HTC Hero Virtual Keyboard on MomentSupport


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. dmoseder

    dmoseder Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a link to get the HTC Hero virtual keyboard on the moment. In my opinion its much better than the android 1.5 keyboard.

    ** LINK REMOVED BY MOD**

    Ive been using it for a day now and its been working great.

    MOD EDIT: The HTC Keyboard is property of HTC, installling it on unathorised devices is illegal. Links to the the files are not allowed on this forum
     

    Advertisement
  2. baddubbin

    baddubbin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    awesome, definite improvement over using the handcent keyboard i was using.
     
  3. petrafan007

    petrafan007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    very sweet. NOW...using the same method...is there a way we can get voice-to-text features on the phone? like especially for "where" or "handcent sms". that would be NICE.
     
  4. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    great tip works great. ill be testing which is better, seems more responsive than on my hero but only time will tell. thanks for the post!:D
     
  5. Pertinax

    Pertinax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had the Hero and swapped it for the Moment. I missed the touch keyboard on the Hero. Nice to have it back. Thx!
     
  6. glitch77

    glitch77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edit: got it!
     
  7. baddubbin

    baddubbin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    can someone try using the numeric keypad on the google search widget and tell me if the t9 works there? i swore mine did before, but now t9 doesnt work there or in the market. but it works other places like handcent.
     
  8. danielg

    danielg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    installed.

    coming from the hero, I got used to the on screen keyboard it had.

    This is better than the better keyboard imo.
     
  9. prot0type

    prot0type Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried out betterkeyboard but wasn't impressed, went back to stock a few days later.

    It's been awhile, but what is the difference between the hero's virtual keybaord from the moment's?
     
  10. Weeton

    Weeton Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is awesome. one of the few features i wanted from the hero now on my favorite phone. great find.
     
  11. ddanny82

    ddanny82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    great find! my cousin has the hero and i have to admit i had a lil hero envy when it came to t9 on the virtual keyboard. not anymore!!
     
  12. prot0type

    prot0type Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installed. Now I remember what the Hero's keyboard was like. Will give it a try for a few days, otherwise stock keyboard is fine with me.

    I did notice though when using the physical keyboard, suggestive words now pop up. Probably not needed but nice to have as an extra.
     
  13. chibucks

    chibucks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    48
    great find. i saw this on another forum as well. just installed it and it's pretty nice. the whole warning about keystrokes and passwords was a bit concerning though... thoughts?
     
  14. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    Suggestive words? Like sausage, fish taco and frolic? Now that sounds like a good time!
     
  15. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    I have this turned on with the virtual keyboard (stock) for the Moment, and it works great.

    I went into the Sprint store and played with the Hero virtual keyboard and compared it to the stock Moment virtual keyboard, and can't really tell any advantage. I'm used to the virtual Moment keyboard and it works fine for me now.
     
  16. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Works great on my DroId. :)
     
  17. joshpdavis80

    joshpdavis80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    So far this seems to have fixed my keyboard lag. I had the hero previously and I definitely like its virtual keyboard better. Great find! :D
     
  18. vonfeldt7

    vonfeldt7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    It looks terrible though, doesn't it? I tried it on my Droid, and because of the high-res screen, the keyboard looks pretty bad in portrait. That, and in landscape it doesn't stretch to fit the whole screen.

    On a related note, I have have been using Anysoftkeyboard from the Marketplace, and have been pretty pleased with it.
     
  19. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    13
    I followed the directions, but when I open App Manager, at the top it says

    SD: 0/0 not accessible

    When I press menu, then install, it says not accessible.

    Any ideas?

    Note: I was able to mount my phone and transfer the file to the SD card.
     
  20. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    13
    Weird, it's working now. Closed app manager, reopened and it worked. So nevermind.
     
  21. ShepsCrook

    ShepsCrook Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I go to AppManager and hit "Menu" it just brings up filter and sorting...

    Any ideas?
     
  22. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    I read up some posts ago.... and I have to kinda agree. What's better about the Hero's virtual keyboard over the Moment's?
     
  23. numus

    numus Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hero's actually has a calibration option to adapt the keyboard to how you push the screen in portrait mode (helps a lot).. Also the Hero's keyboard predictive text is much much better then stock android..
     
  24. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    just installed on my moment it works fine however when I go to the calibrate it force closes
     
  25. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    That's odd. It looks great on my Droid in portrait. I don't type in landscape usually, so that doesn't matter to me.

    Not sure why it doesn't look good on yours, it's clear and sharp on mine.

    Also, I have to have compressed qwerty, and only htc and cootech have really good compact qwerty.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...