HTC EVO Battery issue


Last Updated:

  1. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Today on my EVO I only got about 8hrs of battery. Everything was off and the backlight was basically off. I did the guide that mr.virginia posted but haven't been able to retry since I had to let my ZAGG set. Does a hard reset fix this? Any help is much appreciated!
     

    Advertisement
  2. bvbull200

    bvbull200 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    197
    No, but maybe.
     
  3. Chaco

    Chaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    33
    im new here, i am currently performing the hard reset and the multiple charge boot up as well as the *#*#4636#*#* to see if it helps... this morning at 7:30 i had 100% charge and by 12:35 i had 49% with little usage (not even high moderate)

    im hoping this at least gets me 8 hrs of good moderate usage... well see
     
  4. AsItLies

    AsItLies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    Since I don't have the phone rooted, can't have a display of this, but my last batt was at 2 bars when I swapped it. Here's the stats:

    uptime was 82 hours and 45 mins.
    awake time was about 1.5 hours.

    And that's honest, no reason to lie. I'm not using the phone a lot, admittedly, but I am using it!

    Put it into airplane mode at night.

    It's not the battery, it's how much you are using it...

    Chaco, go to settings, about phone, battery. You'll see more of the specifics that can tell you what's using the battery...
     
  5. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Agreed, I'm not really expecting the day plus that some get, as I'm a heavy user. Please update me after you finish all that because I thought about the multiple charge thing too!!!!
     
  6. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's all android system. Admittedly, I use mine alot since it's my first android and I love playing with it. And if you don't mind the stupid question, what does airplane mode do?
     
  7. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    airplane mode turns off all the radios..
     
    clwoodwork and VSpike915 like this.
  8. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you much sir!! New to android (as you can probably tell)
     
  9. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    not a problem....airplane mode is on most cell phones tough its not an android only feature.
     
  10. tex texington

    tex texington Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    What does *#*#4636#*#* do exactly?
     
  11. smokin3000gt

    smokin3000gt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had horrible battery life out of the box like everyone. Once I did the *#*#4636#*#* trick a charge would last me the day. Around 15-17 hrs. This morning I rebooted my phone fresh off the charger and forgot to change my radio and my battery was at 10% in 7 hrs.
     
  12. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    I never had that problem. It always was CDMA auto-PRL for me. Strange.....Gonna try a hard reset later and update you. Stay tuned!
     
  13. smokin3000gt

    smokin3000gt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    It says CDMA auto-PRL for everyone. You have to hit the 'menu' button then click 'select radio'. OK the force close that comes. Then you will see that it is really GSR. Change it back to CDMA auto-PRL and then the exit with the back arrow or home key.
     
    VSpike915 and swg like this.
  14. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    UPDATE: I did exactly what he said and I turned my EVO on at 11 this morning. I went golfing and besides one quick phone call and a few txt messages, it was in my pocket with the screen off. All radio's were off and I used Mr.Virginia's guide to get "38hrs on a single charge"
    It is now 8:20 and has been on 10:20:14 with 40% remaining. GENIUS!! I'd assume heavier usage would get less battery, but I'm still tempted to hard reset it as people who have hard reset it after the update get much better battery life without doing the CDMA trick. (Might fix that as well?)
     
  15. chaucer498

    chaucer498 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everytime I go in there and do the prl change when I go back in it says CDMA until I hit the select band from the menu and its always back to GSM no matter what I do.
     
  16. meyerweb

    meyerweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    110
    I'm not sure it isn't the force close that's causing it to be set wrong. I did this to my phone a long time ago, and it retains the Auto CDMA through reboots. But if I cause it to do another Force Close it goes back to GSM. If you never do the force close, I think it correctly reads CDMA. I noticed no change in battery life when I did this the first time.
     
  17. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Further Update:
    After following the guide and doing the CDMA trick (I DO NOT have to do it every time I re-boot the phone FYI) and I easily get 12hrs a day on a charge with LIGHT usage. This means a few txt messages, one or 2 phone calls, check facebook real quick and then sleep it in my pocket. If I'm playing around with my home screens or cruising the Market browsing, I roughly get 9-10hrs. Another tip, if you're at home or a wi-fi area (assuming it's a decent signal strength) turn WI-FI ON and mobile network OFF. This uses wi-fi for browsing and the network for basics like txt messages and phone calls.
     
  18. LS1

    LS1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    65
    God god, the CDMA trick is bullshit. Even if it was searching for a "GSM" signal, it wouldn't waste any battery because there isn't A GSM RADIO.
     
  19. hendodo

    hendodo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    15
    That is it right there! I came to that conclusion lastnight....Let it sit and it swill last u alllll day. Soon as u start texting and surfing that's when it dramatically drops
     
  20. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot Guide

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    I put my phone into airplane mode the other night at 100% charge, did not have any apps running & woke up with it at 49%. The battery usage on this thing is a mystery.
     
  21. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    I tend to dis-agree there. And you don't get the concept do you? It's searching for other cell company towers while roaming, even though it can't connect to them. Look at your roaming settings, you MANUALLY have to change it to "Sprint only." Get your facts straight buddy, I really don't think you feel like having this discussion with an IT specialist.
     
  22. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Didn't have that issue either. I spent about 3hrs browsing the market/watching youtube vids and whatever else over Sprint's network. Went down about 20%. That's bad?
     
  23. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    I think it's more or less how smart you are with your. I love how people complain about it having battery life issues when all your radios are on. Just don't be an idiot, plain and simple.
     
  24. hendodo

    hendodo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    15
    That's pretty good if that was nonstop use. Meaning the screen was on the whole 3 hours
     
  25. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Indeed it was
     

Share This Page

Loading...