HTC Hero Radio..Which one? [Help]


Last Updated:

  1. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Hey guys. Just wanted to know more about 3rd party radio updates for the HTC Hero. I am running the latest Stock Hero Rom.

    My Baseband = 63.18.55.06EU_6.35.06.18

    Is there much benefit in updating to modaco's radio?

    If so, is the latest one for my Hero located at the link below and does the phone need to be rooted / have custom firmware to install custom radio?

    Do I just download the one entitled "63.18.55.06EU_6.35.06.18 - download"


    [GSM] 24/11 - Hero ROMs + radios in update.zip format - Android @ MoDaCo

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. FrankTheTank

    FrankTheTank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've gone from EU to IU to JU. Not a huge difference, probably more placebo than anything else. Thought the JU was better but not convinced now. I'm with T-mobile so it's pretty much guaranteed to be poor wherever you are :D I had the H signal the other day, tested it and it give me 150kb/sec - pathetic.

    And yes you would need to root your phone but once you have all you have to do is apply the radio as an update zip folder - piece of cake.

    By the way who is the belter in your avatar pic?!
     
  3. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm mildly baffled by this whole radio thing too, although I've not looked into it much. I've been thinking of updating the phone but am sooo lazy about it that I've not really bothered looking into it much, particularly as the Milestone (aka droid) will be out in the UK in a couple of weeks. The Modaco site doesn't seem to give out much info, wading through forum posts getting conflicting advice doesn't seem worth it for the dubious advances you get from rooting and custom roms, can't see much that would be a significant advantage yet, particularly as HTC *may* be soon to release 2.1 for the Hero. IIRC the Milestone will get 2.1 on the 11th of December.
     
  4. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    I upgraded to the MoDaCo 2.9 ROM and to the latest radio version. I'm not certain if it's the ROM itself or the radio update, but my Wi-Fi connection establishes much faster. I no longer have to go into the settings and force scan a few times for the phone to find my "hidden" Wi-Fi AP.
     
  5. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    See I don't get any of that stuff already, radio reception's fine, better than my N95, wireless connection works fine, phone's not generally slow etc etc, and that's on the standard ROM, well, HTC's latest anyway. The only time it's slow is when I'm messing about with big memory things like podcasting apps and sat nav.
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    There's no such thing; all the radio ROMs are HTC's, and are simply dumped from various ROMs released over the past few months. ;-)

    There's no benefit whatsoever unless you are experiencing problems with mobile network or wi-fi reception, and even then it will depend on your existing ROM and network.
     
  7. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Oh Kool Nice 1 mate. Thanks for your advice.

    Modaco's forum / website is really confusing. Just 100's of posts about different things. No proper sticky's for FAQ / install... like someone said conflicting stuff..

    That's why I ain't installed a custom rom / rooted the phone. Though I have not seen yet the need to do that..my Hero isn't laggy at all.. although apps2sd does sound tempting..I'll pass for now.
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    Are you looking at the HTC Hero - Hero.MoDaCo.com forum?

    At the top of the page under "Important Topics" are several threads marked "Pinned". There's one to do with the MCR releases, another listing the available device and radio ROMs, and another detailing how to flash a custom recovery image onto your handset. That last one is the key to making sense of the others. ;)

    Maybe I should try to put a quick-start guide together, not a tutorial but simply an explanation of what has to be done and where to find the necessary resources? When you've done it once or twice it's easy to forget how confusing it can be.... :eek:
     
  9. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    To be honest the Radio argument is subjective anyway - it's down to the individual user. I am on a G2 with the default T-Mobile radio, just done a speed test and got 597kbps, when FrankTheTank says he can't get more than 150Kbps.

    I would only change it if you are really having trouble with it, otherwise I would say it's simply not worth the hassle
     
  10. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't done any speed tests since I did the radio update. The reception of both Wi-Fi and voice/data seemed unchanged. The only thing that I noticed was the establishment of my Wi-Fi connection was much faster.
     
  11. Arthur Hucksake

    Arthur Hucksake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is it possible that changing the radio could hinder things such as using Three's Planet 3 and other services in the UK?

    The reason I ask is that for downloading Spotify off Planet 3, it says my phone isn't compatiable even though I have it set to "HTC Hero" in the settings as such.

    I'm using a custom rom based on an actual Three rom and everything else on Planet 3 works ok, it recognises the phone and such.

    The only thing that has changed is the radio rom.

    Is "63.18.55.06EU_6.35.06.18" the newest one for the UK seeing as it says "EU" in the title?
     
  12. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    I don't think EU has anything to do with the European Union as they are all GSM radios.
     
  13. fsamoggia

    fsamoggia New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    I have been looking around to find a solution to a call drop problem I am experiencing with my hero. I am on 3 italy, but I have seen that people in the uk are actually having problems with 3 uk too.
    My radio version is the latest from stock 63.18.55.06EU_6.35.06.18 and the firmware is the latest too.
    I did use the same hero in sweden on telia for few months and I never had this issue so it is probably the carrier.
    My questions:
    - does anyone use the hero on 3 and had this issue too?
    - how did you fix it (if you manage to do so...)?
    - does anyone know if there is an update for the radio included in the coming release of 2.1 in march 2010?
    thanks to all
     
  14. Russ.htchero

    Russ.htchero Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Had real Problems in London with 3UK but no problem in the North where I live, I raised the issue with three (I find them really helpful...apart from when I was asking about the ota 2.1 update) but basically diagnosed it myself that the Sim Card was at fault. I was sent a brand new sim card and it works like a dream, no more dropped calls generally better in London no change up north but that was fine anyway. But I am looking to see if a radio will improve further.

    Cheers
     
  15. smakme7757

    smakme7757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have never changed my Radio actually. Seeing as everything works i didn't bother to change it. Is it necessary?
     
  16. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Not really. You might see a minor improvement, but it's not really something to bother with unless things aren't working with your current radio.
     

Share This Page

Loading...