HTC Incredible 2 Unlocked OS UpdateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. djkidd718

    djkidd718 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an unlocked HTC Droid Incredible 2 running T-Mobile USA with a GSM sim card.

    When I go to Settings>Software Update>Check New it says Network Problem. Can anyone please tell me how to fix this?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    906
    I don't think you will be getting any OTA updates as long as you're on T-mobile. I think the updates come to the phone through Verizon's network, so a network error is all you'd get on any other network. T-mobile doesn't carry the phone, do they? So they wouldn't have updates for the software sent out.
    I would call T-mobile if you want to ask them. Their customer service was always top notch for me.
    You aren't rooted are you? Then you'd be the updater :)
     
  3. valorian

    valorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    498
    Yep, that's the downside of using an unlocked phone. No OTA updates for you. The only way to update your phone is by rooting it.
     
  4. Rangerdavid

    Rangerdavid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2

    how do you update your phone if it's rooted? I didn't think you were supposed to install OTA updates from verizon is you were rooted.
     
  5. valorian

    valorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    498
    You update a rooted phone by installing new or different third party ROMs. Not by an OTA.
     
  6. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    906
    Yeah, but be aware that not not all roms are "global"/gsm capable.
     
  7. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,603
    Likes Received:
    410
    Newt is working on getting GSM working. It's tough.
     
  8. mmmlamas

    mmmlamas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you get data from t mobile on this phone?
     
  9. dv5.x64

    dv5.x64 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd assume data works. I have 2g on iWireless. Finding good roms with gsm is tough.
     

Share This Page

Loading...