htc hero question


Last Updated:

  1. kicker6820

    kicker6820 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    just a quick question about the sprint htc hero.

    when you refer to the sprint htc hero do you just mean the american version of the hero or does sprint have another version similar to a standard us version.I have cellular south as my carrier and my phone looks exactly like the sprint version so i was just wondering
     

    Advertisement
  2. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    If you're here on this forum, we all have the Sprint specific version. Also, is cellular south here in the U.S.? A better question would be, are they on a GSM network? If it's a GSM network, you'd have to get the GSM hero, which looks more like the G1 minus the keyboard. As far as I know, Sprint is the only ones with.... well the 'Sprint HTC Hero'. Not to sound like a jackass, but you're probably going to have to get the GSM one.
     
  3. kicker6820

    kicker6820 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it is in the U.S. I just did a little research and my carrier uses CDMA
     
  4. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    There are at least two carriers besides Sprint using the CDMA Hero in the USA, Cellular South, and one in Alaska, which the name escapes me at the moment.

    kicker6820, There are some carrier specific differences, so before anyone jumps in and tries to root or install any ROMS or RUU with the SPRINT instructions, DO YOUR RESEARCH. I don't believe that these will work on your phone.

    EDIT: The Alaska carrier using the HTC CDMA Hero is ACS (Alaska Communication Services)
     
  5. kicker6820

    kicker6820 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks i was mainly just trying to find out b/c i was trying to figure out if i could update my phone version when the 2.1 comes out or not
     
  6. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    You're welcome. It has been posted on this forum that Cellular South will also have the 2.1 available soon. :D So I would say, yes, you should be getting the update also!
     
  7. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Sweet! I can now say I learned something today.
     

Share This Page

Loading...