HTC Hero French Language


Last Updated:

  1. AndyGFLees

    AndyGFLees Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree about the lack of technical knowledge within Orange;

    I live in France and have just ordered an HTC Hero. My last HTC (Touch) came with French version of WM. This was understandble and I was happy to use it like that (I had no choice actually) but, when asking about whether I would be able to change the language of Android on the Hero, no one at France Telecom (they are in the technical side of the bed with Orange France) knew. I will be getting the 'phone in a couple of days and, unless I can change the language, I will be returning it tout de suite.
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    I guess you either want english or french language. Well on my Hero (from the UK with orange) i cvan select from 3 languages, English, SPanish and French.

    Settings > Locale & text > set locale

    Hope this helps :)
     
  3. AndyGFLees

    AndyGFLees Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    lekky,

    If you select, for instance, French does the keyboard change from QWERTY and AZERTY as well?
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Just checked and it does change to AZERTY.

    In fact there is also a separate keyboard language option. In case you want to keep the phones language as say english, and use a french keyboard :p
     
  5. AndyGFLees

    AndyGFLees Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lekky,

    Ordered my HTC yesterday at 12:30, arrived today by courier at 09:20 - Orange France really want you to be with a mobile as often as you can !

    Thanks for the feedback, checked on my as soon as it arrived - I have the option of English, French and Spanish, along with the same keyboard options as you.

    Busy playing with it now.

    Thanks,
     
  6. fuse

    fuse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi,

    How do you select a language (e.g. French) with a QWERTY keyboard?

    Thanks
     
  7. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    On my Belgian version (English, Dutch, French, German) the keyboard layout is tied to the o/s language, you can only change the spell check/predictive text language separately.
     
  8. bourdagespl

    bourdagespl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    You say that I can keep an english OS with a QWERTY keyboard AND have a french spell check / predictive text?

    How?
     
  9. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    In the keyboard settings (touch input settings) you can change the 'keyboard language'. You can also access that through the settings button (looks like a cog) on the keyboard so you can change languages very quickly while typing.
     
  10. bourdagespl

    bourdagespl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but doing that changes my keyboard to AZERTY... :(

    I want to have french prediction and spell checking, but with a QWERTY keyboard

    I don't think it's possible...
     
  11. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    hmm, strange. With mine (Belgian) it stays QWERTY. I just tried changing my phone language to Dutch (I have it set as English usually) but it still stays QWERTY, so I guess the Belgian phone is only QWERTY which is odd as Belgians use AZERTY.
     
  12. bourdagespl

    bourdagespl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0

    What do you mean by "it says QUERTY"??

    do you checked the layout of the keyboard? because "querty" is also the name of the keyboard itself... even if you have a azerty layout.

    ???
     
  13. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Yes, the keyboard it self remains QWERTY layout.
     
  14. bourdagespl

    bourdagespl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're lucky! I'm running MoDaCo 2.9 custom rom... and you?
     
  15. marcd

    marcd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't found a way to do this either, and that's a pain point for me. For Canada the combination of French/Azerty doesn't make any sense - you would think that Telus could've adapated this for its market. We need French+Qwerty.

    Plus the current Android interface is not very convenient for someone who regularly types in 2 languages - we would need a really quick way to change settings from one to the other with a single click. Or even better, perhaps detect the current language based on the input text.
     
  16. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Stock ROM for Belgium - build 2.73.1100.5
     
  17. fuse

    fuse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the message I got from HTC following a question I sent...
    --------------------------------
    New Response From [ Tony (North America Support (Customer Service)) ]
    Dear,
    Unfortunately, there isn't an option for a QWERTY keyboard that supports French. You might be able to find an application on the Android Market that might support this. If you need further assistance please contact us at 866.449.8358 Sun - Sat 8 am- 1am EST.
    Sincerely,
    HTC Support
    Customer Information
    --------------------------------
    MY QUESTION

    Hi, I have a HTC Hero from Telus. I am trying to select a QWERTY keyboards with French input into the text feature. Currently, if you select French the keyboard automatically changes to AZERTY. In Canada, contrary to France, we use QWERTY keyboards even when we type in French. Can you please let me know if I can select a QWERTY keyboard with French text input. Thank you
     
  18. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    I discovered my Belgian phone will use QWERTY for Dutch but AZERTY for French. In Belgium all keyboards are AZERTY regardless of which part you live in, not sure what they use in The Netherlands.
     

Share This Page

Loading...