, but when i plug in my bose headphones i dont ever see the problem.

    its definitely a spec/quality issue with some plugs i would guess.
     
  16. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    I have it too on Eris and incredible so I assumed it was software but sounds like maybe its the htc earphone Jack. Headphones rarely do it but plugged into pc speaker does it most often. Guess ill try to use an adapter or something in between problem cords. Music player probably won't help this happens to me with stock player and slacker
     
  17. 0wrx2

    0wrx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    sometimes too, i noticed that around the same time its about to skip the headphone icon will change to headphones with a microphone boom.
     
  18. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Yes yes i forgot about that. Same thing here on both Eris and Dinc
     
  19. Rrrracer

    Rrrracer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    246
    Same problem here. I was hoping to be able to use my Eris in place of my old 3G Nano when practicing drums, but it skips with the headphones in after a while.
     
  20. 0wrx2

    0wrx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    high fives for drummers :cool:
     
    Rrrracer likes this.
  21. x531x

    x531x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yup ive had that problem but not anymore! Its quite annoying.
     
  22. angrytoes

    angrytoes New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just got my eris about 2 weeks ago, i was having this problem trying to listen to pandora at work wearing my earbuds. i just went out and bought a pair of skullcandy ink'd earbuds with a gold plated 3.5mm jack. the microphone symbol went away immediately. i am thinking it has to do with the gold plating on the jack. i havent tried them at work yet but i will be going in about an hour. i will give you all an update when i get home from work. cross your fingers XD
     
  23. angrytoes

    angrytoes New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm updating this after 6 hours of use. works beautifully. For some reason I had to shut off the wifi and the skipping just went away. Gold 3.5mm jack and shut off the WiFi and your good to go
     
  24. bsutton1

    bsutton1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had the same problem with the "3" cube player. I switched back to Mixzing and it's working fine.
     
  25. JDKirby

    JDKirby New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue with my Droid X Android Version 2.2.1. It doesn't seem to be a headphone connector problem, as I just purchased a new pair of
    Altec Lansing Bluetooth headphones and I have the same problem as I did with the corded headphones. Still trying to figure this one out as sometimes they work great, but others it's terrible skipping, especially when I place it in my pocket while just walking.
     

Share This Page

Loading...