htc hero help


Last Updated:

  1. elahi1

    elahi1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all,

    I have a hero, ive had it for about 6 months its on orange....

    when i got the phone i didnt realise that i needed to set up a google account on initial setup...consequently i cant download apps...

    ive been told by orange and htc, that i need to do a full restore, i dont want to do this as i have over 400 mesages that i dont want to lose ...

    i understand there may be a way to get into the initial setup without wiping the phone is this possible does anyone know how...

    when i try to set up a new acount on google it say smy sim might not be set up for data services...

    however i am able to surf the net fine and am able to open google accounts in the main browser ....

    help......
     

    Advertisement
  2. zaffy

    zaffy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    You could perform a factory reset, but you would loose all your personal date.
    If you have a PC, I would go to google and set up an account, put all your contacts into your new Gmail account, then do the following


    1. Press HOME > MENU, and then tap Settings > Security > Factory data reset.
    2. On the Factory data reset screen, tap Reset phone, and then tap Erase everything. Your phone will erase all personal data and restart.
    3. Then set up google on HTC and all your contacts will auto download to your phone. The great thing is they will always be on google if you reset again.
     
  3. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    Even I did not set up google acc for first one week of purchase because there was neither data contract nor Wifi. But I configured it without a factory reset/wipe. I remember I just went to Settings->Data synchronization->Google and it was asking me the username and password.
     
  4. elahi1

    elahi1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    zaffy i dnt want to lose my messages so cant do it that way.....however how do i put my contacts from the phone into my gmail? i alreadyt have gmail and can access it from the browser on the phone??

    vj tried that doesnt let me do it?
     
  5. zaffy

    zaffy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did mine manually a long time ago, and also made up jpg's that appear on screen. There must be a app that will backup your contacts to a file that can be read by google out there somewhere, but I know not which.
     
  6. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    App: ExportContacts
     
  7. elahi1

    elahi1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guyssssssssssssssss I cant download appS as dont have googlemail account on the phone........
     
  8. zaffy

    zaffy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Its looking a lot like doing a manual copy and reseting the HTC
     
  9. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Try this below: I know you said you dont have an account set up but try it anyway, nothing to loose and if it works saves you doing a factory reset.

    Menu>Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Google Apps> "Clear data">OK

    This will delete the Google account details on your mobile.

    To enter new details Menu Settings>Data Synchronization>Google and you'll be prompted with the set up dialogue. Enter your new account details. Hope this helps
     
  10. elahi1

    elahi1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice try ziani it said exactly the same thing

    i think ive now given up...if i dnt get anywhere by the end of the weekend il have to text all my texts to my email which is very long as u can only forward only one at a time on the hero....and will cost me a small bomb as most of the texts are more than 160 characters long and since the hero automatically converts long texts to mms and when you have over 500 messages to forward...im good an stuffed

    are there any real heros out there ?? loving teh phone but is doing my head in with this issue...
     
  11. alinver

    alinver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    13
    Is it possible to install the suggested Export Contacts via the developers site and install it on the phone or via the sync?

    Download vCardIO 0.27 for Android - Import/Export of Android contacts in vCard format. - Softpedia

    I goggled Export Contacts Android and hit the site above.

    I have no idea whether it would work or not, but I have installed other apps via the HTC sync method. It might be worth investigating further before you lose everything with a factory reset.

    Good luck

    Al
     
  12. shonamcintyre

    shonamcintyre New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    easy solution...go onto your p.c. and register for a googlemail account that way...once it's set up you can log in through your phone...simples...i am a bit slow at getting used to the phone but i sussed this one out...good luck....my only problem is the same as everyone else's ....need 2.1....can't get bluetooth!...grrr.
     
  13. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    :O why didn't I think of that :p

    Yeah....roll on 2.1
     
  14. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Don't do that! If you ever you need to back up texts use this,

    android-sms - Project Hosting on Google Code (can also be installed via HTC Sync)

    You can log into your gmail account in that app (it's a seperate log in just for that app so won't be a problem) and then it will back them all up over WiFi.
     
    elahi1 likes this.
  15. elahi1

    elahi1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    xtiro u r the don!!! thanks, worked a treat......

    thaanks all
     
  16. alex2010

    alex2010 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for sharing this. It’s so much help me. Few days ago my one friend get this problem but I don’t suggest him. Now I understand this. Thanks you very much all member for share us.
     

Share This Page

Loading...