HTC EVO as a navigation device.


Last Updated:

  1. odror

    odror New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is my understanding that the EVO has a built-in GPS. I will be going soon to Europe. Can I use it their as a Navigation device (not as a phone, I Know that the phone will not work). If it can be used as a navigation device, can I use the existing app. (Navigator) Where can I get European maps for it.

    Will 3G work in Europe?

    -Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    Hi,
    why your phone will not work in Europe? If you dont' have roaming enabled, 3G will also not work. 3G coverage is not wide in Europe (mostly just bigger cities are covered), but for GoogleMaps Edge is enough, so it can be used without problems. But be careful, roaming data (and also calls) are mostly f***ing overpriced. If you don't (can't) use 3G, you can buy navigation with maps stored on SD, there are few (I'm using Sygic mobile maps or Ndrive) which works really good, price for full Europe ist about 75 USD. Most countries are covered good in this navigations (except southeast part like most of former Yugoslavia or Romania - in these countries normally just transit roard are covered, Iceland is not covered at all in all navigations).
     
  3. sifi

    sifi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    I don't know about the rest of Europe but the UK has very good 3g coverage.
     
  4. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    Sorry, wrong topic, my missunderstanding of previous message:mad:
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    Well, for one thing the EVO is CDMA.

    Again, the EVO is CDMA. You can't just read "3G" and run with it. The network (CDMA vs GSM) and specific frequencies matter.

    I don't know a thing about the EVO or its stock apps but, regardless of device, if you need GPS navigation without data coverage then you need a GPS nav app that stores maps on the microSD card (such as CoPilot).
     
  6. odror

    odror New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there and IGO app for the android. Are the maps for IGO in the same format as the maps for CoPilot.

    I am confused will 3G (on CDMA phone) work in Europe. If it does does anyone have an estimate on the roaming charges.

    -Thanks
     
  7. Starfleet Captain

    Starfleet Captain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    13
    WOW dude: I guess you don't know much about cell phone tech. That's OK. Neither do I, but I do know enough to answer your question.

    The answer is NO. That's the plain and simple answer. You will not be able to used Google or Sprint Navigator in Europe. The reason being is that the EVO (like all other Sprint phones) uses a cell technology called CDMA. This is also the same tech that that Sprint's 3G uses for data. Since CDMA technology is not widespread in Europe, the phone will not work. The GPS apps on the phone also uses data (Which the phone gets off of Sprints 3G CDMA or 4G WiMax network) to download the map of the area you need to navigate. Thats why it will not work.

    Here's a possible workaround:

    Find a hotspot in Europe. They are ripe with them in a bunch oe cafe's. Use your evo to connect to the WiFi network. In theory, you should be able to use Google maps to give you directions to where you need to go. The Turn by turn navigator will be useless, but you can map your route and study the directions before your trips via a wifi cafe --- In theory :) Hope that helps.
     
  8. odror

    odror New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there a way/workaround to preload all the maps in advance. That is plan a rout and preload all the maps.
     
  9. nomisunrider

    nomisunrider Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    CoPilot's worked well for me on a Nexus One whilst travelling. I believe they do a 'Western Europe' edition, or you can buy the maps for countries individually (which works out more expensively).

    I'm based in the UK and use CoPilot UK edition, but bought and downloaded the Spanish maps for a recent trip. Once in Spain I switched data region in the Copilot app (which requires a restart) and then used as normal. No getting lost and no data charges...
     
  11. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Yeah, your EVO's phone functions will be next to useless overseas. Like everyone else says, you'll have to get an app that stores map information on the memory card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...