HTC EVO Stock Android 2.2


Last Updated:

  1. Willimatic

    Willimatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    I know you can search this, and people have been asking BUT come on. There has to be some way, or something we can download to get the stock android 2.2 on the phone without HTC sense. Isn't this a basic of android! How can we not have the ability to have stock android. I'd give anything to do this.

    I disabled sense before the htc patch and was unaware they didn't allow it anymore, so when i updated to 2.2 i was shocked. I HATE sense, please help.

    I dont want to run launcher pro etc. I want the stock messaging and dialer back. I dont' like chomp or handscent etc.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Root and install CM 6 for Evo. Not sure about the other custom roms, but I think most or all of them use Sense. CM6 doesn't.

    But then you'll have to wait for a way to root 2.2 to be found.
     
  3. Willimatic

    Willimatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    I don't mind launcher pro but how can I get rid of the HTC sense dialer and messages. I want stock not an app. There has to be some way, this is an adroid powered phone. This not allowing stock android by HTC is like the old days when Verizon crippled every phone and put their os it
     
  4. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Actually, the HTC dialer is far better than the stock android one... the Sense launcher..... einh.... not so much. (I bailed on it almost immediately and went back with GDE, I love it, still works with 2.2 as well!)
     
  5. laredo7mm

    laredo7mm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    77
    I am patiently waiting for a Vanilla Froyo ROM once 2.2 is rooted. To get rid of the Sense UI and also to ditch the Sprint bloatware.
     
  6. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    Coming from the Droid, I like the Sense UI better then the stock one. The Droid's stock dialer was a pita, and I can't count how many times I accidentally hit the redial on the numbers and having to apologize to people for calling them back.

    As for GDE, I don't like it much, it caused my Droid to lag way too much and slowed down just about everything on the phone. I will take the Sense UI over GDE any day.
     
  7. Willimatic

    Willimatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry to rant but this is really annoying, such a lame move on HTC part. Android is about flexibily and freedom, not a locked down system like iOS! IF I want to use android in it's purest form, I should be able too!
     
  8. WaSTeLaNd

    WaSTeLaNd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    98
    t1jordan and Mr. Ed like this.
  9. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    in all honestly, i wish HTC had incorporated a way to disable separate parts of HTC Sense. for instance, disable their launcher but still keep the dialer, clock etc.
     
  10. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    29
    I installed this a few days ago, but I'm also getting the no application found error when I press the phone icon.
     
  11. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    to OP, why are you wanting to use stock vanilla Android launcher over something like ADW or LauncherPro :confused:

    much better functionality in 3rd party launchers imo.
     
  12. WaSTeLaNd

    WaSTeLaNd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    98
    I had the same problem I did a reinstall and it fixed itself
     
  13. TheBlackPrince

    TheBlackPrince Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    30
    I say install CM6 on your phone. It's basically enhanced vanilla android.
     
  14. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Because the OP is not looking for a launcher that runs on TOP of sense.

    When you run the launchers you suggest, it's still using Sense components. The gallery is still sense. The calendar is sense. The music player is sense. The phone dialer is still sense. The lock screen is still sense. etc etc. Sure there are apps that you can use as an alternative to these components, but these sense components are always running. OP is asking for sense to be stripped out completely, not just covering up Sense.

    I have been researching this too, and I have not seen anyone develop a custom ROM that essentially strips out all of Sense but leaves everything else stock. I would definitely try such a ROM. The best you can do is go with a custom rom with Sense stripped out, and accept whatever mods that come with it.
     
  15. jgalan14

    jgalan14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    30
  16. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    I will be in line right behind you. Its time for HTC to ditch sense and only code applications and widgets. There was a time when their skins had purpose (winmo) but now android has stock applications, launchers and such that are far superior.

    I will concur I dont mind the dialer but a lot of the cool stuff for google doesnt even work with some of the HTC skinned apps and not being able to replace them is annoying.
     
  17. Willimatic

    Willimatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Agreed! Some may like HTC sense and it's widgets, some may not. But we should have the choice to run it if we "want" too. I agree, some of their widgets are cool but what sucks is that even when you run a launcher like launcher pro, htc is still running stuff even if its not for you.

    I have tried the launcher2.apk thing, it worked except it keeps giving me the dialer issue. I want all of froyo, stock launcher, dialer, messenger etc. And if I choose to customize then so be it.

    Come on android gods!!
     
  18. Willimatic

    Willimatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Does anyone have the messenger apk for froyo? I have found launcher, keyboard, gallery, but what about dialer or messenger?

    Thanks
     
  19. WaSTeLaNd

    WaSTeLaNd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    98
    I don't mean to hijack but is there a apk for the stock froyo camera it has a better menu I think
     
  20. Willimatic

    Willimatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    I second that as well. See, Stock Froyo is missed in many aspects!
     
  21. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    I
    Do you know what is even more lame?? It is what HTC does. What they are famous for. And yet you buy an HTC phone.

    Then complain on a public forum. Now that is lame.
     
  22. chocmatic

    chocmatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    52
  23. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    29
  24. jgalan14

    jgalan14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    30
    I think the only way to make it work would be to flash it
     
    Munnarg likes this.
  25. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91

    I found this on launcher-pro's forum.

    HTC SENSE WIDGETS ARE NOT AND WILL NEVER BE SUPPORTED IN LAUNCHER PRO

    I can only say sorry, but the way HTC makes it's widgets, and the sense UI as a whole work is by adding in custom code to the android OS, and because of that the sense widgets require that code all the time. and the majority of it is built into the Sense UI launcher app. So because of that the widgets will never work.

    If you want something like the widgets, there are MANY alternative widgets available in the market to simulate the HTC Sense widgets.

    some examples are Beautiful Widgets, Weather Widget Donate, Pure Calender, and many more.

    Now, if you know of any other widgets that are similar to the sense UI, feel free to post their name and maybe a link to it's AndroLib site

    Please don't complain, there's nothing that Fede can do to make them work with LauncherPro so complaining is pointless

    LauncherPro Forum • View topic - Regarding HTC Sense Widgets
     

Share This Page

Loading...