HTC Hero Firmware release today?


Last Updated:

  1. harpstar

    harpstar Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Advertisement
  2. WerzilUK

    WerzilUK Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not having any real problems with the speed of my handset but if an update comes out that does improve performance then thats a bonus :)

    I wonder when it will officially be released to the rest of Europe...?
     
  3. madsborelli

    madsborelli Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lucky me, I live in Denmark ;). Has anyone tried it yet? I'm currently using the MoDaCo rom.. Is it the same?
     
  4. bone

    bone Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the new rom in my danish hero. And i must say, the speed got up quiet a bit.

    But, there seems to be an issue with google contacts. I can only create SIM and Phone contacts, not google. Neither can i choose to sync with just one group from my google contacts. So right now i have 1500+ contacts in my phone. Realy annoying.
     
  5. Henrik

    Henrik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I update my Hero without using HTC Sync? HTC Sync is ...... well not working.

    Danish Hero no SIM lock.
     
  6. bone

    bone Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm am pretty shure you need it to upgrade.
     
  7. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live in Denmark too and I updated yesterday to the new firmware.
    I whish I did'nt.
    I can't see any betterment at all in the phone, and a few things have become worse.
    Among the bugs that appeared the worst one is that I am not able anymore to lock the screen by clicking the on/off button .
    Now it stays on for the period I have decided in the settings (1 minute), and if I keep it pushed it asks me if I want to turn off the phone.
    It's really annoying.


    Please is there anybody who has an idea about what I can do to reintroduce the lock screen function to my hero?
    Maybe it's just a matter of toggling some setting, but I can't find it.
    Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  8. bone

    bone Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to reset your phone, something must be wrong.

    I have none of the issues you describe. And until now i've only heard good things from the update. And my own Hero is twice as fast with the update.
     
  9. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you were right , all problems disappeared after a a factory reset, which I have noticed that it kept the latest ROM installed.
    Pretty annoying because I had to reinstall more than 100 apps from the market, since The Android sync software allows syncing only contacts and calendar but not apps and setting.
    Anyway , now it's just fine.
    I'm not sure if it became any faster though.
    For sure it did'nt become slower , but my Hero has always been lightening fast since day one, maybe the improvements are visible only on even older ROMs or will manifest themselves only in the future.
    We surely have a great phone but I really hope I will not have to go through all this process one more time: I spent 5 or 6 hours to redownload and reinstall all apps and I will need at least 2 or 3 more to rebuild my 3 "scenes" with my wallpapers, rings, apps, shortcuts etc.
    I dont understand why I can back up and restore in few minutes all settings of my HTC touchHD and of my N97 but not for the Hero.
     
  10. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Next time you might want to try the app >> MyBackUp Pro....
     
  11. exutable

    exutable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Danish HTC Hero(just moved to Denmark 2 months ago). I just upgraded to the new rom, let me tell you. It's amazing, very fast, stable and much better than the old one.

    Quick nub question, when 1.6 comes out. Will we be able to upgrade? or will that be up to HTC?

    Thanks,

    Dane
     

Share This Page

Loading...