HTC keyboard with voice to text now available.


Last Updated:

  1. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27

    Advertisement
    i3ubble and bonerp like this.
  2. PJD

    PJD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does this mean you can send text messages via your voice instead of typing?
     
  3. gogol

    gogol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    16
    yes

     
  4. koldtoft

    koldtoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    This works perfectly.... (far better then what I expected)

    The guide on how to install is here.. (You will need to download files and put them on your SD card. Connect your desire with the USB cable to your PC and mount it as a disk drive)

    Do not unpack in the ZIP file, just rename it to HTC_IME_hi_22b2.apk and open it with the Astro file manager.

    http://nimbu.amorvi.com/2010/04/add-full-voice-to-text-to-htc-desire/

    It only works with English (for now at least) but it's really impressive. if you speak slow and clear and with
     
  5. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Sorry, I forgot it needed unpacking.

    It is easier download it to your phone and use Androzip to unpack then install.
     
  6. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
     
    koldtoft likes this.
  7. lookseehear

    lookseehear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine works fine for the search box but the icon isn't present on the keyboard. The app seems to be installed correctly though.

    Any ideas?

    SOLVED

    You actually have to go into the phone settings > language and keyboard to enable it not just the settings from when you're actually using the keyboard. Then the long press in a text field to select input method enabled it.
     
  8. PJD

    PJD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks for the info speech to text.
    Back in the early 80s when phones were fitted in cars around (
     
  9. koldtoft

    koldtoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2

    Mine downloads as a zip. Dont know why, maybe IE8 do not like unknown file extentions and renames it, i dont know.

    I can see in the replys on the page, other people have the same issue. I see the link to the file correct, but it downloads as a zip.
     
  10. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266

    Ahh, wonder if it IE8. It doesnt do that in real browsers like Chrome and Firefox!!!

     
  11. indie13

    indie13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sticky this
     
  12. roy-e69

    roy-e69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it just me or do you have to be connected to the net in some way for the voice to text to work?
     
  13. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yes you need a data connection, I assume it is so the voice library can be constantly improved without the need for repeated updates, this seems to be the policy for most Google software.
     
  14. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    Hahaa this is jamias i'm using it right now i've to write this
    Jamias = genius, but otherwise fantastic!
     
  15. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    lol!
     
  16. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Well I've been using this a few days and it's the mutt's nuts. Once you get used to making a slight pause between each word it's all gravy.
     
  17. koldtoft

    koldtoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wish there was a Danish verison of this app.

    No one undestand why I send all my text messegers in English :(
     
  18. spb37

    spb37 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know does HTC use google servers for voice to text or is it their own system, i.e. could one app be more accurate or less hilarious than the other
     
  19. pil0t

    pil0t Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    as i understand this is only for english spoken messages?
     
  20. Stoo

    Stoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    2
    howdy, just a quick noob question, i followed the instructions and it works perfectly, however wen i downloaded the voice search, i had to do it 3 times until it did work, will it have downloaded these 3 times or will it just have replaced the existing download???? (just dont want it taking up space if it did dwnld 3 times) thanks
     
  21. HYCAET

    HYCAET Guest

    I'm trying to alter the Smiley Hack option on the alternative keyboard, and the instructions say "kill kb to apply changes". How is this done?
     
  22. HYCAET

    HYCAET Guest

    I hate to bump, but this is frustrating me.
     
  23. WozzaX

    WozzaX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    6
    if you don't have a task killer to simply stop HTC _IME then go to setting / application / manage applications / the look for HTC_IME the force stop it.

    try that.
     
  24. HYCAET

    HYCAET Guest

    That's done it. Bless you Sir.
     
  25. martyn

    martyn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm confused sorry. I've downloaded the keyboard file but its a .zip I've even tried to rename to .apk but can't get rid of the zip extension. I've used my PC to rename. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...