HTC keyboard for X10Support


Last Updated:

  1. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    Well I have been struggleing with all the different keyboard options out there. Tried them all (free or trials) none worked as good as this did. I was always missing the "o" key and the dam "." was always being hit for the space bar. Finally I found one that just worked no gimics no hassels and free.
    Now I got the idea from here

    Get a Better Android Keyboard, No Rooting Required

    and the files from here

    new htc ime keyboard for motorola droid | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

    and the only thing i did differently was blue toothed the files over from my Linux box.
    Calibration app is a great addition and It works flawlessly. Instantly doubled my email speed with out all my backspacing to delete all the extra periods!!

    Thought there may be others out there in the same need.
    Hope this helps others.
     

    Advertisement
  2. aodmisery

    aodmisery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    14
    how do i do the keyboard calibration i cant find it in my apps. but i i know its there cause i can find it in the delete apps area.
     
  3. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    If you got to settings
    scroll down to "locale & text"
    Now look for "Touch Input" to see it in your "Select input list" you must select it here. Then click the second "Touch Input"
    next click "Text Input" here you will scroll down and you will see the calibration app.
    Click to run.
     
  4. skimminstones

    skimminstones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    52
    Thanks for this. Just come from the htc hero to the xperia and i much prefer the htc sense keypad, so glad ive got it back now :D
     
  5. ceanth

    ceanth New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I am I am pretty new to android and i have a rooted HTC Hero.

    I have tried to install HTC_IME.apk and i get prompted whether i want to replace the system application. I select ok and then Install but the installer fails giving me a "application not installed".

    How would I go about installing this on my HTC Hero?


    Thanks,

    -C
     
  6. skimminstones

    skimminstones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    52
    This thread is asking how to get the htc sense keypad on the x10. Your hero already has this keypad installed.
     
  7. kamm

    kamm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not only that but you don't need root access to install an additional keyboard app (ie X10 hasn't been rooted yet.)
     
  8. kezm

    kezm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    i thought the x10 had been routed
     

Share This Page

Loading...