HTC Keyboard questionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok, while I -am- enjoying it to a degree, I am getting bloody tired of needing an apostrophe, clicking the "12#" button, and having it put an automatic SPACE as soon as I push it, which requires me to backspace, then add apostrophe, then back out to the letters.

    I'm a gal who can type pretty damn fast, even on a phone, so this is really ticking me off since I'll look up several lines later and see a catastrophe of misplaced spaces in my words before apostrophe. Urgh.

    How do I make it stop this entirely frustrating behavior?
     

    Advertisement
  2. clockwork58

    clockwork58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    While typing, if you press and hold any letter, the secondary character(s) for that button pop up and you can slide your finger over which character you need and then release. you can also throw it into T9 mode to predict text and correct grammer for you.

    Off topic:
    How do u find your Acer Liquid E compared to the X10?
    Been kinda eyeing that new Acer Stream and wonder if Rogers will get it.
     
  3. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry, I'm not talking about letter accents? Talking about apostrophe. Example... this sentence I 'm typing has a space front of the apostrophe in the word "I 'm " and also prior to the final quotation mark. I didn't put that space there... the keyboard did when I press the 12# key.

    The acer liquid e is my husband 's, and so far it is far quicker than my x 10 which makes me jealous :p but it 's also running 2. 1 so I don't. Know if that ' s the difference or not.

    Not sure on battery life comparison because I use mine a lot more hardcore than he does.

    BTW you can see more examples of my spacing issue in the above...
     
  4. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Have a look in the settings, it can be changed.
     
  5. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'll give it another look tomorrow for sure, thought I went through everything,but probably not :)
     
  6. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    In HTC_IME settings (accessed from Text & Loacale) go in to Text Input and uncheck after seperators. I think that works.

    I use the T9 keyboard and for words like I'll, I've,you'll, you've I can't remember if I had to add them to the dictionary or if they were there already but you just type the letters and it will either auto put it in or give it as a choice in the word suggestion. On I'm if you add it to the dictionary and when you type

    You can use your volume rocker to move the cursor back rather than the jab at the screen and hope you end up in the right place to make a correction way of doing it. I thought there was a place that you could change it but I can't see it. This is in User Interface and then Volume Keys is near the bottom and you assign a function to them.
     
    minimulisha and allbutlost like this.
  7. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    You rock, Rose, thanks :) I see how I missed it now too.. there is a "Text Input" option but then there is a SECOND "Text Input" option down below that one under "mod", I must have just gone through the first one and not the second.

    Much appreciated <3
     
  8. minimulisha

    minimulisha New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    :eek::eek::eek:...:D

    THANK YOU!!!!

    This just made my day!

    Thats one thing that always frustrated me...until now!!! thanks again
     
  9. spikeithard

    spikeithard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    ok so I have the htc board. whats the big difference? it looks a bit different...vibrates when typing (i like that) and it has a .com button when using URL space.

    other than that its no better. I still find i miss hit certain letters more then others...mainly the I and O and L buttons for some reason?!

    I thought the letters would be bigger with the HTC? maybe they are a bit and i cant tell?

    curious, what is the little microphone button to the left of space bar? it also shares the settings button too? i press it and it does nothing??? but if i long hold it goes to seetings . thanks
     
  10. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    The microphone allows you to Voice to Text if your phone is preconfigured with it but I don't think the Canadian ones are. I have a chum on another forum from Canada and we went through the whole HTC thing to see if it was the keyboard that 'found' the voice capability or if the phone already had it. Its a bit random in its translation anyway so not a function I use very often unless I want a good laugh. Tried to send a text to hubby saying I was a sad ar*e over something, it translated it as I have a big ar*e which I thought rather rude!

    I prefer the word suggestion and spelling correction capability of it to the stock keyboard. It lets me be much more sloppy in my typing and still gives me the correct word the majority of the time. I like the user dictionary more than the stock too, just find it easier to edit. It wouldn't do for us to all be the same and like the same stuff, variety is what makes the world interesting.
     
  11. spikeithard

    spikeithard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    rose do you find some letters are more tricky than others? especially the ones at the top right?
     
  12. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    I will go and play and come back to you on that!

    Edit... nope, not in qwerty portrait or landscape... just typed lots of words with i,o,p,k,l and they are fine. I also use the number keypad too for one thumb texting. Have you calibrated your keyboard? Its in the HTC settins and then Text Input and scroll to the bottom. It may help.
     
  13. spikeithard

    spikeithard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    wow how are you so smart??? lol.. maybe i have stubby sausage fingers lol no i dont lol

    Im finally getting the hang of this phone.. its getting pretty tricked out! using multicon now too. I LOOVE ANDROID! haha. whoever buys iphone or BB is sooo missing out!

    nah just tried it after calib. seems to be almost worse! i dont know i keep missing some letters....well not missing but putting the letter thats beside the one i want in.

    i type decently fast, but not super fast. i like switching to the landscape version but i dont like that i cant see the screen above where im typing. lol
     
  14. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    Have you thought about Thick Buttons keyboard... perfect for your lil fat sausage fingers!!

    Glad you are getting to grips with it. I love my phone too, there is an ongoing Iphone vs Android battle in our house and we both think we are right! Obviously my husband is wrong tho and my Android is clearly the winner.
     
  15. spikeithard

    spikeithard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    hahaha. the only thing that is still very annoying with the HTC board is the no question mark button?! whats up with that? i have to hold down 'k' until it appears. not a big deal but i miss the ? on the actually keypad
     
  16. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    I think you need to spend a bit more time playing about with it. :p Press the 12# key and you'll see it, or long press the "K" key.
     
  17. spikeithard

    spikeithard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    thought maybe you can adapt the screen so the ? is there beside spacebar or something. guess not
     
  18. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Long press the 12# key and it is beside the spacebar, sort of.
     
  19. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    If you use the old style number keypad on HTC the question mark and exclamation each have their own key as does apostrophe, comma and fullstop but if you are a qwerty boy I think you are stuck with long pressing k.
     
  20. spikeithard

    spikeithard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    what feature do i turn off if i dont want as im done with typing a word out it changes it to something else. like i will type kevin but when i press space it turns into something like circle. lol not even close. is it querty prediction? (uncheck it??) is it word completion? those are the only two i have clicked in settings.

    help. its annoying
     
  21. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    There is a whole sub menu undre Prediction & Dictionary have you got something checked in there? Turn them all off and then back on one at a time to see what they do when you are typing and then you can just fiddle around til you get the setup that you like.
     

Share This Page

Loading...