HTC Evo in UK


Last Updated:

  1. Ugoogle

    Ugoogle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys,

    I'm very interested in buying a smartphone and my choice went on the new HTC Evo. There is a few complications for which I would appreciate very much your advice.

    First of all, I'm from Italy, living in the UK for a short period, with a brother living stably in NYc.
    HTC Evo is not sold outside the US, it has a long waiting queue to get it, and it is an exclusive for Sprint users.

    What is the best way for me to get it, supposing I can ship it in the UK?

    I'm worried about:

    • No 4G coverage in the UK. Would a HTC Evo work even with standard gsm/3g network?
    • What if I buy it from Sprint? Once unlocked can I put every SIM card in it?
    • Buying it from ebay users that had a unwanted upgrade - same question
    • My brother is a Sprint user. Can he get 2, or "lose" 1 and order another one? Would I be able to use the phone?
    Thanks for anybody willing to help.
    Ugo

    PS= I know, it's a hassle and maybe there might be other good alternatives but I would really enjoy the EVO. So please I would welcome feedbacks but not just discussions to make me change my mind! ;)
     

    Advertisement
  2. kayst

    kayst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    63
    Sprint uses CDMA, not gsm, so it has no sim card.
     
  3. usualsuspect

    usualsuspect Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    This phone will not work in Europe. Look at the new Samsung phones on ATT - they will work in europe...
     
  4. Ugoogle

    Ugoogle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is CDMA? No way of using it with some other provider?

    Which one would you recommend, on android and with similar performances?

    I would enjoy HTC because of the integration with its systems with Google services (they have done the nexus one with them), would that work the same with Samsungs?

    Thanks
     
  5. I want my EVO

    I want my EVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    25
    You "can" use it in the UK.

    However,

    You cannot use the Cell tower portion of it. Sprint uses the CDMA radio technology to where as the UK is GSM.

    If you want you can utilize the Wifi radio of the phone and then use Fring or Skype or some other VoIP client to make your calls.

    Up side to this method is speedy internet.

    Downside is you need a constant WiFi connection, and will more then likely kill your battery more quickly.

    This phone is exclusively through Sprint and i have yet to read a story where someone has hacked it to work with another carrier. Not sure its possible due to the 4G radio in it.

    As for your other question regarding a phone that may work for you, not knowing your specific cell providers in your area but typically a phone on the Verizon or AT&T network will work.

    And Just so your aware, all Android phones have Google services (Address book, email integration, maps ect..) no matter the brand of phone.

    Whats nice about HTC over any other brand is the "Sense" UI it has. Its a more polished UI than Samsung or Motorola IMO. But to each his own.
     
  6. eyeballer

    eyeballer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    This is an Android OS feature not an HTC feature. All android devices link and sync with google services.

    Verizon and Sprint are both CDMA, there is no CDMA network in the UK and most (all?) of Europe.

    OP would need to buy a phone for use with AT&T or T-mobile in the US in order to switch the sim card to use in the UK/Europe. Of course you'd need to unlock the phone to do this.

    I do agree that HTCs sense interface is better than moto blur. But of course, if you buy the right phone you can root and customize to pretty much anything you like.
     
  7. Ugoogle

    Ugoogle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. So if I understood correctly, no way of "downgrading" it to work on a GSM/3G network. If that's it, I definitely need to abandon my will to buy it, and target a new phone.
    I still wonder how Sprint can go on without a SIM card, does every phone have a code that is linked to a user?

    I used to be "geeky" about phones but abandoned some years ago (no time) and I find myself behind.. now where can I keep up and find a reliable source to compare models and choose the right one? Btw, I agree about the Android UI, and I add that I would like 100% customizable and open (don't like apple choosing the apps for me; if it were a browser I would avoid IE and choose Mozilla, if you know what I mean), possibly with support/updates in the year(s) to come

    Regarding the carrier, I don't care about AT&T etc.. I will be using a pay as you go formula, I already have 2 work SIMs on a contract and the private one must be flexible and changable (Italy/UK)

    Thanks a lot ;)
     
  8. sailrace

    sailrace Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    You understand correctly. This isn't a matter of downgrading or upgrading. CDMA uses different technology and different wireless sprectrums that GSM does. It's a fact, and there is nothing that can be done about. The CDMA radio will not work in 95% of Europe because the EU universally agreed to a GSM standard. You need to target a new phone.

    Verizon and Sprint both operated in the US on CDMA. There is no SIM card attached to the phone. The Electronic Serial Number (ESN) of the phone is coded to an account when the phone is activated. Each phone is unique - think of it like the SIM card being built into the radio chip. Works the same way, just can't be changed. There are advantages and disadvantages to each. But unfortunately for our brethren on your side of the pond, CDMA is never going to work in Europe for wireless.
     
    Ugoogle likes this.
  9. Ugoogle

    Ugoogle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very clear now. Just out of curiosity: if a US Evo owner comes here for a holiday, would his phone work on roaming services or similar?
     
  10. privraac

    privraac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    No. CDMA phones only roam on other CDMA networks. They will not pick up a GSM signal.
     
  11. sailrace

    sailrace Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    As the guy above said, the answer is a resounding no.

    I can't be any more clear - there is zero compatibility between CDMA and GSM. It would be like trying put diesel in a gasoline engine. It just isn't going to work. They operate on different frequencies and us different technology. There are some phones (HTC Touch Pro2, winmo 6) that have both a GSM and CDMA radio, and are considered "world phones", but the EVO is not one of them. It is CDMA only.

    The only thing an EVO would be good for in Europe would be as a WIFI device, as WIFI is a worldwide standard.
     
  12. I want my EVO

    I want my EVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    25
    While I agree with all above posts i will disagree with your analogy of running diesel in a gas engine. It does work. Iv used Diesel & Kerosene in my 2007 Dodge Ram 1500 Hemi. Runs great and never gave me an issue.

    Granted i dont do it on a regular basis and i dont go from empty to a full tank doing this, but a few gallons here and there have never resulted in any worse gas mileage or engine troubles.

    To where as running a CDMA phone in the UK will never work.

    Just FYI.
     
  13. Lorgach

    Lorgach New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ugoogle,
    Just like you, I would like to get an Evo as my next phone but it won't work in Europe.
    I'm now waiting to see if the rumours about the HTC Ace / Desire HD (Evo for Europe) are true. There's talk of it being released in October.
     
  14. Ugoogle

    Ugoogle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Too late unfortunately. In this kind of market waiting for the next best thing will mean waiting forever.. what is the best similar option now? HTC Desire?

    What are this worldphone like, would you recommend them?

    Thanks to all for the precious support in finally understanding something ;)
     
  15. SupremeBeaver

    SupremeBeaver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    26
    yeah im waiting for this phone too. We need more info on it, some pics perhaps?
     
  16. Shawnz

    Shawnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    38
    It's probably confusing because some CDMA phones are also 'world phones' and have a GSM SIM slot, such as the Touch Pro 2.

    Right now the Galaxy S phones (Vibrant etc) seems to be the hot ticket on GSM besides the Nexus One.
     
  17. Ugoogle

    Ugoogle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen it, even though they cannot let you try it (so I guess it's going to be hard to decide not being able to sense the interface). A lady from the shop said it's like a copy of the Iphone, but it looks nice
     
  18. Ugoogle

    Ugoogle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eventually I ordered the HTC Desire, unlocked. Should I upgrade to Android Froyo, and what's the benefit?
     

Share This Page

Loading...