HTC Hero Camera


Last Updated:

  1. Yard Dog

    Yard Dog Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think so far the only thing letting the Hero down for me is the camera. The quality of the image is absolutely fine for the type of photos I take, but the lack of flash and the slow shutter speed let it down - I have a 15 month old lad who won't keep still and the slow shutter speed makes it virtually impossible to get a decent pic of him.

    Does anyone know if Android 2.0 will improve the camera ?

    Alternatively, does anyone know of any changes to the settings I could make to help me overcome the two specific camera issues I mentioned ?
     

    Advertisement
  2. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    I have the same problem - young kids not keeping still :)

    Android 2 may improve the shutter speed but the lack of flash will remain. As long as you don't try to take photos indoors in low or artificial light (which are appalling) the camera ability is the worst thing about the phone.
     
  3. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Calpol.

    nuf said ;)
     
  4. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    yep...agreed, crap camera...shame
     
  5. Quazar

    Quazar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    29
    Bad in low light, I wish the ISO could be increased further, even if it did make it more grainy, I'd rather have brighter grainy pics, than black pics.
     
  6. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124

    lol...hmmm sugary medicine... *drools* .. that stuff is amazing! When I was little I used to love it. Hell I might have even pretended to be sick just to have some loool


    Also I agree. We need a quicker shutter response time!

    Is this a hardware issue or would software help to quicken the shutter process?
     
  7. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    got some tips to make the pictures come out better:

    In the settings:

    Turn off widescreen
    auto focus on
    flicker adjustmnet auto
    iso 800

    Alternatively, just dowwnload camera zoom fx, MUCH better pictures taken by it
     
  8. Renniks

    Renniks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is this App Camera Zoom FX free?? :):)
     
  9. elektrobix

    elektrobix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    I second that, i was shocked at the difference in picture quality!
     
  10. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Thanks guys...think I will give it a try :)
     
  11. malbon

    malbon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not had any problems since I went on a Modaco ROM and set to autofocus and put on ISO 800. Still not good in poor light because of no flash but works a whole lot better than originally.
     
  12. elektrobix

    elektrobix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
  13. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
  14. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Wow...that is a big difference. Thanks for showing :)

    Edit: Well just brought it and piccie are great. I am having a problem though, it errors when saving piccies and although saves keeps giving me this error message. Will play with it for a while...have 24hours to get refund if needed.
     
  15. RollBravesRoll

    RollBravesRoll Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason I can't locate the camera ZOOM fx app in the market! Does anybody know what's up? When I type it into the search box it gives me plenty of add-ons but the actual app itself doesn't come up. I've even gone to androlib and used the barcode scanner on the QR for camera zoom fx but then it just tells me that this application can't be found. What gives?!?!
     
  16. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Make sure you look through the results properly, its there in the middle of all the add-ons, but the name gets cut off so its hard to distinguish!
     
  17. RollBravesRoll

    RollBravesRoll Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are you typing in the search box and what is the actual name of the application that you are seeing? I've looked through again with the screen on landscape and I still dont see anything but add-ons. Also, shouldn't this app actually cost like a buck or something? All of the ones I'm seeing are free. TIA!
     
  18. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Do you have barcode scanner? If aso scan/take picture of this:

    [​IMG]

    That should then link you straight to the download on the google app market. If you don't understand just let me know i'll post a step by step :p
     
  19. Yard Dog

    Yard Dog Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure if it's just me but changing the settings like this seems have speeded up the shutter..... ?? Which is what I am looking for, really (along with a flash which aint gonna happen).
     
  20. RollBravesRoll

    RollBravesRoll Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I get what you're saying to do. I've installed several other apps but for some reason this one is not in my market anywhere! Like I said above, I used the barcode scanner at androlib to try to get this app but it just took me back to the market screen saying it could not find this app. I tried it again with the QR you just posted but I'm getting the same error message.

    Is everybody else still able to locate it in the market?
     
  21. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    What Country are you in? Its a pay app, and I know some counties cannot get pay for apps yet?
     
  22. DaffPower

    DaffPower New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm gonna get Camera Zoom Fx after seeing this one. it's better than the original
     
  23. barkerja

    barkerja New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oddly enough, I can't find this app in the Market either. On HTC Hero with latest firmware update. Having the same issue with the new Seesmic app as well and it seems to be HTC Hero users only (US - Sprint).
     
  24. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Strange, I can get the seesmic app on uk hero no problem.
     
  25. itsmoirob

    itsmoirob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    3
    What do people prefer to use for the metering mode? Spot, Centre Area or Average?
     

Share This Page

Loading...