HTC Hero Sim-free


Last Updated:

  1. Martin Dude

    Martin Dude New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, I have been reading about the HTC Hero and I am thinking about getting one. Living in Spain the Hero is only available with Orange, but I want to stay with Movistar, so I am looking at a sim-free Hero.

    I was just wondering about your position about this and if I will be able to update normally etc. Since I have read about provider specific updates and since Movistar normally doesn't provide the Hero I was wondering if this might be a problem.

    Any other pro's and con's for getting a sim-free Hero?

    Thanks in advance!

    Martin
     

    Advertisement
  2. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi

    I bought a sim free Hero a few days ago. It's great. Accepted my existing sim and started working perfectly immediately. I downloaded the updates directly from the HTC web site and everything worked fine.

    You should have no problem as far as I can see. Of course I'm in the UK so I'm not sure about the situation in Spain.
     
  3. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    If anything you will get updates sooner with an unlocked/sim-free hero than you will with a branded one.
     
  4. Martin Dude

    Martin Dude New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thank you both for the information :)
     
  5. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    Is there not still an on-going problem with the Market, protected apps and unlocked devices? Google seems to find it hard to differentiate between a ROOTED handset and a SIM UNLOCKED handset and lot's of people with unlocked (sim free, non network branded) handsets have reported trouble with forward protected apps not showing up on the Market.

    Apologies if I am wrong and this has been fixed, but might be worth looking into.
     
  6. Martin Dude

    Martin Dude New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    45
    Which Apps are supposedly affected? I haven't had any problems and I've downloaded most of the more common ones.
     
  8. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    It's apparently forward protected apps and something to do with ROM signatures or something. Anyway, I have a locked G2 (Hero) and I was not able to find a lot of apps on the market by searching, browsing, direct links or bar codes. Turns out that a new rom image from the T-Mobile web site (even though it had EXACTLY the same build number) sorted it and I can now access these apps.

    The one's I recall not being able to find were Twidroid Pro, Flight Director (full version), Jewellust and Record It. I have them all now.
     
  9. Bhav

    Bhav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a sim free Hero on vodafone uk. There has been a couple of occasions where an app doesn't show up on search, but it's pretty rare...and the app does show up later/the next day. It might just be a cache/refresh issue.

    If you really struggle, you can probably find a lot of the apps online and then just install via HTC Sync
     
  10. Martin Dude

    Martin Dude New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot for all the feedback!
     

Share This Page

Loading...