Htc hero is too slow!!!


Last Updated:

  1. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    My HTC Hero is quite new and it barely has many applications on it, yet it is unbearably slow.

    If the alarm comes on, it takes a long time to turn off once I've pressed the button, like a really delayed reaction.

    When someone phones me, the button flashes but it takes about 30 seconds before the ringtone or the picture shows up on the screen to tell me who is calling.

    It sometimes asks me to 'Force Quit' if I try and open anything.

    The 'Date Syncronisation' symbol at the top shows often.

    When I try and make a call, it is a delayed reaction before it allows the call to process and begin to ring someone. I think that this is really bad in a situation if I am in a rush and I need to call someone!

    When I type a text message, the buttons are too slow once pressed. So if I try and type a word, it often reacts slowly and will miss out half the letters that I have typed and then will not recognise the word to use the predictive text.

    I am becoming infuriated with this phone and I have no idea whatelse I can do with it to solve the problem. I would rather not reboot it because I don't want to lose anything from the phone and rebooting should not have to be the only option!

    Someone please help before I throw this phone!
     

    Advertisement
  2. peterb23

    peterb23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    12
    Are you running the latest software? Check in setings under about phone for build number. It should be 2.73 . If it's less then visit the HTC site for details on how to upgrade it.
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Also, rebooting won't result in you losing anything. All you're doing is powering it off then back on, which is perfectly normal.
     
  4. Delude

    Delude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps by rebooting he means restoring, as in taking it back to factory settings?
     
  5. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you and I've found out that I don't have the latest, but my issue is that I have a Mac and it doesn't show how to update with a Mac...
     
  6. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    I wonder...is it possible to use the standard recovery console to update to the official ROM and bypass the whole necessity for HTC Sync?

    I'll look into it. It would be something very useful to know for those of you with Macs, viki.s.
     
  7. jollyrogue

    jollyrogue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could look up using Virtualbox on your Mac to install a virtual windows within Mac. I had to use virtualbox when i was on ubuntu to use itunes with my ipod touch (now i'm on neither). Its the best thing i can think of for a Mac user.
     
  8. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Well I've founds a list of ROMs you can try. Viki, whats your current software version? It should say in Settings>About Phone. It'll say 1.76.x.x, and I need that x.x part to hook you up with the propper ROM.

    Once you have that, you can try flashing it via the recovery image. It'll either work, or it wont let you do it.
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Now that would be useful. Wish I had a second handset to test this sort of thing out on.... my idea was fastbooting a recovery image and using one of Paul's update.zip-packaged updates.
     
  10. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Actually, if it did work, it would also negate the need for a GoldCard for custom ROMs since you'd be able to flash back to an older 1.76 ROM, in which case FlashRec should work regardless of carrier version.
     
  11. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Alright Viki, go here: http://android.modaco.com/content/h...-24-11-hero-roms-radios-in-update-zip-format/

    And download the T-Mobile UK 2.73.110.26 ROM under Shipping ROMs.

    Rename it update.zip and put it on your SD card. You'll also want to backup any data that you want to save onto your SD card. Lastly, make sure you have at least 80% charge on your battery.

    Then access your recovery image by powering on your phone while holding the Home button (Home+PowerOn). All you have to do then is select the apply sdcard update.zip.

    It'll either work and start installing, or it will give you a few errors such as E: no signature and/or E: verification failed. Unfortunately, if you get either or both of these errors, it means this method wont work (sorry).

    If it does work however, it will install the new ROM, and then you'll need to select the wipe data/factory reset option. Then reboot the device and you're home free!!!

    Let us know if it works. We're very curious (you're kind of the guinea pig...).
     
  12. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I click on the 'download' it takes me to another forum...
    Sorry, I'm really bad with all of this.
     
  13. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Yeah, sorry. The link was protected against off-site direct downloads. I've edited the post to make it more clear.
     
  14. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The file opens if I click the one just under 'HTC Generic' but it is still coming up the page 'News' when I click on the one under 'Shipping Roms'
     
  15. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Bah, your browser has the link cached. Try right clicking on it and say Save As (if you can do that with a Mac?). If that doesn't work, I'm uploading the file to my personal server which should work for sure. It'll just take a few minutes to upload.
     
  16. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I right clicked and saved the zip, I then changed the name to update.zip. I then dragged it over to my SD card and have now unmounted it so I'm just dealing with the phone and now I'm having problems with understanding the next part. I've tried holding down the home and power button but nothing is happening.
     
  17. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, was I meant to open the zip file on my Mac before dragging it over, because I didn't... I just dragged it straight over.
     
  18. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    You're supposed to leave it as a zip, just renamed. To access the recovery console, first turn off your phone, and then hold home while you're turning it back on.
     
  19. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have the recovery image now but what do i press to get the sd card because it's doing nothing but the image
     
  20. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Use the trackball to select the apply sdcard:update.zip
     
  21. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    there's nothing to select. it's like it's frozen or something. it's just that triangle image with the ! in the middle and the phone. It won't let me press any buttons...
     
  22. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    It should look like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  23. viki.s

    viki.s Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok well it won't let me post the picture but no it doesn't look like your picture. Yeh it shows that triangle but it doesn't show the writing. What am I doing wrong??? I feel so stupid lol!<br><br>I turn it back on by pressing and holding both the power and the home button and then it takes me to that and now I can't get off it unless I take out the battery.<br>
     
  24. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Hmm well this whole method was just an idea...It seems like it needs some refinement. There is another way to access the recovery menu, but it's significantly more advanced and involves some methods that might be considered to void the warranty on your phone.

    I'll try to keep looking into this official ROM recovery method, but in the mean time, I think your best bet will be to use a friend's Windows computer, or do a virtual machine/bootcamp thing.
     
  25. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    If you dont mind the risk of voiding your phone's warranty (the odds that it will actually hurt your phone are extreeeeemly low), I know of a fairly simple method to installing a different version of the recovery image. Would you like to try this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...