HTC Hero Bouncing Keyboard [Help]


Last Updated:

  1. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Hey guys. Just a quick question...

    Had this since day 1..I think loll...

    When you press the 'google search button' on your Hero it takes you to the Browser.. I then turn it in landscape mode to get a bigger keyboard. As soon as I press any of the keyboard buttons the keyboard bounces up and down..thus you can't type properly..

    Others have this problem too...
    http://android.modaco.com/content/h.../bouncing-keyboard-in-landscape/#entry1069155

    Is there a fix for this and is anyone else experiencing this issue?

    Otherwise I love my Hero. 10/10 :D

    --Info--
    HTC Hero White UK Sim Free
    ROM = Latest HTC
    Not rooted / Modded / NO Apps2SD

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    I rarely use the landscape keyboard, but just tried it and it does the same on mine. Incredibly annoying to try to type on that.
     
  3. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use betterkeyboard and don't have this problem. When I press the 'google search button' it brings up the search bar at the top of the home screen and doesn't let me rotate to landscape anyway.
     
  4. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah, me too.

    When I hit the search key (next to Back key) - I get a small dialogue box, that's all.
     
  5. Zedinc

    Zedinc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, mine does the same thing. Seems like a bug, probably would be a good idea to report it to HTC or check if they already know about it.
     
  6. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    I replicated what you guys are doing and that's fine..but that's not the steps I took to find this 'bug' though...

    Try this:-
    It should bounce.

    Let me know

    Thanks
     
  7. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    3
    oh yea... weird.

    still it works ok with better keyboard, so im good :cool:
     
  8. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    lol :D

    told ya..

    k now who is gonna report this to HTC?

    bugsy not me :)
     
  9. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Same here its been like this from new ( bought in August ) its a pain.
     
  10. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oh wait... no it doesnt work with betterkeyboard. Doh!
     
  11. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Oh yeah. Well found (kinda) ;)

    I'm not a fan of the landscape KB, as it tends to remove any "submit" type buttons you get next to the dialogue box.

    Sorry I can't help.
     
  12. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Guess we have to wait and hope 2.0 fixes this 'bug'

    dOh :D
     
  13. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    3
    i like it. it's fun.
     
  14. jigjags

    jigjags Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    yep mine does the same ...i can still type but it is soo annoying ...i use the widget on one of the homescrrens to search google so its not that much of an issue but still anoying ...let us know what response you get from HTC jUsT2eXy

    Cheers

    Jig:)
     
  15. imahawki

    imahawki Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not able to replicate this bug (not that I want to)... what exactly are you doing? I opened my browser and then hit the search key on the phone then rotated to landscape and it typed normally.
     
  16. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Hmm. You are doing what we did to replicate the bug.. that's weird..

    1.Browser
    2. Search key
    3. Rotate.
    4. Type (But keyboard bounces)

    Well I guess you have a bug-free phone.. could be down to a app or something?
     
  17. jigjags

    jigjags Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    do u have the euro hero or the sprint..?
     
  18. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Euro. Otherwise I wouldn't be posting in this forum.. :D (Oh and I did say in my original post UK Sim Free).

    Sprint forum --> Sprint HTC Hero - Android Forums
     
  19. jigjags

    jigjags Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry jUsT2eXy I was asking imahawki but u sneaked a reply in :O)
     
  20. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124

    Oh sorry :p

    My bad
     
  21. imahawki

    imahawki Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    DOH! Sprint... sorry, my bad.
     
  22. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    There is a workaround for this bug: if you ride in a horse drawn cart over cobblestones the bouncing will cancel out the bouncing on the phone's keyboard enabling you to type normally.
     
  23. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    LOL Brilliant.
     
  24. DJHero

    DJHero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am unable to replicate the 'bouncy keyboard' following the steps you posted. The only issue I find with the landscape keyboard is the slight lag, although this seems intermittent.
     
  25. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124

    Either you have a bug free phone or you have a Sprint Hero. But since you are posting in the normal HTC Hero forum I guess you don't have a Sprint hero do you? :p

    Could be down to an app we all have installed but some people don't...

    Hmm.
     

Share This Page

Loading...