HTC Hero automatically closes background apps, correct?


Last Updated:

  1. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are there some apps that Hero does NOT automatically shut down? For example, a game that I am running in the background, yes I would like for the Hero to automatically close. But something like the video player app, I would not like to close down (because I would lose my spot in the video that I have paused). Anyone know?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SirGaz

    SirGaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Hero (and Android in general) does not close any app. It leaves them running in the background. It will close apps as memory becomes full, and maybe it closes apps if they haven't been re-used for a while (guessing here).
    You need an app to close the other apps (I use Taskiller)
     
  3. WerzilUK

    WerzilUK Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apps/Tasks close on the device if you use the BACK button to go back through to the home page, if you use the HOME button the app/task will still be running in the background.

    As said before look on the marketplace for a task controll application, i use Task Manager 1.10.2 by Wing Tseng.
     
  4. Formel-LMS

    Formel-LMS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Taskkillers are ugly.
    Don't use them. You can kill apps, that are recommended for background synchronisation.
    Some applications could hang and you must restart your phone.

    The Tasks in Background doesnt't use much Power.
    If your Memory is low, Android close the apps you don't need.

    Apps in Background only use Processor time, if you want it.

    For example: Synchronisation of Twitter, email, Gmail, Calendar, Weather Forecast etc.
     
  5. subhramani

    subhramani Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find this thing really crappy when you cant close something which you really want to. I dont know why they would make something like this.
     
  6. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is not true for my unbranded Hero, BACK doesn't close anything.

    Using some kind of app management tool is essential to keep your phone running smoothly.
     
  7. RadioShackGuy

    RadioShackGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to confirm what WerzilUK said before.

    I use the battery manager called Toggle Settings for Cupcake (v1.5) on a "non w/ google" Sprint Hero. Toggle Settings will give you a "running applications" list and you can close each one individually. If you press the back button to exit a widget, it does not run in the background. If you press the home button instead, the program appears in the list.

    By the way, I LOVE this phone!!! :D
     
  8. dhole

    dhole Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Its a flaw ( quite a big one perhaps ) in android.... apps stay running in some form in the back ground. this does slow the os down and it does become noticable. As far as I can see you have to kill them if it slows down. this happens on my phone so dont go telling me how android is clever and kills things it dosent happen on my phone before its slowed down.
     
  9. SirGaz

    SirGaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is not a flaw, it's designed that way so that you can run more than one task at once.
    The iphone cannot do this and developers have said it has hindered some applications as they can't do things in the background.
     
  10. dhole

    dhole Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    your telling me that its designed to keep all apps running in the background till it slows down ? no , you havent thought about that comment. What you tried to say is something about multitasking.... then you got confused

    dave
     
  11. SFA_AOK

    SFA_AOK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Easy fella, it's not a flaw and you missed a subtle point about what SirGaz said.

    Android is designed to keep apps around rather than kill and this does indeed allow for multi-tasking and other cool stuff. Android kills processes as resources are needed. Now, if you're complaint is that android isn't aggressive enough in clearing resources, I'd agree with you, some option to set this would be nice.

    Also, (and this is not aimed at you directly), when people talk about processes running in the background, it doesn't mean they're consuming the resources they do when they are running when you are actually using them. When you press the home button, the running app is told and is given a short amount of time to do whatever it needs to. Usually this means storing some information so that if you go back to the app, you can carry on where you left off. The app isn't killed but it's not running either, i.e. it is consuming some resources but not the same amount as when it is running. If resources are needed badly enough, Android may kill the process totally. I think this is where people's problems are, Android doesn't clear its house often enough. Could possibly be controlled by an option somewhere; it may also be one of the tricks in the custom ROMs (but don't know if that's true!)
     
  12. benb

    benb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I find annoying is when it does kill a process that I want to keep running.

    This morning I was browsing some stuff on the internet, had 3 pages open. I hit home, locked my phone, and when I opened the browser again reloaded the active page I had, but didn't keep the other pages open. Any way of forcing it to keep the browser running?
     
  13. spenspuma

    spenspuma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think that's the whole point why the Hero doesn't kill apps...how would it know which ones to kill? Imagine using an app then your took a call only to find the Hero had killed the app you were working on?

    I don't see it as a flaw...and anyway its easily sorted by just having an app killer on your main screen ..then its a 2 second job to kill what you want instead of relying on the phone to choose what it thinks isn't needed.
     
  14. prepbgg

    prepbgg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have found it quite helpful to read this introduction for developers of Android apps which describes in some detail how the multitasking is managed. It gets a bit technical, but it certainly indicates that the designers of Android have put a great deal of thought into this issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...